Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Indy PC Specs
    Indy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)HYPER VENGEANCE BLACK DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 GAMING
    MonitorACER PREDATOR XB!
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 850 250
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER 212X
    CaseCOOLERMASTER MASTERCASE PRO 5
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CS650M
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 LUX
    Mouse LOGITECH G402 HYPERION FURY
    Mouse Pad RAZERBLADE CONTROL
    OS WINDOWS 10 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    new build problem

    Hi Everyone, how's everyone doing

    I just finished my build with the following components:
    CPU Intel skylake 1151 pin i5 6600k
    Motherboard = Asus Z170 ROG MAXIMUS VIII RANGER
    SSD Samsung 850 EVO 250G Hard drive Seagate 3.5 Barracuda 1TB
    VGA 8G GTX 1070 Gigabyte G1 Gaming
    Memory 16G Kit (8Gx2) 3000 Corsair Vengeance Black
    Case Coolermaster MasterCase Pro 5
    PSU Corsair Corsair 80+ Gold Semi-Modular CS650M
    Sound Card Creative PCI-E Sound Blaster Audigy Fx
    Case Fan - Corsair 140mm Quite and High Air Flow LED Case Fan White
    CPU Cooler - Coolermaster Universal Hyper-212x

    I hope i've listed all the necessary parts, so I just finished my build and when i start the motherboard it doesn't boot up giving out the error Q-code 99. So i've searched the manual and found out that means "Super IO initialization". I've searched over this problem over the forum and after seeing many suggestions i tried removing all the cards (Graphic, sound, one ram) and tried to boot with just the CPU and the Cooler with just one stick of ram and i get the error d6 which means "no console output devices are found"(although I've connected my display port to the motherboard). Now i tried just the graphic card and see how it goes and it gives out the error b6 which means "Clean-up of NVRAM". I've seen on the internet of people suggesting to do a USB BIOS FLASHBACK and so i downloaded BIOS 1408 renamed it as M3R.ROM and did that now the motherboard says 99(disconnected the VGA). 'BOOT_DEVICE LED' and 'VGA_LED' glow up as yellow and white respectively(although i think VGA glows coz i didn't connect one) but the BOOT_DEVICE just glows up and the boot doesn't start. I did not connect any SSD or HDD although if i do so the error just changes one of the three again (99, b6 or d6) and the BOOT_DEVICE still glows.

    Long message i know but now for the request part. PLEASE OH PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE PLEAAAAZZZZZ help me someone out there please. i've tried everything and now i cant help but consider did i fry my motherboard. Also one last thing i've seen many sites say something about the motherboards beeping if there is a problem but the mastercase just gave me the LEDs but no speaker jumper so i figured that's y i could'nt hear anything so i just want to know does the master give out a speaker jumper, i've searched it thorough and coudl'nt find one.

    And one more thing.... PLEAAAASEEEEEE guys help me **
    Last edited by Indy; 11-25-2016 at 01:28 AM. Reason: Not too confuse my Brothers

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Indy PC Specs
    Indy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)HYPER VENGEANCE BLACK DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 GAMING
    MonitorACER PREDATOR XB!
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 850 250
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER 212X
    CaseCOOLERMASTER MASTERCASE PRO 5
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CS650M
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 LUX
    Mouse LOGITECH G402 HYPERION FURY
    Mouse Pad RAZERBLADE CONTROL
    OS WINDOWS 10 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    New problem

    Hi guys,

    So i tried updating the BIOS using USB Flashback and updated it to 2202 from the Asus tech support.

    Now the motherboard gives out a new error F9 which says "Recovery capsule not found". This does not make any sense although now the BOOT_LED does not glow now and the VGA_LED does not glow as well.

    This is a new error but not a welcome one coz now i don't understand anything.

    Please guys waiting for a reply

  3. #3
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Are you able to get into the BIOS by spamming del or f2 as soon as you apply power? 99 Q code is not a problem. Mine is always on either 99 or 6F. Not everything is the Q code is problematic, more of a status. A bit confusing I know. You may not be seeing the display as its not set up for which default display you want to be primary in the BIOS. You can try using one of the display ports on the motherboard or try a different port on your graphics card. I know on my initial power up of my M8E it took a bit of flashing lights and initialization with the BIOS detecting hardware. Id say a good 3-4 minutes. After that all was golden.

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array Indy PC Specs
    Indy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)HYPER VENGEANCE BLACK DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 GAMING
    MonitorACER PREDATOR XB!
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 850 250
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER 212X
    CaseCOOLERMASTER MASTERCASE PRO 5
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CS650M
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 LUX
    Mouse LOGITECH G402 HYPERION FURY
    Mouse Pad RAZERBLADE CONTROL
    OS WINDOWS 10 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Installed BIOS 2201, 2001 and now 1902

    I've installed three BIOS 2201, 2001 and 1902 using USB flashback and since then the motherboard just says 00 meaning not in use, no more F9, 99 or d6 or b6. I'm justing booting it with the CPU and its cooler a ram stick that's it.

    I got an issue with the USB flashback when i put in the pendrive and press the button the blue button starts blinking and just keeps on blinking till a minute getting faster and faster and then stops suddenly. Is this saying that the BIOS has been updated or it hasn't.

    I had various errors before i started updating the BIOS now after this process all i get is 00, so is it that the BIOS has not been updated properly ? Am i doing something wrong with the Flashback method?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array Indy PC Specs
    Indy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)HYPER VENGEANCE BLACK DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 GAMING
    MonitorACER PREDATOR XB!
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 850 250
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER 212X
    CaseCOOLERMASTER MASTERCASE PRO 5
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CS650M
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 LUX
    Mouse LOGITECH G402 HYPERION FURY
    Mouse Pad RAZERBLADE CONTROL
    OS WINDOWS 10 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Nothing at all I'm thinking i messed up with the USB flashback coz the motherboard just says 00 not in use after i tried to install the BIOS. PLease help

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Indy PC Specs
    Indy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)HYPER VENGEANCE BLACK DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 GAMING
    MonitorACER PREDATOR XB!
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 850 250
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER 212X
    CaseCOOLERMASTER MASTERCASE PRO 5
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CS650M
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 LUX
    Mouse LOGITECH G402 HYPERION FURY
    Mouse Pad RAZERBLADE CONTROL
    OS WINDOWS 10 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    "00" a nightmare

    Only the 00 code no more other codes. Does this mean the motherboard got fried ? I've seen many people having this problem on the forum ended up replacing the Mobo, so does this mean I need to start saving money again 😞😭🤒.

    *I'm still thinking it might be Coz if the USB flashback process. Kindly someone reply please

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Detleg PC Specs
    Detleg PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750JM, ROG GL 702VMk
    MotherboardRIVE / M8E, EVGA x299 Dark, Maximus XI E
    Processori7-4930k , i7-6700k, i9-7900x, i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR, CMD6GX3M4A2400C9 / F3-17000CL11Q / F3-12800CL7T-6GBPI / PV432G300C6QKPE000378
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX / EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper, EVGA GTX 1080ti, EVGA RTX 2080 TI XC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX / EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper/ EVGA GTX 1080ti
    Graphics Card #3EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper
    Graphics Card #4EVGA GTX Titan Hydrocopper
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming
    Monitor3x Samsung syncmaster S24B150, LG4k
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO Series - 256GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #21x 500gb Samsung SSD 850 EVO,1x 256gb Samsung 840 Pro, 1x WD 10k mech
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU-380I , 2x custom water cooled loop EKWB, TT D5
    CasePhobya WaCoolT Test Bench, TT Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2, 80+ GOLD 1300W, ROG THOR 1200 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse M705
    Headset Logitech G930,
    Mouse Pad EVGA PWNAGE
    Headset/Speakers Audio Engine S8 / D1
    OS Win10x64, Win 8.1, Win 7 Ulti x64
    Network RouterUbee
    Accessory #1 2x 360 big ass radiators push/pull corsair fans
    Accessory #2 OC Panel II
    Accessory #3 A couple of great Noctua pwm fans
    Detleg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    668

    It's not fried, also check your manual for all the codes

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Indy PC Specs
    Indy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)HYPER VENGEANCE BLACK DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 GAMING
    MonitorACER PREDATOR XB!
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 850 250
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER 212X
    CaseCOOLERMASTER MASTERCASE PRO 5
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CS650M
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 LUX
    Mouse LOGITECH G402 HYPERION FURY
    Mouse Pad RAZERBLADE CONTROL
    OS WINDOWS 10 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Hoping it's alright. Also am I doing the USB flashback right does it take that much time like 2 minutes ? I thought it should take like 3 to 4 short blinks and then a solid blue but mine just goes on blinking and then stops after 2 to 3 minutes. Is this the right thing ?*

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array Indy PC Specs
    Indy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)HYPER VENGEANCE BLACK DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 GAMING
    MonitorACER PREDATOR XB!
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 850 250
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER 212X
    CaseCOOLERMASTER MASTERCASE PRO 5
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CS650M
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 LUX
    Mouse LOGITECH G402 HYPERION FURY
    Mouse Pad RAZERBLADE CONTROL
    OS WINDOWS 10 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    I think I'm doing it right I've seen some videos and read some messages on the forum so I think I'm doing the USB flashback right. I just can't help but think that maybe I've fried the motherboard now coz it says 00.

    *Also do i need to remove the CPU, cooler and ram before I do it coz I thought it doesn't matter if they're in.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array Indy PC Specs
    Indy PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII HERO
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600k
    Memory (part number)HYPER VENGEANCE BLACK DDR4 3000
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 GAMING
    MonitorACER PREDATOR XB!
    Storage #1SAMSUNG EVO 850 250
    CPU CoolerCOOLERMASTER 212X
    CaseCOOLERMASTER MASTERCASE PRO 5
    Power SupplyCORSAIR CS650M
    Keyboard CORSAIR K70 LUX
    Mouse LOGITECH G402 HYPERION FURY
    Mouse Pad RAZERBLADE CONTROL
    OS WINDOWS 10 64 BIT

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Ok so i've done the USB flashback without the RAM, CPU and just the motherboard and the USB stick and still the motherboard says 00.

    Is it safe to say that I've fried the motherboard now?

    The motherboard didnt start up when i had just the EATX PWR plug inserted.. and then i inserted the CPU and the EATX12V and then it started up with 00. The motherboard isn't turning on with just the 24pin so there should be a problem right ?

    The motherboard just stays at 00 and the power button isn't working to turn it off too it just stays on with 00. what do you guys think ? is it a goner ?

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •