Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 123
  1. #21
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    One thing to keep in mind with OCing is you are playing the silicon lottery. Watch your heat with HW monitor to see what its doing. If you find you are getting too hot its not always just the Vcore. Some chips will OC very well and others wont go much at all above stock. No rhyme or reason to it. Back in the day certain lots were prized as being excellent overclockers. Now its just the luck of the draw.

  2. #22
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    LOL naaaa you won't go bald.

    The article is more for overclocking the cpu and it doesn't show much for the ram but I do see they are using 32GB of 3200MHz cl14 ram and the cpu system agent voltage is at 1.368v.

    I was telling you to start out low because I didn't want you to overvolt anything and by working up the voltage slowly you'll find just what it needs to be stable.

    Let me see if I can find a guide on how to set up your RAM.

  3. #23
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    All right

    Here is a guide by Chino a member here on the forum it is for the rampage v extreme (X99) and 128GB 2666MHz which you can follow the same for your 64GB 3200MHz kit. You won't have to update the bios.

    Let us know if this helps you.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...page-V-Extreme

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mjohnson24 PC Specs
    mjohnson24 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JL
    MotherboardAsus x99 Deluxe ii
    ProcessorIntel i7 6900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 GAMING iCX, 08G-P4-6686-KR
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 GAMING iCX, 08G-P4-6686-KR
    Sound CardOn Motherboard
    MonitorLG 27"
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro
    Storage #2SanDisk SSD PLUS 2.5" 480GB SATA III
    CPU CoolerEKWB Monoblock
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 AMD Advanced Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200w P2
    Keyboard Razer Zone Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Zone Naga
    Headset Razer Zone Green ones
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs Tactical 3d Wireless
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    All right

    Here is a guide by Chino a member here on the forum it is for the rampage v extreme (X99) and 128GB 2666MHz which you can follow the same for your 64GB 3200MHz kit. You won't have to update the bios.

    Let us know if this helps you.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...page-V-Extreme

    I will definitely try that guide and see. Minus the Rampage Tweak option, which not sure what that does, ill try what he says. I know i did what that guru3d guide said do and got it to 4ghz and ran Aida64 for a few minutes and nothing happened. Computer didnt crash but as soon as i started tweaking the dram it didnt like it for some reason. i tweaked the CPU core voltage only and thats what took it to 4ghz but ram still said 2133.

    I did try that ez tuning wizard and that didnt work either. Still got the overclock failed which is weird. If its suppose to help then it didnt help at all lol.

  5. #25
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Thank you for the update

    The Tweak option at the Top of Dram Timing Control can help with compatibility or overclocking, since we are in a sense overclocking you could try Maximus Tweak Mode 2.

    Maximus Tweak Mode 1 - Helps with compatibility
    Maixmus Tweak Mode 2 - Helps with overclocking

    Were you able to get your ram to 3200MHz?

    I would suggest letting everything at defaults and work with getting the ram stable, once you get the ram stable then overclock your cpu. With the ez tune and presets its hit or miss it's best to overclock your cpu manually, I'll take it you have the 6900k.

    There are some settings for the ram in DiGi+ you can try too:

    Dram current current capability - 130% - 140%
    Dram power phase - Extreme

    I've never gone over 1.30v with the cpu system agent voltage but apparently 1.368v is safe, I've had my HyperX Predator Dram voltage to 1.50v which is safe.

    You could try the Dram voltage at 1.40v - 1.45v then if it still doesn't want to go raise the cpu vccio and cpu system agent voltages, 1.368v is pretty high for the cpu system agent voltage and they're only using 32GB 3200MHz cl 14, I'm pretty sure the cpu system agent voltage only goes to 1.40v and I wouldn't take it there.

    So after seeing your overclocking article you could try the Dram voltage at 1.40v - 1.45v then if needed try the cpu system agent voltage 1.25v - 1.30v - 1.35v - 1.368v. You can fine tune it in .01v increments when you get it to boot.

    How does this work ?

  6. #26
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mjohnson24 PC Specs
    mjohnson24 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JL
    MotherboardAsus x99 Deluxe ii
    ProcessorIntel i7 6900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 GAMING iCX, 08G-P4-6686-KR
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 GAMING iCX, 08G-P4-6686-KR
    Sound CardOn Motherboard
    MonitorLG 27"
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro
    Storage #2SanDisk SSD PLUS 2.5" 480GB SATA III
    CPU CoolerEKWB Monoblock
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 AMD Advanced Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200w P2
    Keyboard Razer Zone Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Zone Naga
    Headset Razer Zone Green ones
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs Tactical 3d Wireless
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Thank you for the update

    The Tweak option at the Top of Dram Timing Control can help with compatibility or overclocking, since we are in a sense overclocking you could try Maximus Tweak Mode 2.

    Maximus Tweak Mode 1 - Helps with compatibility
    Maixmus Tweak Mode 2 - Helps with overclocking

    Were you able to get your ram to 3200MHz?

    I would suggest letting everything at defaults and work with getting the ram stable, once you get the ram stable then overclock your cpu. With the ez tune and presets its hit or miss it's best to overclock your cpu manually, I'll take it you have the 6900k.

    There are some settings for the ram in DiGi+ you can try too:

    Dram current current capability - 130% - 140%
    Dram power phase - Extreme

    I've never gone over 1.30v with the cpu system agent voltage but apparently 1.368v is safe, I've had my HyperX Predator Dram voltage to 1.50v which is safe.

    You could try the Dram voltage at 1.40v - 1.45v then if it still doesn't want to go raise the cpu vccio and cpu system agent voltages, 1.368v is pretty high for the cpu system agent voltage and they're only using 32GB 3200MHz cl 14, I'm pretty sure the cpu system agent voltage only goes to 1.40v and I wouldn't take it there.

    So after seeing your overclocking article you could try the Dram voltage at 1.40v - 1.45v then if needed try the cpu system agent voltage 1.25v - 1.30v - 1.35v - 1.368v. You can fine tune it in .01v increments when you get it to boot.

    How does this work ?
    Ill have to try that way possibly tonight and see what i can find. Is that AI suite program that comes with Asus a good program to use to overclock things instead of going into bios? Ive never really used that program. I see Digi in it but dont know much about it all. I know i do got a friend that may can help me on sunday with it all and show me in person but i may try what u mentioned above tonight if i got time or something.

    But yea i got the 6900k. Was thinking of the 6950 cause my system is geared more towards 3d modeling and animation but wanted it to do gaming some as well but the 6950 just couldnt justify the $600 more price tag for only 4 more cores and just a slight hike in performance compared to my 6900k.

  7. #27
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    I would stand clear of using AI Suite for now there is an issue with AI Suite and the newer nvidia driver library and I'm not sure it's been resolved. I don't use it and do my overclocking manually in the bios. If you're new to the UEFI bios and overclocking I know it can look overwhelming but you can let most settings on auto and just play with the multiplier and the cpu core voltage, but before you overclock your cpu let's see if we can get your ram stable.

    I'm anxious to know if it goes with up to 1.45v on the Dram voltage and up to 1.368v on the cpu system agent voltage, hopefully it won't need that much with the bump in the Dram voltage.

    I'm looking forward to your update.

    The cpu temperature controls how far you can overclock it so the better your cooling the further you can overclock it.

  8. #28
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mjohnson24 PC Specs
    mjohnson24 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JL
    MotherboardAsus x99 Deluxe ii
    ProcessorIntel i7 6900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 GAMING iCX, 08G-P4-6686-KR
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 GAMING iCX, 08G-P4-6686-KR
    Sound CardOn Motherboard
    MonitorLG 27"
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro
    Storage #2SanDisk SSD PLUS 2.5" 480GB SATA III
    CPU CoolerEKWB Monoblock
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 AMD Advanced Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200w P2
    Keyboard Razer Zone Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Zone Naga
    Headset Razer Zone Green ones
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs Tactical 3d Wireless
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    I would stand clear of using AI Suite for now there is an issue with AI Suite and the newer nvidia driver library and I'm not sure it's been resolved. I don't use it and do my overclocking manually in the bios. If you're new to the UEFI bios and overclocking I know it can look overwhelming but you can let most settings on auto and just play with the multiplier and the cpu core voltage, but before you overclock your cpu let's see if we can get your ram stable.

    I'm anxious to know if it goes with up to 1.45v on the Dram voltage and up to 1.368v on the cpu system agent voltage, hopefully it won't need that much with the bump in the Dram voltage.

    I'm looking forward to your update.

    The cpu temperature controls how far you can overclock it so the better your cooling the further you can overclock it.
    Yea im looking forward to it too. Ill definitely keep u posted on it. If i can try tonight ill try it or atleast by sunday. hopefully if my friend comes to help me. But as for cpu cooling i have a Corsair h100i gtx for cooling. At somepoint i may invest in ekwb stuff with a 360rad and the pump/reservoir combo that fits in a 5.25 bay up front instead of a cylinder style reservoir jsut because of my case and the room i dont have much in a HAF 932 advanced AMD edition case. I plan on getting a second evga 1080 ftw gaming acx3.0 card and at that point i may or may not do custom watercooling. Jsut depends on the temp of both cards when gaming.


    Playing WoW my single card gets to around 70-73c so the card below it would be a little hotter possibly but that will be a while.

    But like i said ill keep u posted here for sure on it and let you know what i tweaked and what the settings were and what all of its running at.

    Now these are old as the power supply has been changed to an evga 1200w P2 PSU and cleaned up wiring more but give u an idea. My dad passed away august of last year and this was his case and he loved black/red theme so im workign on making it all black/red.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-11-13 22.22.58.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	168.8 KB 
ID:	60904Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-11-13 22.23.04.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	208.3 KB 
ID:	60905Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-11-13 22.23.11.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	230.2 KB 
ID:	60906Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-11-13 22.23.20.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	155.7 KB 
ID:	60907Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-11-13 22.23.33.jpg 
Views:	0 
Size:	171.4 KB 
ID:	60908Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2016-11-13 22.22.37.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	194.3 KB 
ID:	60909

  9. #29
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,358

    Nice rig , thanks for the pics

    I was also wondering if updating the bios might help with your ram stability, you could try that too.

    Your temps are fine but with two 1080's gpu 1 will run hotter and your psu looks like it could partially starve gpu 2. For your particular case it would probably be good to liquid cool two 1080's and your cpu with....

    Something like this?

    http://koolance.com/rp-1250-reservoir-and-pump

    And then of course EK's top radiator.

    https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-coolstream-xe-360-triple

    It performs just as well as these rads which a 360 rad can cool quad sli, so you should be fine cooling two 1080's and your cpu with one 360 rad.

    Click on the performance chart.

    http://hardwarelabs.com/nemesis/gtx/360gtx/

  10. #30
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array mjohnson24 PC Specs
    mjohnson24 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JL
    MotherboardAsus x99 Deluxe ii
    ProcessorIntel i7 6900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-64GTZ
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 GAMING iCX, 08G-P4-6686-KR
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 FTW2 GAMING iCX, 08G-P4-6686-KR
    Sound CardOn Motherboard
    MonitorLG 27"
    Storage #1Samsung M.2 950 Pro
    Storage #2SanDisk SSD PLUS 2.5" 480GB SATA III
    CPU CoolerEKWB Monoblock
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 AMD Advanced Edition
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200w P2
    Keyboard Razer Zone Blackwidow Ultimate Stealth
    Mouse Razer Zone Naga
    Headset Razer Zone Green ones
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs Tactical 3d Wireless
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    May 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    108

    lanord guinch

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Nice rig !

    I was also wondering if updating the bios might help with your ram stability, you could try that too.

    Your temps are fine but with two 1080's gpu 1 will run hotter and your psu looks like it could partially starve gpu 2. For your particular case it would probably be good to liquid cool two 1080's and your cpu with....

    Something like this?

    http://koolance.com/rp-1250-reservoir-and-pump

    And then of course EK's top radiator.

    https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-coolstream-xe-360-triple

    It performs just as well as these rads which a 360 rad can cool quad sli, so you should be fine cooling two 1080's and your cpu with one 360 rad.

    http://hardwarelabs.com/nemesis/gtx/360gtx/
    Yea i was actually gonna work on getting that exact ek radiator u linked to but the pump reservoir i was looking at was possibly this one. Their 360 xe rad with their 2200rpm fans and the below pump/reservoir and their red coolant pre mixed stuff with 10/13mm soft tubing.

    https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-dbay-d5...etal-incl-pump

    Ill have to look at the one u posted but its a bit more in price though than ek's. I have limited space in the case but a 360 will work on top for sure but wouldnt be able to put any other radiators in the case at all. But yea it should cool two 1080's and my 6900k with no issues and i think ek said the same thing as well. at some point i may work on getting a better case and using this one as my Amd 8 core case that had my dads install on it that my mom and everyone else used. I was looking at the phanteks cases but thats a little while from now as well as the ek watercooling. Ill post the parts i was looking at getting from ek for that upgrade at some point and see what ya think.

    As for bios i actually updated it already to the latest i think either yesterday or earlier in the week cant remember. But its at version 1401. Actually i thin k that was the one i was working with the other day overclocking.

    The PSU in these pics are 850w but i actually replaced it already before the overclocking with a 1200w evga P2 PSU which i think should be plenty of power for all the crap i got in it.

    CPU: Intel i7 6900k (not OC'd)
    RAM: 64gb GSkill TridentZ F4-3200C16Q-64GTZ (4x16gb)
    Motherboard: ASUS X99 Deluxe ii
    Hard Drives: samsung 950 Evo Pro M.2 SSD ( main, Apps ), 480gb SSD ( games ), 1.5 TB WD, 1tb, 2tb
    CPU Cooler: Corsair h100i GTX

Page 3 of 13 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •