Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Boot straight into BIOS in every boot

    Hi,

    I did some small OC to my CPU + XMP profile in my DDR4 modules. System is rock solid and all stress test are ok. But every time I boot the system goes into the BIOS with A9 code, no matter what. I have to manually hit the button Try Again in the MB, so it boots normally.

    I don't see any reason why I should reduce my OC, since the CPU is in a good temperature and all tests are ok.

    Any thoughs?

    MB: Asus Rampage V Edition 10
    BIOS: 1003
    CPU: 6850k
    RAM: G.Skill Trident 3200 CL14 4x8GB=32GB

    Current settings:
    RAM: XMP 3.200MHz CL14
    CPU: BCLOCK100 Multiplier (All Cores) 44 V: 1.38

    Thanks!
    Last edited by Catalonia; 12-13-2016 at 08:39 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    340

    One of my past RVE's*started to do the same (sometimes in the beginning and always*later) and had finally to rma it!!!
    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Catalonia PC Specs
    Catalonia PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V Eddition 10
    Processori7 6850k Broadwell-e @ 4.3GHz
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z DDR4 3200MHz CL14 32GB 4x8GB
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080 Ti OC
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q 165Hz G-Sync IPS
    Storage #1Samsung SM961 M.2 512GB NVME
    Storage #23TB WD RED
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i PRO
    CaseCorsair 780T Black
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Corsair K95 Platinum
    Mouse Logitech G903
    Headset Audio Technica DSR9BT
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800 Polaris RGB
    OS W10
    Network RouterAsus GT-AC5300

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    92

    Quote Originally Posted by vmanuelgm View Post
    One of my past RVE's*started to do the same (sometimes in the beginning and always*later) and had finally to rma it!!!
    This was the most stupid issue I ever had. Turns out I didn't have the UEFI set up to boot from the M.2 NVME drive, so, of course it wouldn't boot.

    I changed it to "Windows Bootloader" and now boots correctly every time. The strange thing is, if it wasn't properly set up before why it always ended up booting when pressing the (try again white button in the MB ?)
    Last edited by Catalonia; 12-13-2016 at 07:57 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    340

    Good news then, if you haven't any boot devices the mobo goes straight to bios,*and now you have pointed to uefi installation, the problem is gone.

    My issue, however, consisted in a behaviour similar to pressing the safe boot button*without doing it, so had to rma*the board.

    Best regards!!!
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 12-14-2016 at 09:18 AM.
    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

  5. #5
    untouched Array Praz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    137
    Posts
    4,037

    Hello

    Good to hear you got this easily sorted. A lot of configuration errors are wrongly blamed on hardware faults which results in needless downtime and RMAs.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array vmanuelgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    48
    Posts
    340

    Being honest, RVE and RV10 have a lot of problems hardware related (usb ports, pciexpress ports, DAC...). Still wondering why the RVE and RV10 don't configure automatically my TitanP as pciex 3.0.

    Even the RV10 manual has inconsistencies such as bios flashing description in regards to blinking leds...
    Last edited by vmanuelgm; 12-15-2016 at 09:40 AM.
    Omega, 10980xe, G.Skill 3600, 2080Ti, SM951 256, 970 PRO, 860 EVO
    Intel 750, WD SN750 Black, 840 Pro, 2xSkyhawk 4TB, 7200.14, 207EBK
    EVGA T2 1600, Silverstone TJ11, Custom LC. @Acer Predator x34

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •