Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 47
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    PG279Q stuck in debug / factory mode

    My PG279Q is stuck in a debug mode of sorts.

    When I press the menu button directly below the joystick I get an output on the top left hand side of the screen giving me some information about the monitor, including die temp and version numbers.
    Whenever the monitor reboots / powers on, it loses any changes I have made and goes back to this default mode.
    When the monitor loses signal, it flashes between different colors instead of going into power saving / standby, this can be changed in the debug menu but just until the monitor is powered off and on.
    HDCP is disabled in this mode.

    Does anyone know how to get my monitor back to "normal" mode?
    I have contacted Asus support and am currently waiting for feedback.
    Last edited by NA1D00; 01-03-2017 at 07:03 PM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z97 Wifi-Pro
    ProcessorI7-4790k
    Memory (part number)32GB G-Skills
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE® GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1Samsumg 951 Pro m.2 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    Power Supply1600W 80 Platinum
    OS Win10

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    219

    You could give this a shot while you are waiting for Asus response... with the monitor off hold the select button toggle down, Then press the power button and turn it on (do it when its already connected to your computer that is turned on). once its on press the menu button and look for a factory menu which should now be showing up in your OSD options. select the factory menu and looks for an option to turn off the extra OSD stuff. DO NOT change any of the settings if you don't clearly understand what they mean. you may mess up the monitor by changing the settings (they can be reversed but just don't mess with it if you don't have to). If you do want to change settings and mess with it take pictures of all the current settings before you make changes so you can go back to original settings if you accidentally mess something up.
    I7-4790k OC 4.9 1.375v
    MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 OC core:2055Mhz Mem:5504Mhz

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you like what I post, hit that Rep button.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If i'm posting here it's only because I'm at work and have nothing better to do other than solve your problems.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Crashcourse316 View Post
    You could give this a shot while you are waiting for Asus response... with the monitor off hold the select button toggle down, Then press the power button and turn it on (do it when its already connected to your computer that is turned on). once its on press the menu button and look for a factory menu which should now be showing up in your OSD options. select the factory menu and looks for an option to turn off the extra OSD stuff. DO NOT change any of the settings if you don't clearly understand what they mean. you may mess up the monitor by changing the settings (they can be reversed but just don't mess with it if you don't have to). If you do want to change settings and mess with it take pictures of all the current settings before you make changes so you can go back to original settings if you accidentally mess something up.
    Thanks for the response and idea.
    There are only 3 very straight forward options in the factory menu.

    Regardless of which I change, those settings are also lost as soon as the monitor is powered off.

    I'm open to any other ideas. There must be some combinations of keys to press to force a reset or get out of factory / debug mode.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z97 Wifi-Pro
    ProcessorI7-4790k
    Memory (part number)32GB G-Skills
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE® GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1Samsumg 951 Pro m.2 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    Power Supply1600W 80 Platinum
    OS Win10

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    219

    Quote Originally Posted by NA1D00 View Post
    Thanks for the response and idea.
    There are only 3 very straight forward options in the factory menu.

    Regardless of which I change, those settings are also lost as soon as the monitor is powered off.

    I'm open to any other ideas. There must be some combinations of keys to press to force a reset or get out of factory / debug mode.
    Ill mess around with mine tonight if i remember. Maybe I'll have better luck
    I7-4790k OC 4.9 1.375v
    MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 OC core:2055Mhz Mem:5504Mhz

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you like what I post, hit that Rep button.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If i'm posting here it's only because I'm at work and have nothing better to do other than solve your problems.

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Crashcourse316 View Post
    Ill mess around with mine tonight if i remember. Maybe I'll have better luck
    Thanks. I appreciate it.

    I have included a picture of the menu I get when I press the button under the joystick.
    Regardless of what I change in this menu, it always reverts back the same.
    The only thing that changes is the uptime and temperature.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos WP_20170104_01_45_49_Pro.jpg  


  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z97 Wifi-Pro
    ProcessorI7-4790k
    Memory (part number)32GB G-Skills
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE® GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1Samsumg 951 Pro m.2 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    Power Supply1600W 80 Platinum
    OS Win10

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    219

    Quote Originally Posted by NA1D00 View Post
    Thanks. I appreciate it.

    I have included a picture of the menu I get when I press the button under the joystick.
    Regardless of what I change in this menu, it always reverts back the same.
    The only thing that changes is the uptime and temperature.
    So turning off the factory menu check mark does nothing? There's a troll in the dungeon!!!!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	122 
Size:	22.0 KB 
ID:	61653


    Also since you seem to be responding quickly give this one a shot.

    step 1:Turn the monitor on
    step 2:Press and hold the menu button down
    step3:"UNPLUG the Monitor" (keep holding the menu button)
    step 4: plug the monitor back in and power on (what I found doesnt specify when to release the menu button so i would just hold it down the whole time until its back on)
    step 5: your supposed to be able to navigate the service menu at this point.
    step 6: ?
    setp 7: profit
    Last edited by Crashcourse316; 01-04-2017 at 04:22 PM.
    I7-4790k OC 4.9 1.375v
    MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 OC core:2055Mhz Mem:5504Mhz

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you like what I post, hit that Rep button.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If i'm posting here it's only because I'm at work and have nothing better to do other than solve your problems.

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Quote Originally Posted by Crashcourse316 View Post
    So turning off the factory menu check mark does nothing? There's a troll in the dungeon!!!!
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	122 
Size:	22.0 KB 
ID:	61653


    Also since you seem to be responding quickly give this one a shot.

    step 1:Turn the monitor on
    step 2:Press and hold the menu button down
    step3:"UNPLUG the Monitor" (keep holding the menu button)
    step 4: plug the monitor back in and power on (what I found doesnt specify when to release the menu button so i would just hold it down the whole time until its back on)
    step 5: your supposed to be able to navigate the service menu at this point.
    step 6: ?
    setp 7: profit
    Turning off the factory menu disables the screen I attached, till the monitor is powered off. Once it boots up again the factory menu is still there.

    I tried the other steps, holding the button under the joystick and there was no change.
    I also tried holding the joystick down. Still no change.

    Asus did get back to, said I should take it back to the retailer.
    I'll do so tomorrow morning but if you have anything else I can try today I'd really appreciate it because I have no idea how long the retailer is going to take to get it fixed.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z97 Wifi-Pro
    ProcessorI7-4790k
    Memory (part number)32GB G-Skills
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE® GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1Samsumg 951 Pro m.2 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    Power Supply1600W 80 Platinum
    OS Win10

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    219

    Well the main thing with the service menu is it's "supposed" to go away when you restart the monitor. It's only supposed to go on when you do the button combo the single time. I'll test mine when I get home and let you know if it's the expected behavior. I was kinda thinking your monitor might have a firmware issue.
    I7-4790k OC 4.9 1.375v
    MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 OC core:2055Mhz Mem:5504Mhz

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you like what I post, hit that Rep button.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If i'm posting here it's only because I'm at work and have nothing better to do other than solve your problems.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    14

    Cool, so far I've found at least one other report of this happening but been unable to contact the user to see if they got it resolved.
    Have you opened the service menu on your monitor before?
    Last edited by NA1D00; 01-04-2017 at 07:34 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    Crashcourse316 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Z97 Wifi-Pro
    ProcessorI7-4790k
    Memory (part number)32GB G-Skills
    Graphics Card #1MSI GEFORCE® GTX 1080 GAMING X 8G
    MonitorPG279Q
    Storage #1Samsumg 951 Pro m.2 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100
    Power Supply1600W 80 Platinum
    OS Win10

    Join Date
    Feb 2016
    Reputation
    15
    Posts
    219

    No. I have never had any reason to, and it hasn't done it by itself like yours.
    I7-4790k OC 4.9 1.375v
    MSI Gaming X GTX 1080 OC core:2055Mhz Mem:5504Mhz

    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If you like what I post, hit that Rep button.
    -----------------------------------------------------------------------
    If i'm posting here it's only because I'm at work and have nothing better to do other than solve your problems.

Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •