Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    RVE & M.2 (NVMe) Issues

    Hello,

    I'm having difficulties getting my RVE board and my new M.2 NVMe (SM961) being recognized in PCIe 3.0x4. Currently the drive will only sit in PCIe 3.0x1, which severely limits performance:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	900x900px-LL-c3144194_speeds.jpg 
Views:	7 
Size:	20.9 KB 
ID:	62810

    I've tried changing settings in the BIOS :
    PCIEx8_4 and M.2 Configuration from Auto to M.2
    PCIE Speed to Gen3

    Anyone experience the same issue, or can point me in the right direction?

    Thanks in advance.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0505
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.35V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,195

    List all your hardware. You may have a device dropping the lane allocation.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    List all your hardware. You may have a device dropping the lane allocation.
    Rampage V Extreme (Latest BIOS)
    5960X (OC'd to 4.4)
    Trident Z 32GB
    Asus Strix 980Ti (Installed in Lane 1 - PCIE_X16_1)
    2xSSDs
    1xHDD
    1xDVD
    Last edited by Etzuu; 02-28-2017 at 06:48 PM.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0505
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.35V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,195

    In this thread, ecamilo had the same problem and he fixed it by loading defaults in the bios. Read through this thread:

    *https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...nchmarks/page5

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Hopper64 View Post
    In this thread, ecamilo had the same problem and he fixed it by loading defaults in the bios. Read through this thread:

    *https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...nchmarks/page5
    I've tried all those settings, including loading optimized defaults, NB PCI Controller(s) to Gen 3 (only thing identified is the card in Lane 1), Onboard controllers to M.2. Always the same result, stuck in PCIe 3.0 x1

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Hopper64 PC Specs
    Hopper64 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus R6EE Bios 0505
    Processori9 10900X @ 5.0 1.35V VCore
    Memory (part number)GSkill F4-4000C18Q2-64GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA 2080 Ti Kingpin
    Sound CardCreative SB AE7
    MonitorAsus ROG PG349Q
    Storage #1Intel 905p M.2 360G
    CPU CoolerEKWB Magnitude RGB and Quantum Kinetic D5
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1600i
    Keyboard Asus Strix Flare
    Mouse Asus ROG Gladius II Origin
    OS Windows 10 64
    Hopper64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Reputation
    47
    Posts
    2,195

    Do you have the drive installed in the m.2 slot or in a PCIe adapter in a PCIe slot?

    What are the other SSDs?*

  7. #7

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Thanks for the responses. To answer your questions:

    1.) Installed in the M.2 slot
    2.) 1x250GB Samsung EVO, 1x500GB Samsung EVO
    3.) I have re-seated once -- but I will try again.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Etzuu View Post
    3.) I have re-seated once -- but I will try again.
    While you're at it, please clear the CMOS as well.

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    While you're at it, please clear the CMOS as well.
    Did both, no change.

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •