Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy Maximus VIII Hero can't detect GTX 1080

    Hey everyone,

    https://pcpartpicker.com/list/MxkF4C is my build.

    So I am quite new to building Pcs. Order all my components put everything together smoothly(took literally all day) and I reached this problem where it posts, gets to bios and even windows (when i later installed it) but i cannot see my gtx 1080 in my pci 16 slot. I've spent 15 hours or more just looking through many different forum posts going through everything everyone else tried. I am trying to solve it without RMA the motherboard yet. I have two gtx 1080s id like to run in a sli setup but neither card can be detected in the first pci slot.

    Both cards turn on (light up but the fan only spins for like 15 seconds) in the first slot. I am running two separate vga cables to my 850watt PSU.
    In my 2nd pci slot (pci8) both cards can be detected and ran off of but thats obviously not what im trying to do. But Ive downloaded the drivers while in that slot and hoped after updating bios to the most recent and all my drivers id get it to work on my first pci slot. I've flashed back/reset CMOS while gpu was out/rebooted with hdmi running from gpu after flashing and cmos. I've looked at the pins and from what I can tell all my pins on my cpu look fine. The pci slots themselves look great too. I've got the computer running fine off its intel graphics and thats how Ive been able to see bios/windows10/ update everything so easily.

    I'm just lost at what to do. I've already contacted newegg for their RMA process... Any ideas guys?
    I was like a kid on christmas when all this came but now my hearts just broken since I can't get this to work.


    (EDIT) Also noticed it wont find the 2tb HDD either. Just the ssd and the disk drive.
    Last edited by evidentdoom; 11-25-2016 at 02:15 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hiong PC Specs
    hiong PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080
    Sound CardAsus Strix Raid DLX
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex Titanium 1600W
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic T1
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Quintet
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    it does look very much like the cause is the motherboard itself, hence your next step has to be to RMA the motherboard.

  3. #3
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    417

    hi evidentdoom
    Have You tried update the new BIOS or try changing another graphic card for troubleshoot?
    however, you mentioned already RMA process, hope You can get response soon from Newegg

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Remove all your components from the case. Put the motherboard on top of the cardboard box that it came in. Install your CPU, heatsink, one stick of memory and your GPU in the first PCIe x16 slot. Proceed to connect your power cables to the motherboard and CPU. Connect your monitor to your GPU. Push the Start button to power on your system.

    1. Do you get any image on the monitor?

    2. Does your system halt at a specific QCODE?

    3. Look beside the 24 pin power connector. There are 4 QLEDs. Do any of them remain lit?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    8

    I hope you did use the top pcie slot ? I have msi gtx 1080 and hero8 alpha, it was 1701 bios and it worked like charm.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Quote Originally Posted by hiong View Post
    it does look very much like the cause is the motherboard itself, hence your next step has to be to RMA the motherboard.
    I am guessing after everything ive done you're right

    Quote Originally Posted by FuryA@ASUS View Post
    hi evidentdoom
    Have You tried update the new BIOS or try changing another graphic card for troubleshoot?
    however, you mentioned already RMA process, hope You can get response soon from Newegg
    I have updated to new bios, flashed back to stock reset CMOS upgraded to new bios again and nothing. I also have a second gtx 1080 that i have tried to no avail.
    they've already sent me the prepaid shipping label. I just have to send it back in at this point.

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Remove all your components from the case. Put the motherboard on top of the cardboard box that it came in. Install your CPU, heatsink, one stick of memory and your GPU in the first PCIe x16 slot. Proceed to connect your power cables to the motherboard and CPU. Connect your monitor to your GPU. Push the Start button to power on your system.

    1. Do you get any image on the monitor?

    2. Does your system halt at a specific QCODE?

    3. Look beside the 24 pin power connector. There are 4 QLEDs. Do any of them remain lit?
    I am going to try this tomorrow when I get home from work. 6PM EST. I'll report back with what it does.
    If it does by chance show visuals, what does that mean for me putting everything together now?
    as of this current moment, the VGA LED comes on before the "press del for bios" visuals show up(using intel graphics) otherwise the screen never changes using gpu HDMI cable. As of this moment only code i ever get is 40.

    Quote Originally Posted by poisas View Post
    I hope you did use the top pcie slot ? I have msi gtx 1080 and hero8 alpha, it was 1701 bios and it worked like charm.
    Poisas,
    I did use the top PCIE slot (closest to cpu) but never get any visuals then, but the pci 8x slot below that works fine for some reason.

    I am sorry for late reply. I work retail and since this is black friday I've worked a 12 hr shift. tomorrow will be a 10. So after that I'll conduct the test that Chino recommended.
    Last edited by evidentdoom; 11-26-2016 at 12:27 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by evidentdoom View Post
    If it does by chance show visuals, what does that mean for me putting everything together now?
    Then it means you probably didn't install the GPU correctly or something was preventing the GPU from being installed properly into the PCIe slot.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    evidentdoom,
    Welcome to the forums, first thing you should do when asking for help is list all of your components, easy way is to add them to your PC specs or signature so they apear in every post, this makes answering questions or troubleshooting easier.
    1. In your rig builder link you show 2 different sets of system memory, even 2 kits of the exact same memory kits may not play well together, always best to get one kit of the speed and capacity you want.
    2. you have listed 3 different pcie adapter cards, sound, wifi, network adapter, where are you installing all these cards, for testing only use one kit of memory and no other pcie cards, or extra USB devices except keyboard and mouse
    3. As Chino says-test on box outside of case, I have owned several PC Cases that I had difficulty seating the GPU all the way, usually a minor bending of the pcie plate on the end of the GPU or extra force with care fixed the problem

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •