Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Michael-i7 PC Specs
    Michael-i7 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus z170 Deluxe
    Processor17-6700k 4.7 Ghz 1.385v De-Lid
    Memory (part number)32gb 3333Mhz Dominator Platinum
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 Ftw Hybrid 2139 Mhz
    MonitorAsus mg279q 1440p 144hz
    Storage #1256gb 950 Pro m.2
    Storage #24tb hdd
    CPU Coolerh100i v2
    CaseCarbide 400c
    Power Supplyrm850i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset G430
    OS 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    AC DC Load Line Accident

    Ok so I have the Asus z170 Deluxe motherboard and the i7 6700k. I've been overclocking and stress testing all week. After 6 hours of Aida64 and 2 hours of Realbench and 3 hours of P95 version 26.6 I crashed 70 minutes into p95 version 28.10. At 4.5Ghz and 1.295v with Llc at level 7 so my vcore was 1.296 at idle and would bump to 1.312-1.328 under load. Ouch. So I was toying around in the Cpu power management section I believe and setting all the turbo parameters to max and accidentally set the ac and dc load lines to max which was 62...Mohms. Saved and restarted and it shut off. I hit the power button twice and it for *a split second turned on then turned off immediately. So I unplugged and cleared cmos after I realized oh crap those last two settings should not have been touched. Now my motherboard and cpu run really hot at idle. I have the h100i v2 cooler so I have the link and I use hw monitor. I forget exactly what they're called in hw monitor but in the link there is motherboard temp 1, 2, and 3. Temp 2 like normal idle around 31c. They all used to. Now 1 and 3 idle at 53c and are completely in sync as they go up and down. Also Cpu package temp is 53c at idle where it use to be in the 20's and 30's as well. And pretty much at all times is the exact same temp as mobo temp 1 and 3. And I can verify they were always the same. Now My core 1, 2,3, and 4 temps are idling in the 20's and 30's and under load go to 60's and now 70's. As do the package and mobo 1 and 3. Go that high under load as well. And those three are always the same and always have been but used to idle much lower and under load stayed about 10c under what they do now. And t doesn't matter what I do I can set everything back to default settings these temps are high now all the time and it's scary. It's very disappointing and I feel like I have to buy a *new motherboard now and hope *don't have to buy a new Cpu as well. Can anybody help me wit this?

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,859

    So you are running hot now at stock settings? If this is the case my guess is a new MOBO will be in order and chalk it up to the ah crap factor of messing with one thing too many.
    The chips are really hard to cook. If you do its not going to be a matter of it running hot, its going to be a matter of not running at all. In 30 years at this Ive only cooked one quite some time ago and it was my own stupidity and being in too much of a hurry/distractions. The HSF was just hanging by the clips, they were not locked down. That went quick, like turned it on and a poof of smoke...gone! Chips today are designed to shut down before you can cook them, never say never but I would go as far as to say almost never.

    What is sounds like is the chokes are cooked and you have no current smoothing and regulation now.
    One thing I would try before going off the deep end is to flash back the BIOS with a clean ROM file. BIOS files getting corrupted while not all that common cant be ruled out as it still happens. Just had it happen to me in a different manner on an M8E not long ago. What happened made zero sense but it happened all the same. Wouldnt post period. Flipped the switch to BIOS 2 and BAM! Went back to BIOS one and went right back to wont post even after clearing the CMOS. Set BIOS 2 to default and copied BIOS 2 to BIOS and and they both work now.

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Michael-i7 PC Specs
    Michael-i7 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus z170 Deluxe
    Processor17-6700k 4.7 Ghz 1.385v De-Lid
    Memory (part number)32gb 3333Mhz Dominator Platinum
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 Ftw Hybrid 2139 Mhz
    MonitorAsus mg279q 1440p 144hz
    Storage #1256gb 950 Pro m.2
    Storage #24tb hdd
    CPU Coolerh100i v2
    CaseCarbide 400c
    Power Supplyrm850i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset G430
    OS 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Already got my new motherboard 2 days ago and nothing has changed its a trip all my core temps idle in the low 20's package 50 i was gaming in the 50's now I game in the 60's when under load tho like gaming when my package temp is 64c my core temps are real close like right there with it but at idle they are 30c under package temp i have two mobo temp readings that are the same as package i have searched and seen others with asus boards getting the exact same reading on hw monitor in the exact same places tmpin3 systin and package all around 52c at idle they stay the same no matter what they read they r the same wasnt like this the first 2 months idk new mobo didnt change a thing it might just be a false reading but even then my load temps now are around 10c higher then they were before but I stay under 65c gaming but well im abetween 60-65c gaming which seems fricken high to me but whatever if its the cpu ill find out soon enough because im getting the 7700k soon and keeping my z170 deluxe

    Did bios flashback to 3 different versions on the other board didnt change anything have messed with bios yet on this one

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array Michael-i7 PC Specs
    Michael-i7 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus z170 Deluxe
    Processor17-6700k 4.7 Ghz 1.385v De-Lid
    Memory (part number)32gb 3333Mhz Dominator Platinum
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 Ftw Hybrid 2139 Mhz
    MonitorAsus mg279q 1440p 144hz
    Storage #1256gb 950 Pro m.2
    Storage #24tb hdd
    CPU Coolerh100i v2
    CaseCarbide 400c
    Power Supplyrm850i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset G430
    OS 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Your pc is a beast j.c. dude 5 ghz 6700k thats why im getting the 7700k to get 5ghz i have the mg279q no g sync im taking it back to get the 27 inch dell tn panel g sunc for 559$ i think id rather have gsync on a tn panel than have ips without

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    35
    Posts
    442

    Dumb question: Did you check your H100? Fans spinning, pump running, RPM reported to BIOS? Still in the right mode (PWM vs DC).

    10C higher (only) indicates its running, but maybe not with the same settings as before. There are also various advanced parameters what will have your idle temps high. The BIOS makes no attempt to idle efficiently and for me, tends to run a fair amount warmer than normal idle under windows or linux. So, settings to put VRMs and the like in "performance" and "Extreme" modes will tend to drive more current and heat into the system in the BIOS.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Michael-i7 PC Specs
    Michael-i7 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus z170 Deluxe
    Processor17-6700k 4.7 Ghz 1.385v De-Lid
    Memory (part number)32gb 3333Mhz Dominator Platinum
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 Ftw Hybrid 2139 Mhz
    MonitorAsus mg279q 1440p 144hz
    Storage #1256gb 950 Pro m.2
    Storage #24tb hdd
    CPU Coolerh100i v2
    CaseCarbide 400c
    Power Supplyrm850i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset G430
    OS 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    Yes everything. I really think it's software. For over a month it was fine, all cores idled around 22-25c package 26-30c. Two of my motherboard temps on every piece of monitoring software I've checked, were the same as my package temp. Maybe one degree under. Then suddenly core temps all the same as before but package temp 50-53c idle along with the 2 mobo temps. Rma'd the board, put new one in same thing it's weird i'm gonna do a fresh install and start over just been lazy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •