Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Odysseus* PC Specs
    Odysseus* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VL
    MotherboardASUSTek
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700HQ Skylake
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4-2132
    Graphics Card #1GTX 965M
    Sound CardLogitech Z5500 THX 5.1
    Storage #1SSD 960EVO 1 TB system drive
    Storage #2SSC 860Pro 1TB edit drive
    Headset Sennheiser HD6, 150ohm 8-30,000hz
    OS Win10 Home 1607, 64bit w/ Internet funciton removed
    Odysseus*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Those who run 64GB RAM on the G752VL

    Maxing out the RAM in my G752VL to 64GB. It's a primary editing rig. Before dropping the $$ and making a costly error, is there anyone out there who has the same model laptop that installed 64GB or RAM with zero issues? If so,


    what brand and specs on the RAM aside from DDR4 2133? EEC/NON EEC, Buffered/Unbuffered voltage, ect...



    Thank you kindly. Saw a previous post on this issue but it was moved or deleted.

    Odysseus
    ASUS G752VL -- i7 6700HQ -- GTX 965M -- 64GB DDR4 -- Windows 10 64 bit -- Editing Platform

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Dont have it on a VL but have 64GB on a VY.

    Runs this like a charm. Alternately if you already have 2 16 gig sticks and dont want to take the machine apart you can add either the Hynix thats in it or the Samsung thats an exact match, same components, different market.

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820232162

    Bottom line, restrictions in the build wont let it past 2400Mhz. Already tried.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array Odysseus* PC Specs
    Odysseus* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VL
    MotherboardASUSTek
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700HQ Skylake
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4-2132
    Graphics Card #1GTX 965M
    Sound CardLogitech Z5500 THX 5.1
    Storage #1SSD 960EVO 1 TB system drive
    Storage #2SSC 860Pro 1TB edit drive
    Headset Sennheiser HD6, 150ohm 8-30,000hz
    OS Win10 Home 1607, 64bit w/ Internet funciton removed
    Odysseus*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    New on the forum but spent most of the last 24 hours reading, specifically, your posts on a multitude of potentially complicated issues. Clearly, you are quite knowledgeable. More importantly, you are a exemplary written communicator. Hard to come by. Appreciate.

    I do indeed plan to go full “Gas Monkey” and replace the existing RAM (12GB) with two of the four 16GB sticks. To be clear, are you recommending the RAM in the link that you sent in your reply? If so, then thank you kindly for your time. I look forward learning from your posts.

    Are the two 512GB Samsung 960 pro's your running in a RAID 0 configuration your boot drive???

    Thanks,

    Odysseus

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array FonzieBulldog PC Specs
    FonzieBulldog PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Homebuilt and named The Bulldog
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero VIII
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K 4.6 Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X
    Graphics Card #2Sometimes a Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Graphics Card #3Sometimes a Nvidia GeForce GTX 980
    MonitorAsus 3D
    Storage #1M2 SSD 512GB
    Storage #2SSD 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard Razer
    Mouse Razer
    Headset Razer
    Mouse Pad Razer
    Headset/Speakers Razer
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Updated Asus G20CB (The Midget)
    Accessory #2 GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Accessory #3 Intel i7-6700K
    FonzieBulldog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    183

    64GB ram on my earlier G752VS and it worked as it should.

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Quote Originally Posted by Odysseus* View Post
    New on the forum but spent most of the last 24 hours reading, specifically, your posts on a multitude of potentially complicated issues. Clearly, you are quite knowledgeable. More importantly, you are a exemplary written communicator. Hard to come by. Appreciate.

    I do indeed plan to go full “Gas Monkey” and replace the existing RAM (12GB) with two of the four 16GB sticks. To be clear, are you recommending the RAM in the link that you sent in your reply? If so, then thank you kindly for your time. I look forward learning from your posts.

    Are the two 512GB Samsung 960 pro's your running in a RAID 0 configuration your boot drive???

    Thanks,

    Odysseus

    Thats what I have in my G752VY and it works perfectly. If you look at any asus product the single biggest approved vendor is Gskill.

    The 960s pros in my sig are still not here! Waiting patiently. Those are going in my desktop.
    I do however have two 512GB 950 pros in raid 0 as my boot drive in my G752VY and intend on doing the same with the 960s when they get here in my dekstop.

    The read gain wasnt all the much going from single drive to raid 0, went form 2500MB/s to 2900MB/s but the write speeds went from 1200MB/s to 2400MB/s. Im thinking Ive maxed on the bandwidth on the alloted PCIe lanes for the M2 slots.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Odysseus* PC Specs
    Odysseus* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VL
    MotherboardASUSTek
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700HQ Skylake
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4-2132
    Graphics Card #1GTX 965M
    Sound CardLogitech Z5500 THX 5.1
    Storage #1SSD 960EVO 1 TB system drive
    Storage #2SSC 860Pro 1TB edit drive
    Headset Sennheiser HD6, 150ohm 8-30,000hz
    OS Win10 Home 1607, 64bit w/ Internet funciton removed
    Odysseus*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Yea, that RAID 0 config with the NVMe's must be a screamer. Since the speed/performance boost is not that significant (if I read you correctly), I am likely to just fill them both using one for the OS and various related file matters and the other for a media storage drive. Looking forward to that day as I continue to build this rig.

    On another matter, I recieved my 64GB of RAM today, printed a copy of the step by step "RAM Under Keyboard Replacement" guide and dove in deep. Ran into ZERO mechanical problems on the tear down and install and got all four sticks installed. However, the system only shows 32GB of RAM installed. Imagined that i might get somthing silly like that after the build so I was deliberately careful in setting the under-keyboard RAM. Going to reseat everything one more time just for ucks and giggles. Any thoughts: BIOS settings maybe???

    Thanks guys.

    Odysseus

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array Odysseus* PC Specs
    Odysseus* PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VL
    MotherboardASUSTek
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700HQ Skylake
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4-2132
    Graphics Card #1GTX 965M
    Sound CardLogitech Z5500 THX 5.1
    Storage #1SSD 960EVO 1 TB system drive
    Storage #2SSC 860Pro 1TB edit drive
    Headset Sennheiser HD6, 150ohm 8-30,000hz
    OS Win10 Home 1607, 64bit w/ Internet funciton removed
    Odysseus*'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Greetings.

    Seems I jumped the gun on my last post. All is well and the four sticks registered correctly after I reset all of them. It only took 10 minutes flat to disassemble, install and reassemble everything the second time around. Thanks again. The build continues...


    Odysseus

  8. #8
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Good luck! Funny how easy it gets to pop the top off once you get a little practice at it.
    You do get double the speed on the writes with the NVMe in Raid 0 and 400MB/s gain on the read isnt nil but not what I was expecting, doubled the write speed though. Nothing that says you cant partition the raid 0 array and set aside room for storage. Time I got mine filled up with apps and the 10% left unpartioned for overprovisiong I have it half full and a 1TB 850 EVO where the 7200 RPM NGST was.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •