Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Angry z170i Pro Gaming overclocking problems

    Since the latest bios update I am no longer able to set any adaptive voltage settings below 1.220v and it will not go higher or lower. Previously I could run my cpu at stock settings on 1.010v, 4.3ghz at 1.135v, 4.4ghz at 1.170v and 4.5ghz at 1.210v (these are max volts, previously wouldn't go higher). I have tried lowering llc but nothings working, lowered adaptive voltage. I have noticed some new settings in bios and tried fidling with those, but I am still unable to set an adaptive voltage below 1.220v I am using cpu-z and hwmonitor to check my vcore.

    Anyone know why the latest bios is forcing me to use 1.220v and above? When previously I could set any voltage i wanted.

    My specs are
    I7 6700K
    z170i pro gaming motherboard
    g.skill ripjaws v 3000mhz ddr4 ram

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    hotel campeche

    Tried using manual voltage. it wont accept the voltage I put in and continues to fluctuate and acts if its in adaptive mode. I think this new bios is broken....

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,344

    Hi Leoshle0

    Are you entering the voltage in the "cpu core voltage override"?

    If you want a lower voltage than 1.22v you'll have to use a negative offset.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Im entering the voltage in the adaptive additional voltage box like i used to. I have also tried manual voltage settings as well as adding negative offset in adaptive mode which neither worked.

    I think my boards faulty, as i tried to rma it for a bluetooth/wifi not working and the pc shop simply repaired it even though it was 2 weeks old. I also get failed bootups with overclocking failed when im not even running any extreme clocks and pass hours of stability tests... too which i enter setup and make no changes, and it boots up fine the second time.
    Last edited by Leoshle0; 11-24-2016 at 08:44 AM.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •