Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    playing almost any game is unbareable. please read...

    okay so, first let me post my rig info
    Asus ROGL752VW
    16 gigs of ram
    intel i7 processor with intel graphics card
    Nvidia geforce gtx 960M 4gb vram
    windows 10 home

    Playing any game is basically impossible because i play old games like counter strike 1.6, call of duty, day of defeat, and even some new games. The main problem games are oblivion, counter strike 1.6 , condition zero, and source. (global offensive works fine) So whenever i start a game, i make sure vsync is on, then after about 30 seconds, i get a diagonal line going through the screen from the top left corner to the top right corner. It goes away when i turn vsync off though in game, however i get a one second freeze while an enemy appears or is doing something. its hard to explain, its like game hiccups, or stuttering, or even frame skipping. To put it in easier words, when patrolling a map, i walk, stop and freeze for one second, then keep going. it happens non stop all game making it unbearable to play, it happens in oblivion every single time an enemy shows up. I've sent this laptop in 3 times now, the next time i send one in they will maybe replace it. I just want there to be a fix for this, because if not then my warranty will replace me for another one. I've tried reformatting, updating all graphics cards drivers, and installing all updates, however nothing works. If there anyone that can help me with this, please let me know. Thank you.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    94

    Try this. First, set your power plan to "high performance".
    http://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/2...dows-10-a.html

    Next, make sure the game is using the GPU rather than the integrated graphics card.
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...nfraWorks.html

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    150

    This is a common problem for all rog laptops. Some games it runs fine, but most others it stutters like mad. Try uninstalling/disabling rog game first, this has helped some people.

    Edit - You can try this as well
    http://windowsreport.com/stutter-gam...olicy-service/
    Last edited by Armesis; 12-06-2016 at 04:28 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    Quote Originally Posted by Armesis View Post
    This is a common problem for all rog laptops. Some games it runs fine, but most others it stutters like mad. Try uninstalling/disabling rog game first, this has helped some people.

    Edit - You can try this as well
    http://windowsreport.com/stutter-gam...olicy-service/
    i have disabled that, i only have rog gaming key, but i believe that is also disabled. I just tried the link you gave me, but no luck. every time an enemy or ally, objective is complete, or an event happens in the game, it starts skipping and everything freezes for 1 second, then loads. It does this when ever anything appears in the game.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Have you tried running on "compatibility mode"? I know with much older games I sometimes would have to because of older directx, ect, but not so far on this ROG. There's my novice 2 cents, not sure if your issue is something else all together but I hope you can work it out.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    150

    Quote Originally Posted by MaxG73jh View Post
    Have you tried running on "compatibility mode"? I know with much older games I sometimes would have to because of older directx, ect, but not so far on this ROG. There's my novice 2 cents, not sure if your issue is something else all together but I hope you can work it out.
    Tried that, under different OS settings. All of it causes it to crash on start. My long quest for an solution continues....

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    150

    Quote Originally Posted by whatcorey View Post
    i have disabled that, i only have rog gaming key, but i believe that is also disabled. I just tried the link you gave me, but no luck. every time an enemy or ally, objective is complete, or an event happens in the game, it starts skipping and everything freezes for 1 second, then loads. It does this when ever anything appears in the game.
    Yeah pretty much the same with my system. Right before the bullet/arrow hits the target it freezes up. recently i tried reinstalling the Realtek drivers as recommended, but still it didnt make any difference. Keep researching the problem outside the ROG forums, if/when we find the solution, we should report back here. All the best lol.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Have you tried changing application specific/3d settings in the nvidia control panel? Windowed mode, change resolutions, try with/without running as admin... if you choose integrated graphics, does anything change? No error messages/warnings ever occur either? I assume you are plugged into power as well, hmm that's bizarre.

    At least worst case scenario you'll get a brand new replacement, they really have no choice if they can't even fix/identify the issue themselves lol. Still let us know what happens.
    Last edited by MaxG73jh; 12-07-2016 at 11:14 AM.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    23
    Posts
    150

    Quote Originally Posted by MaxG73jh View Post
    Have you tried changing application specific/3d settings in the nvidia control panel? Windowed mode, change resolutions, try with/without running as admin... if you choose integrated graphics, does anything change? No error messages/warnings ever occur either? I assume you are plugged into power as well, hmm that's bizarre.

    At least worst case scenario you'll get a brand new replacement, they really have no choice if they can't even fix/identify the issue themselves lol. Still let us know what happens.
    Im running tests now, will let you know, thx.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    51

    I tried compatibility mode, and this happens in signle and multiplayer, also i tried the integrated graphics card set as primary, but the issue was still there. i will try tinkering with the control panel again, but im thinking its my hard drive. like i stated before my computer didnt have this issue when i first bought it. So far, the games it happens in is cs 1.6, cs source, cs condition zero, day of defeat, oblivion, call of duty 1 and 2, and united offensive. No errors pop up, although when i first purchased the laptop my graphics card would crash alot, and after getting it returned to me from Asus, they said they "apparently" checked the graphics card, which i highly doubt they did.

    Here's and example of whats happening in my games. This isnt my video, but its the only video that i found where im having the same issue. Watch the background from 0:06 to 0:12. Thats the issue im having.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XuUY23RiCJM

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •