cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

documentation on Asus ROG GL502VS Website Driver Update Frequency Policy?

danrdz1977
Level 7
I am totally new to OEM Gpus and to Asus ROG laptops. I have the basic GL502VS.

what is the standard practice including delay for ASus to update Nvidia drivers?

As I can see, the latest in the Asus Support website is almost four months old. this seems a bit too late only because Nvidia has been kind of paranoic in how they update drivers to fit specific games.

is there a written policy or anyone can venture a "historical" average for how frequent Asus ROG updates drivers?

I am on the verge of deciding whether to keep this laptop or return it; battery life is laughable (Yet I am new to serios gaming latops), so if on top I cannot get latest drivers....
7 REPLIES 7

Praz
Level 13
Hello

I'm not sure why you would not download the video drivers directly from the source regardless of the brand of laptop owned.

Praz wrote:
Hello

I'm not sure why you would not download the video drivers directly from the source regardless of the brand of laptop owned.

thanks. well I wished I could but GeForce Software says "up to date" and if I try to force it, and directly install the latest driver from Nvidia, it says "suitable GPU not detected" (paraphrasing).

if I donwload the Nvidia self-detect Java add-on says something like "you have an OEM specific GPU, go to your Manuf for divers"

am I to understand and that most people in these forums get drivers from Nvidia directly?

JustinThyme
Level 13
First create a restore point.
Then download DDU HERE
Then from the Nvidia site enter your hardware specs. AKA GTX 1070 if that it what you have and enter the OS and it will give you the list to download from. Skip the latest 375.95, its buggy. 375.70 seems to be working.