Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    G751JY 2TB Seagate HDD causing lagspikes

    Hi there. I have the G751JY with a 512GB SSD and a 2TB Seagate ST2000LM003 HN-M201RAD HDD. Using the HDD disk for example for gaming, is causing frequent lag spikes (1-3 seconds of freezing). I am sure the HDD is the cause as the spikes happens at the same time I see disk usage for the HDD spiking in Task Manager. The computer is fairly new, so old drive failing should not be the problem. I've tried most disk scans and tests, nothing seems to be faulty. I'm not experiencing any spikes when I move the game to the SSD.

    Anyone have any similar experiences to share, or suggestions to what could be the problem or solution?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,121

    Well yes I believe that 2TB drive is a 5400 RPM so it will be slower than your SSD, Since you have a 512 SSD I would just move my games to the SSD and just use the 2 TB Hard drive for Data storage.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Well yes I believe that 2TB drive is a 5400 RPM so it will be slower than your SSD, Since you have a 512 SSD I would just move my games to the SSD and just use the 2 TB Hard drive for Data storage.
    Indeed I was wondering if the speed could be the problem, but why would lower speed make it spike and cause lag, in even really old games that doesn't require much? Usage can be stable at 0-10%, and suddenly spike to 40-100% like once every 20-100 seconds.

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Yes it will, 5400 RPM is like 80MB/s where a SATA SSD is 500MB/s and M2 AHCI can run over 2000MB/s Then take into account that ASUS played a cruel joke. If you have that spinner in the second bay (not the one with the M2) its only SATAII.

    I got so disgusted with spinners The only place Im using them now is in my NAS.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Yes it will, 5400 RPM is like 80MB/s where a SATA SSD is 500MB/s and M2 AHCI can run over 2000MB/s Then take into account that ASUS played a cruel joke. If you have that spinner in the second bay (not the one with the M2) its only SATAII.

    I got so disgusted with spinners The only place Im using them now is in my NAS.
    Interesting! Well I still can't believe 80MB/s isn't enough for old games ;p

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    105
    Posts
    4,121

    Well then look for what ever else is running in the back ground causing the bottle neck?
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Well then look for what ever else is running in the back ground causing the bottle neck?
    Applications running from the same disk? Nothing else...

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Hitchy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    look for and disable superfetch services. Try also to disable your anti virus and test

  9. #9
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    38

    Quote Originally Posted by Hitchy View Post
    look for and disable superfetch services. Try also to disable your anti virus and test
    Thanks for the suggestion, but already tried that.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Hitchy's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    Quote Originally Posted by HoTo View Post
    Thanks for the suggestion, but already tried that.
    You should use HD Tune and watch carefully the benchmark chart for read and write (the free version gives only the read chart I think but thats what we want right?).

    Show us the chart once done.

    A healthy HD should look like this
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	HD Tune healthy HD.JPG 
Views:	10 
Size:	44.5 KB 
ID:	61275

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •