Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array lmntrix PC Specs
    lmntrix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752VY
    MotherboardG752VY
    Processorintel® core™ i7-6820hk (2.7 ghz)
    Memory (part number)64 GB DDR-4
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia® Geforce® GTX 980m 8GB GDDR-5
    Monitor17.3" UHD - No glare - Led - IPS
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Exclamation G752VY (64GB) - Help needed, ROG GAMING CENTER Overclock 'EXTREME' issues - solved?

    Hi guys, I need your help if possible.

    I bought 2 weeks ago ASUS ROG G752VY:
    - Windows 10 /
    - 17.3" - 3840x2160 pixel - uhd- no glare- led- ips /
    - intel core i7-6820hk /
    - 64GB RAM /
    - nvidia geforce gtx 980m /
    - 1 tb 7200 rpm + 1tb ssd g3x4

    it's a very wonderful Laptop but I've some problem :

    By default, ROG GAMING CENTER sets the Overclock performance on "EXTREME" when it works in AC mode, unfortunately, when I try to play to Final Fantasy XIV, after 10-15 minutes the screen comes completely white with multi-color vertical lines; so, the system freeze and I need to restart the laptop using power button.

    If I change the Overclock from EXTREME to STANDARD All games work fine and this problem seems fixed, consider that i played on EXTREME mode at WOW and nothing happened, only with new games in directX11 this happens.

    Following your experience what can i do to play best without risks? Is this a problem of the Laptop?

    I think that is strange that asus put as standard an EXTREME OVERCLOCK mode if the system doesn't resist.
    Ho can I set the best overclock for this model? someone encountered this problem?

    BIOS already updated to the latest version
    GPU updated to the latest version.

    Thank you for you help.

    Carlo.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    99
    Posts
    2,132

    Welcome to the forums!

    Not sure how much this will help for the G752VY, but think it's worth a try to update the Turbo Gear software for the ROG Gaming Center as in the G752VS thread below.
    The ASUS G752VY download site also posted the new Turbo Gear software under the Win10 'utilities' section.

    If it doesn't help, please let us know to see if others have better ideas. Thanks.

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...Overheat-Issue

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array lmntrix PC Specs
    lmntrix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752VY
    MotherboardG752VY
    Processorintel® core™ i7-6820hk (2.7 ghz)
    Memory (part number)64 GB DDR-4
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia® Geforce® GTX 980m 8GB GDDR-5
    Monitor17.3" UHD - No glare - Led - IPS
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Updated Turbo Gear using ASUS UTILITIES, on official website.

    - Tested with World Of Warcraft : No issues, it works fine in EXTREME configuration.

    (Waiting to test with Final Fantasy XIV : Online [DirectX11])

    Also, I noticed that the air intake on the left generates more air than air intake on the right, is it normal? It depends by position of the GPU? I ask because I cannot open the bottom to check, is better not open that box see image below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1-ROG-G752-gaming-notebook.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	119.5 KB 
ID:	61049

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    56

    Quote Originally Posted by lmntrix View Post
    Updated Turbo Gear using ASUS UTILITIES, on official website.

    - Tested with World Of Warcraft : No issues, it works fine in EXTREME configuration.

    (Waiting to test with Final Fantasy XIV : Online [DirectX11])

    Also, I noticed that the air intake on the left generates more air than air intake on the right, is it normal? It depends by position of the GPU? I ask because I cannot open the bottom to check, is better not open that box see image below.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	1-ROG-G752-gaming-notebook.jpg 
Views:	9 
Size:	119.5 KB 
ID:	61049
    there's two fans as far as I've known with my G752VT, fairly normal for it to do that. You could check what's running just by running ROG Game Center (if you can) and placing your hand over either of the exhaust vents to tell which has more air flowing.

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array lmntrix PC Specs
    lmntrix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752VY
    MotherboardG752VY
    Processorintel® core™ i7-6820hk (2.7 ghz)
    Memory (part number)64 GB DDR-4
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia® Geforce® GTX 980m 8GB GDDR-5
    Monitor17.3" UHD - No glare - Led - IPS
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Digimutant View Post
    there's two fans as far as I've known with my G752VT, fairly normal for it to do that. You could check what's running just by running ROG Game Center (if you can) and placing your hand over either of the exhaust vents to tell which has more air flowing.
    Yes, thank you, checked and in fact with ROG Game Center active I confirm that on the left (seeing monitor) this side has more air flowing, the right side has less air flowing, so, it could be normal, no issues, if I understood correctly.

    Regards.
    Carlo.

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array lmntrix PC Specs
    lmntrix PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS ROG G752VY
    MotherboardG752VY
    Processorintel® core™ i7-6820hk (2.7 ghz)
    Memory (part number)64 GB DDR-4
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia® Geforce® GTX 980m 8GB GDDR-5
    Monitor17.3" UHD - No glare - Led - IPS
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Tested also on Final Fantasy XIV DirectX11.

    Graphic set up : MAXIMUM
    Benchmark : >7000 (extremely High performance supported)
    Resolution : Full HD Fullscreen (1920x1080)
    ROG GAME CENTER SET UP : Extreme.

    Graphic set up : High (Laptop)
    Benchmark : >24000 (extremely High performance supported)
    Resolution : Full HD Fullscreen (1920x1080)
    ROG GAME CENTER SET UP : Extreme.

    I played for more or less 1h and the system didn't crash.
    So, For this time I confirm that Turbo update seems work fine and seems fix the issue.

    I keep you updated for news.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •