Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array prostheticAIM PC Specs
    prostheticAIM PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7 6900K
    Memory (part number)CMU64GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 8G
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 8G
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG27AQ
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCI-Express 400GB SSD
    CaseCorsair Vengence C70
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000W
    Keyboard Razor Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razor Mamba Chroma
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Drobo 5N 5 x 4TB Red

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Angry My two Asus GTX 1080's wont run in SLI

    I have purchased 2 Asus ROG Strix 1080's from Scorptec and I believe one of them is faulty as I cannot run them in SLI I have tried everything under the sun each card works individually in each slot but as soon as i enable SLI black screen then system crashes and reboots.

    Things I Have Tried
    - Different Motherboard and CPU
    - New and old graphics drivers and motherboard bios
    - Different power supply
    - fresh OS
    - Underclocking
    - Different SLI bridges

    Same result everytime, im at my wits end as i just spent $2400 and it doesnt work, I bought 1 Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080 8G then a month later was going to buy another but they dont stock it anymore, did some research and i can run 2 different editions in SLI as long as same family and will just run at lower clock so I had to buy the Advanced one Asus ROG Strix GTX 1080 A8G.

    *Help me please my profile has my current build.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    If your system is running OK no-sli with both cards installed they should work in sli and we can help get you there, you will have one caveat, with your Intel 750 drive installed your video cards will run at PCIE 3.0X16 and X8, both will not run at X16, first what slats are your GPU's and Intel 750 installed

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture sli.JPG 
Views:	2 
Size:	188.4 KB 
ID:	60671

    Video cards in pcieX16 slots 1 and 3, Intel 750, slot #4
    Both video cards must be showing if you can select sli so I assume both cards are working but to test 1 card at a time connect monitor to top card, disable second card using pcie lane switches at top right of motherboard, run some 3D tests, either benchmarks or games, then move monitor cable to second card and disable top card using pcie lane switches and test the second card, make sure computer is turned off when disabling/enabling pcie lane switches
    If both video cards function as intended enable both cards, install sli bridge, need HB bridge for sli on Pascal
    enable sli and wait, it may take several minutes of the screen flashing on and off, a courser may appear but eventually screen will come on normal and sli will function, I was benching 4 Pascal cards and I gave up myself, then I went outside and smoked a cigarette and came back inside to see my desktop, i don't suggest smoking a cigarette, just walk away for a couple minutes

    Please let us know how you are getting along

  3. #3

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array prostheticAIM PC Specs
    prostheticAIM PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage V Edition 10
    ProcessorIntel i7 6900K
    Memory (part number)CMU64GX4M4C3200C16
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 8G
    Graphics Card #2ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 8G
    MonitorASUS ROG SWIFT PG27AQ
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCI-Express 400GB SSD
    CaseCorsair Vengence C70
    Power SupplyCorsair 1000W
    Keyboard Razor Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razor Mamba Chroma
    OS Windows 10 Home
    Accessory #1 Drobo 5N 5 x 4TB Red

    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Some more info

    Hey Menthol,

    I hope I am able to get this working I have spent many weeks trying everything I can find on the net.

    Both GPU's work fine individually, when enabling SLI the I get the GPU Processing symbol flickers black then a low-resolution cursor flickers black again then after 1-minute system reboots.

    So I Have a 40 lane CPU I should be able to run both GPU's at 16X and the SSD at 8X = 40 lanes that are also what the Rampage board sets automatically
    (Slot numbers referringFl to your diagram)
    PCI Slot 1 - ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 8G
    PCI Slot 4 - ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 A8G
    PCI Slot 3 - 750 SSD
    ASUS ROG HB SLI Bridge

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0924.jpg 
Views:	4 
Size:	30.0 KB 
ID:	61359

    I will do some more benches on the cards individually and post in an hour

    ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 A8G and ASUS ROG Strix GTX 1080 8G
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1080A8G-10808G.JPG 
Views:	1 
Size:	160.8 KB 
ID:	61360


    https://youtu.be/nO2QGhekRdw
    Last edited by prostheticAIM; 12-29-2016 at 06:01 AM.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Heini PC Specs
    Heini PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus SABERTOOTH Z170 MARK 1
    Processori7-6700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL TridentZ (2 x 16GB) F4-3000C14D
    Graphics Card #1Evga 2080Ti XC Ultra
    Sound CardAsus Essence STX II
    MonitorASUS MG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCooler Master HAF XB EVO
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA G3 1000W
    Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 (Brown Cherry MX)
    Mouse Secret (Ducky)
    Headset Sennheiser HD 580
    Mouse Pad EVGA TORQ
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS Win10 Pro 64
    Heini's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    50
    Posts
    600

    Have you test and confirmed the "ASUS ROG HB SLI Bridge" is good?

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    That may be a HB bridge at the time but not the latest HB bridge for Pascal, in the nvidia control panel is there a warning that the bridge is not compatible (I think the yellow !)?
    When you click to enable sli your screen should flicker, go black for just long enough for you to think it won't work then the screen should come back without rebooting and show sli enabled in the nvidia control panel, I will take some screenshots tomorrow and post here, I don't have 2 of the same model 1080's, I have several TXP's that I need to remove water blocks and put the factory heatsink back on before I can put them on my RV-E10

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •