Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy MY PC Randomly kills all power after BIOS UPDATE

    Between the bios update of 2101 - 3402 (most current one) it causes my Desktop to randomly shutdown as if power is being cut. However, when i roller back to any other BIOS this problem does not occur. It seems that with 2101 bios update they changed something new:

    1. Updated iROG1 firmware to version 0515.
    2. Improve system compatibility.
    3. Support GPI's SMI event.

    These are the changes. I'm not new to Computers however there is always something to learn. Any thoughts or suggestions. I could always roll back to previous bios however i kind of want to keep it updated.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    I have not had this issue myself, 3000 series bios is updated for BW-E processors but works fine with HW-E on my end, search the forums for the other posts and see if someone found a solution

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array RxL-Soul PC Specs
    RxL-Soul PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4 3000MHz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Ti Superclocked+ acx 2.0+
    MonitorAsus PG248Q + Benq GL2460HM
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 850 Evo 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma + Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Chroma
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Control Extended
    Headset/Speakers Razer Leviathan
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by djwillj View Post
    Between the bios update of 2101 - 3402 (most current one) it causes my Desktop to randomly shutdown as if power is being cut. However, when i roller back to any other BIOS this problem does not occur. It seems that with 2101 bios update they changed something new:

    1. Updated iROG1 firmware to version 0515.
    2. Improve system compatibility.
    3. Support GPI's SMI event.

    These are the changes. I'm not new to Computers however there is always something to learn. Any thoughts or suggestions. I could always roll back to previous bios however i kind of want to keep it updated.
    The Fix is that i used was disabling Cpu spread Spectrum i had this problem going from 3009 (having no problems with this bios) to 3202 (having power issues here also) now im using 3301 but i still have cpu spread spectrum disabled just incase

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    Talking What is spread spectrum?

    Quote Originally Posted by RxL-Soul View Post
    The Fix is that i used was disabling Cpu spread Spectrum i had this problem going from 3009 (having no problems with this bios) to 3202 (having power issues here also) now im using 3301 but i still have cpu spread spectrum disabled just incase
    what exactly is this option and what does it do?

  5. #5
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Quote Originally Posted by djwillj View Post
    what exactly is this option and what does it do?
    Spread spectrum does what is say pretty much. It spreads the clock frequency within a given bandwidth. Whats it good for, not a dang thing. The entire preface behind this is to meet US FCC regulations surrounding electromagnetic interference. When the clock is spread the end result is the canceling out of harmonic frequencies and a reduction of EMI as a result. Problem it creates a moving target. If you must use it also minimize the slew rate which is the speed in which the frequency changes and minimizes anything that relies on the clock from continuously chasing the clock but never catching it.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    15

    2101 seems pretty solid for me however try 3501 now as that should be solid and random reboot issue fixed. Let us know! Cheers.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •