Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 30
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    GPU Tweak won't launch with windows when booting from cold

    I have an issue with ASUS GPU Tweak where it will only launch with windows when the system is restarted. If I boot from cold it will not launch with windows.
    This is completely baffling, does anyone know how to fix this?
    I am running windows 10 pro and v1.3.9.7 of GPU Tweak II
    My GPU Is the ASUS STRIX GTX970

    Full Specs:
    Intel I7 4790k
    ASUS Maximus 7 Hero
    16GB DDR3 RAM
    ASUS STRIX GTX970
    Windows 10 PRO Version 1607 Build 14393.447

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array Tavo_Ventura PC Specs
    Tavo_Ventura PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maimus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600K
    Memory (part number)GSkill Ripjaws V 2X8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 OC
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro
    Power SupplyAntec True Power 750W
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    same issue here, hope can be fixed in a new version.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Detleg PC Specs
    Detleg PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ROG G750JM, ROG GL 702VMk
    MotherboardRIVE / M8E, EVGA x299 Dark, Maximus XI E
    Processori7-4930k , i7-6700k, i9-7900x, i9-9900k
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR, CMD6GX3M4A2400C9 / F3-17000CL11Q / F3-12800CL7T-6GBPI / PV432G300C6QKPE000378
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX / EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper, EVGA GTX 1080ti, EVGA RTX 2080 TI XC
    Graphics Card #2ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB ROG STRIX / EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper/ EVGA GTX 1080ti
    Graphics Card #3EVGA GTX 780 Hydrocopper
    Graphics Card #4EVGA GTX Titan Hydrocopper
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z PCIe 116dB SNR Gaming
    Monitor3x Samsung syncmaster S24B150, LG4k
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO Series - 256GB PCIe NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
    Storage #21x 500gb Samsung SSD 850 EVO,1x 256gb Samsung 840 Pro, 1x WD 10k mech
    CPU CoolerKoolance CPU-380I , 2x custom water cooled loop EKWB, TT D5
    CasePhobya WaCoolT Test Bench, TT Tower 900
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1300 G2, 80+ GOLD 1300W, ROG THOR 1200 Platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse M705
    Headset Logitech G930,
    Mouse Pad EVGA PWNAGE
    Headset/Speakers Audio Engine S8 / D1
    OS Win10x64, Win 8.1, Win 7 Ulti x64
    Network RouterUbee
    Accessory #1 2x 360 big ass radiators push/pull corsair fans
    Accessory #2 OC Panel II
    Accessory #3 A couple of great Noctua pwm fans
    Detleg's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    668


  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Erwin05 PC Specs
    Erwin05 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Strix X570-E Gaming Bios v3604
    ProcessorAMD Ryzen 5 3600 @ 3,6 GHz
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL F4-3200C14D-16GFX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS ROG STRIX-GTX1070-8G-GAMING
    MonitorIiyama ProLite GB2488HSU-B1
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    Power SupplySeasonic PRIME PX-650
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 - v20H2

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    170

    The latest version does not fix this problem.
    The problem is a confliced between gpu tweakII and a other program or the OS.

  5. #5
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    Do you guys have AI Suite 3 or DIP5 installed? It may still be due to the older version having conflict with it, try uninstalling AI Suite 3 or DIP5 and see if it resolves the issue. If you don't have AI Suite 3 or DIP5 installed then I recommend downloading the GPU Tweak remover tool to remove the current version then reinstall again to the latest version (1.4.0.8).

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array Tavo_Ventura PC Specs
    Tavo_Ventura PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maimus VIII Ranger
    ProcessorIntel i5 6600K
    Memory (part number)GSkill Ripjaws V 2X8GB 2400Mhz
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX 1060 OC
    Sound CardCreative Sound Blaster Z
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GT
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro
    Power SupplyAntec True Power 750W
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Detleg View Post
    I am using the latest version and still have this issue
    Last edited by Tavo_Ventura; 12-12-2016 at 07:20 AM.

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I also have this issue.

    Restart = GPU Tweak starts.
    Cold start = I have to manually start GPU Tweak.

    I just did a clean install of Windows 10. No other asus software installed.

    GPU Tweak 2 version: 1.4.0.8
    Last edited by Djrban; 12-16-2016 at 02:12 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array i liek turtals PC Specs
    i liek turtals PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Z170 Pro Gaming
    ProcessorIntel i7 6700K @ 4.5
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 2x8GB 2400Mhz C15
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX 1070 Strix
    MonitorAsus MX299Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 120GB & 500GB
    Storage #2WD 1TB C.Black & 2TB C.Green
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U14S Dual Fans in Push-Pull
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650 Pure
    Power SupplyEVGA 650 Supernova G2
    Keyboard Logitech G510
    Mouse Logitech G602
    Headset Plantronics RIG 500HD
    Mouse Pad Logitech something
    Headset/Speakers Creative Labs something really old
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    18

    I have the same problem. I have a Z170 Pro Gaming mobo and 1070 Strix. I have the latest AI suite and GPU Tweak II running on Win 10 Pro x64. A friend of mine is also using a nearly identical build and he's having the same issue on his setup.

    Since last update, win 10 only lets signed drivers run. This is something Asus need to fix as the change to only accepting signed device drivers was made a year ago and Microsoft only just started enforcing it. Asus needs to release a new version compatible with the latest version of Windows 10 and this problem will go away.

    Similar thing happens with samsung Magician software currently, the drivers aren't signed so win 10 refuses to run them.
    Source

    soo.. fingers crossed.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I think it's problem with UAC. It blocks any program in my autostart folder. I had problem with roccat talk and gpu tweak... so i disabled uac and everything works like a harm.

    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\Curr entVersion\Policies\System

    locate the EnableLUA key and change value from 1 to 0

  10. #10
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I'm pretty sure asus is releasing this without signed drivers, making it impossible to make it autostart normally like any other apps.

    Asus fix it

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •