Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array ImErick PC Specs
    ImErick PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V extreme x99
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960x 3.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)HyperX Predator 16GB Kit (4x4GB) 3000MHz DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    MonitorLCD 24" VG248QE 166Hz
    Storage #1WD Black 4TB SATA 6 Gb/s, 7200 RPM, 64MB Cache
    Storage #2HyperX Predator 240GB PCIe Gen2 x4 (M.2)
    CPU CoolerHYDRO H110 EXTREME
    CaseCorsair 780T full-tower
    Power SupplyCorsair 860watts Platinum AX860
    Keyboard Corsair k70 red cherry mx
    Mouse M65 PERFORMANCE RGB
    Headset Corsair H1500 GAMING DOLBY 7.1
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Angry Q-CODE 61 in Rampage V extreme (x99)

    Hi all,
    Since february 2016 (almost 1 year ago) I have a currently issue with Asus Mobo Rampage V x99, sometimes the system can not boot and I get the next Q-CODE:
    61, and I saw the user guide manual that I means "NVRAM initialization". Does not matter How many times do you restart it, the system cannt boot, the only way to solve that is press the button CL_CMOS, entry in BIOS menu and restart the system (temporary solution), as we know this is kinda annoying and I tried to solve it.
    My first attempt to solve this issue was updated the BIOS (1902), when I did that, the update ran well and the issue dissapers..or not? well NOT, the issue come back one or two days per month, but in november 2016 the issue was recurrently again, and I tried to solve when I updated the BIOS, but the series 3xxx are crap because now I got random PC resets (oh god why?), so I reading in this forums I tried with 2101 BIOS version and got again 61 Q-CODE, now I change to 0044 BIOS version and I still get 61 Q-CODE.


    Im getting tired of this Asus MoBo expensive crap and Im desesperate to solve this, so Im here asking if anyone have an idea to solve this or if anyone can help me? please.
    PD. You can see my specs in my description

    Thanks and Regards

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array Qwinn PC Specs
    Qwinn PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme - BIOS 3301
    Processor5930K @ 4.4 GHz Adaptive 1.27v / 4.2 Ghz cache Offset +0.27v / Input 1.92v / LLC7
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32gb DDR4-2666Mhz 15-15-15-35-CR2 1.2v at XMP settings
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti OC to 1455Mhz Core 8000Mhz memory at Stock Voltage
    Graphics Card #2Gigabyte Gaming G1 980Ti SLI
    MonitorROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Intel 750 PCIe 1.2TB
    Storage #2Sandisk Ultra II 960GB SSD
    CPU CoolerThermaltake Water 3.0 Ultimate (360" rad AIO)
    CaseThermalTake v71 Full Tower
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNOVA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Saitek Eclipse II
    Mouse Razer A5090 Master of Destiny
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64 bit Build 10586

    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Reputation
    46
    Posts
    670

    Are you sure you're not confusing 61 with b1?

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MeanMachine PC Specs
    MeanMachine PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)I enjoy my wife
    MotherboardCVI HERO + CVII Hero Wifi
    ProcessorRyzen 7 1800X + 2700X
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3000C15 + F4-3200C14D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX980 SC for CVFZ
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX 1080 hybrid
    Graphics Card #3GTX 770 for phys x
    Sound CardMB
    MonitorHP w2408h
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO 500GB M.2
    Storage #2Samsung 840EVO 500GB and 960 M.2 pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H105, H110 and H115i
    CaseCorsair 750D and 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX-1200i and Antec 850 pro platinum
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Razer Mamba
    Headset Corsair Vengeance 2100
    OS W7 Ultimate 64bit and W10 pro 64bit
    Network RouterNetcom Wireless NF18ACV
    MeanMachine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    126
    Posts
    1,675

    Hi ImErick

    There are a few things that can throw up a Qcode 61, that is if it is indeed 61 and not b1.
    First I would check your RAM. Your CPU officially supports DDR4 1333/1600/2133 so 3000MHz is considered an OC and it will depend on the strength of your chips IMC if they will play fair or not. The i7 5960x is an expensive chip so should have good scalability but no guarantee.

    My advice is to first eliminate your RAM from the equation by swapping them out with a different kit that are listed on the MB QVL say at 2133MHz.
    Assuming all DIMMs have been tested using Memtest86, you can try with just 1 DIMM in first slot and try switching them around.
    If you can get to your Bios you could try them at a lower frequency or with different Primary Timings and Voltage. Also your XMP profile may not be recognized.

    Some USB devices can also cause this so try with just mouse and keyboard attached.

    I have also read that the GPU can throw up the Qcode 61 so test the unit in another system or swap it out just in case.

    See how you go and please report back.
    We owe our existence to the scum of the earth, Cyanobacteria

    My System Specs:

    MB:ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero/WiFi GPU:EVGA GTX 1080 sc PSU:Corsair AX-1200i
    CPU:
    AMD R7 2700X Cooler: Corsair Hydro H115i Case: Corsair Carbide 780t

    Memory:G.Skill TridentZ F4-3200C14D-16GTZR SSD:Samsung 500GB 960 EVO M.2



  4. #4
    ROG Member Array ImErick PC Specs
    ImErick PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V extreme x99
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960x 3.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)HyperX Predator 16GB Kit (4x4GB) 3000MHz DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    MonitorLCD 24" VG248QE 166Hz
    Storage #1WD Black 4TB SATA 6 Gb/s, 7200 RPM, 64MB Cache
    Storage #2HyperX Predator 240GB PCIe Gen2 x4 (M.2)
    CPU CoolerHYDRO H110 EXTREME
    CaseCorsair 780T full-tower
    Power SupplyCorsair 860watts Platinum AX860
    Keyboard Corsair k70 red cherry mx
    Mouse M65 PERFORMANCE RGB
    Headset Corsair H1500 GAMING DOLBY 7.1
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I think is 61..

    Quote Originally Posted by Qwinn View Post
    Are you sure you're not confusing 61 with b1?
    Hi all, thanks for responding, I'm waiting until today to replay, because the Q-CODE did not had happen until now
    Hi Qwinn, yes I think is 61

    I'm add a picture to probe it
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_20170105_194128506.jpg 
Views:	2 
Size:	34.0 KB 
ID:	61729

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array ImErick PC Specs
    ImErick PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Rampage V extreme x99
    ProcessorIntel i7 5960x 3.5Ghz
    Memory (part number)HyperX Predator 16GB Kit (4x4GB) 3000MHz DDR4
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix GTX980
    MonitorLCD 24" VG248QE 166Hz
    Storage #1WD Black 4TB SATA 6 Gb/s, 7200 RPM, 64MB Cache
    Storage #2HyperX Predator 240GB PCIe Gen2 x4 (M.2)
    CPU CoolerHYDRO H110 EXTREME
    CaseCorsair 780T full-tower
    Power SupplyCorsair 860watts Platinum AX860
    Keyboard Corsair k70 red cherry mx
    Mouse M65 PERFORMANCE RGB
    Headset Corsair H1500 GAMING DOLBY 7.1
    OS Windows 8.1

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Probably a RAM issue

    Quote Originally Posted by MeanMachine View Post
    Hi ImErick

    There are a few things that can throw up a Qcode 61, that is if it is indeed 61 and not b1.
    First I would check your RAM. Your CPU officially supports DDR4 1333/1600/2133 so 3000MHz is considered an OC and it will depend on the strength of your chips IMC if they will play fair or not. The i7 5960x is an expensive chip so should have good scalability but no guarantee.

    My advice is to first eliminate your RAM from the equation by swapping them out with a different kit that are listed on the MB QVL say at 2133MHz.
    Assuming all DIMMs have been tested using Memtest86, you can try with just 1 DIMM in first slot and try switching them around.
    If you can get to your Bios you could try them at a lower frequency or with different Primary Timings and Voltage. Also your XMP profile may not be recognized.

    Some USB devices can also cause this so try with just mouse and keyboard attached.

    I have also read that the GPU can throw up the Qcode 61 so test the unit in another system or swap it out just in case.

    See how you go and please report back.
    Thanks for your help MeanMachine,
    For your advice, and I'm here to do my report back, actually in the user guide manual, the rampage V x99 support 3000MHZ (like this model.) GSKILL Ripjaws 4 series 16GB (4 x 4GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM 3000MHz (PC4 24000) Desktop Memory (F4-3000C15Q-16GRR), and as you know I have others) or 3300 MHz max, but I'm confuse because I think there is not the problem, in the BIOS menu the memory had by default 2133 MHz BUT When I got the Q-CODE today, I look closely and I notice there is a little LED blinking next to Q-CODE leds and find the DRAM_LED light on, I read about it and probably RAM issue.
    I will do the memtest86 and test with another RAMs coming soon, but ... Why did this happen now and did not when I use my PC at first time? Any idea

    I will keep inform you guys
    Regards

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •