Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Hero
    Processor8700K 4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum 2x8GB 3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG348Q 34"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 450D
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750 KM3
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Corsair Sabre
    OS Win 10 64 1709

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Should my PG348Q indicate a red power led for G-Sync while on the desktop?

    I disabled G-Sync via Nvidia control panel today to run a Firestrike benchmark. Now that I have re-enabled G-Sync my power led is white while on the desktop where as I am certain I had red G-Sync led while on the desktop before hand. The led is changing to red in games. Is G-Sync supposed to be active with a red led on the desktop or not? A quick google suggests this might be a bug with the Nvidia control panel that keeps it red if G-Sync has never been disabled/re-enabled?
    Last edited by Zeroed85; 02-03-2018 at 06:36 AM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,822

    This is normal. Red simply means G-Sync enabled. AFAIK, the way the NV driver and G-Sync interacts with the module changed at some stage, which means that as long as it's enabled in the NV Control panel, it will also show as active at desktop on certain monitors.

    Perhaps try simply with full screen enabled and not windowed if you have not done so already. Naturally, disabling G-Sync altogether the LED should turn white. If the LED is showing red in games, then I wouldn't be too concerned.
    Last edited by Silent Scone@ASUS; 02-03-2018 at 08:05 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Zeroed85 PC Specs
    Zeroed85 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus X Hero
    Processor8700K 4.9Ghz
    Memory (part number)Dominator Platinum 2x8GB 3200Mhz
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Sound CardSoundBlaster X AE-5
    MonitorAsus ROG PG348Q 34"
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i
    CaseCorsair Obsidian 450D
    Power SupplySeasonic X-750 KM3
    Keyboard Logitech G710+
    Mouse Corsair Sabre
    OS Win 10 64 1709

    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    107

    Maybe that was an issue with the driver instead (showing red on the desktop)? Since I am sure I had red on the desktop prior to disabling G-Sync maybe the disabling and re-enabling reset it to what it should be? Can anybody clarify this?

    G-Sync is working as normal in full screen games with the red led.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    182

    Red - enabled GSYNC, White- disabled, Gsync. You should check what GSYNC options do you have for your games. You can choose GSYNC used for both windowed mode + full screen, or just full screen.

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Kind of weird, but my PG278Q remains red all the time when Gsync is enabled. However, my PG258Q only is red when Gsync is active (when a game is running) and goes white even when I alt-tab out of the game. It probably comes down to what version of Gsync? Drivers? Firmware on the monitor?

  6. #6
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,822

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris99 View Post
    Kind of weird, but my PG278Q remains red all the time when Gsync is enabled. However, my PG258Q only is red when Gsync is active (when a game is running) and goes white even when I alt-tab out of the game. It probably comes down to what version of Gsync? Drivers? Firmware on the monitor?
    Monitor firmware. Well, and driver. You could resolve it by vastly rolling back to a much earlier driver build which is obviously a bad idea.

    It doesn't bother me that the LED is active, it just reminds me it's not disabled in CP.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    26

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Monitor firmware. Well, and driver. You could resolve it by vastly rolling back to a much earlier driver build which is obviously a bad idea.

    It doesn't bother me that the LED is active, it just reminds me it's not disabled in CP.
    Yeah, it really is just a light, everything still functions as it should. I typically just ignore it.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •