Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Can I use a 1050 Ti in my G20BM?

    Both the 750ti and 1050ti don't have PCI-E power sockets.

    Can I use the 1050 Ti in my G20BM as my GPU is dying?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Welsh Whoopee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    18
    Posts
    248

    hello, yeah the gtx 1050ti will be o.k to fit as it will pull the power via the PCI-E lane, their is limit the amount of power that can be through the lane, so no graphics card will pull more then that.

    Welsh Gaming
    [B]YOUTUBE CHANNEL @ https://bit.ly/2E1zKTE
    ASUS ROG G20 PLAYLIST @ https://bit.ly/32uD4Py

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    Quote Originally Posted by Welsh Whoopee View Post
    hello, yeah the gtx 1050ti will be o.k to fit as it will pull the power via the PCI-E lane, their is limit the amount of power that can be through the lane, so no graphics card will pull more then that.

    Welsh Gaming
    Does that mean I only need to use one Power brick?

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,856

    Not necessarily, it just means it will pull power through the PCIe. That can work against you. your looking at full load consumption of around 75 watts for that card. If you have a 230W brick you can probably get away with it. You would be pushing the limits with just the CPU and GPU on a 180 watt brick. Keep in mind you should never run any power supply at a contant past 80% of its rated value. So 144 watts is the ceiling for the 180 watt brick and 184 watts for the 230 watt brick. The current will take as much as it can. You cant control current in a DC circuit as current is based off of difference of potential. The only way to change that is to change the volatge. In the end watts are watts. Voltage sags, current goes up, current goes up, heat goes up and the magic smoke gets out.

    Just be sure to carefully calculate your power consumption for everything on the power supply.

    The card doesnt have a power connection on it other than the PCIe so the kit for the second PSU wont do any justice.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I installed a EVGA 1050ti and a SSD on my Asus G20BM (Stystem is not pre-installed with SATA Cable.. Pain in the ass, also needs right angle SATA plug), as the memory on my R9 270 card seems to be faulty and I had to underclock the memory with MSI afterburner to make the system stable.

    I've ran several bench marks and done around 2 hours of actual gaming on it with Battlefront and GTA V, it seems to running fine in my G20BM.

    Before I installed mine, I checked the Power consumption of the 750ti vs the 1050ti, since the 750ti runs fine and sold in other G20s, I assumed the 1050ti would run since it only has a 4-5% more power consumption to the 750ti.

    Installing the SSD was a nightmare without removing the CPU heat sync, I'm ill and wasn't in the mood for taking that off, and if I did I would of installed new Arctic cooling paste on it.. I might have forced the cooler up and over the SSD/DVD tray.. ^^ Which made the side panel really hard to put back on.. :3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •