Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Upgrading G20AJ with GTX 760

    Hi guys,

    I want to upgrade my G20AJ with GTX 760. I have classic 180+230 PSU. I would like to buy GTX 1080, but let's pretend I don't have that much money. Can you recommend anything else? Like 1070, but I need to know specific model, that will go well with cooling and case size.

    I did a little research and I found, that GTX 1070 would need PSU upgrade. Do you have any tips/recommendation?

    Thanks for any help

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array FonzieBulldog PC Specs
    FonzieBulldog PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Homebuilt and named The Bulldog
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero VIII
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K 4.6 Ghz
    Memory (part number)32GB
    Graphics Card #1MSI GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X
    Graphics Card #2Sometimes a Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Graphics Card #3Sometimes a Nvidia GeForce GTX 980
    MonitorAsus 3D
    Storage #1M2 SSD 512GB
    Storage #2SSD 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 850 G2
    Keyboard Razer
    Mouse Razer
    Headset Razer
    Mouse Pad Razer
    Headset/Speakers Razer
    OS Windows 10 X64 Pro
    Accessory #1 Updated Asus G20CB (The Midget)
    Accessory #2 GTX 1080 Founders Edition
    Accessory #3 Intel i7-6700K
    FonzieBulldog's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    179

    Nvidia GeForce GTX 1080, 1070, 1060 Founders Edition will run great in the G20 case.Updated a G20 CB with GTX 1080 Founders Edition and I7-6700K from GTX 980 and i7-6700HQ.

    http://rog.asus.com/forum/showthread...nd-GPU-Updated
    Last edited by FonzieBulldog; 12-06-2016 at 12:34 AM.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    I bought the EVGA GTX 1070 Founders Edition. Installed it and everything worked fine until I tried to start new game, like gta V or titanfall 2. The screen starts to pixelating and after a while game crashed, or both monitors went black and resets to Windows. I tried to pull the card out and plug it in again, but it's still doing it. I tried to reinstall windows, just in case if there are any bad drivers. It didn't help too.

    Do you know what the problem is?
    Last edited by vyba335; 12-08-2016 at 07:55 PM.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Solved

    Solved. There were a problem with different memory types on GPU. I have Micron on it and it seems to be not compatible with drivers and BIOS settings. So most manufacturers released a BIOS update for that. You can find it there https://www.guru3d.com/news-story/ma...ory-issue.html if you have the same problem. Hope I helped you a bit.

    Bye

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Welsh Whoopee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    17
    Posts
    227

    glad you got it sorted, yeah I would always tell people to remove all old drivers when change your graphics card to a new one

    Welsh Gaming
    YOUTUBE CHANNEL @ http://bit.ly/2LNo1dI

    ASUS ROG G20 PLAYLIST @ http://bit.ly/2R9njXC

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •