cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Dead G20CB - looking for troubleshooting resources

Optimisto
Level 7
Greetings all. I am new to the ROG group, just now able to post in the forum.

I purchased a G20CB-B21 last week, and promptly killed it. I opened the machine and installed an M.2 SSD. This is not a new task for me, I have performed drive and memory upgrades, laptop repairs and desktop builds continually for the last 15 years.

However, when I put the machine back together, it would not boot. The power LED comes on, the case accent lights come on (all three zones). The CPU and GPU fans are powered, the hard drive and optical drive receive power. However, the machine does not appear to POST. No video signal is detected on either the 1070 or the onboard HDMI. The mouse and keyboard are not receiving power from the USB ports. The same symptoms exist when I put the original drive back in.

I felt that I was being careful in removing that hard drive bracket next to the CPU cooler. I've checked all of the cables, even though I didn't disconnect anything other than the CU fans and the GPU power. I didn't change any jumpers (is there are jumper that disables the onboard HDMI?).

I have tried clearing the residual power. I've even relocated the power supplies to another outlet, just for giggles.

I have opened an case with ASUS, but I am hoping that this group may have some insight in what I should check? Does anyone have a detailed schamitc of the motherboard.

Thank you for reading, and I hope that it's a case of me missing something simple and fixable.
5 REPLIES 5

Optimisto
Level 7
The more I look at it, the more I think that the motherboard has given up the ghost. Without any technical documents, there's not much I can check.

Perhaps ASUS will get back to me with the location of a repair facility. Maybe I can find a motherboard.

Sucks to be me.

cl-Albert
US Customer Loyalty Agent