Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array malone209 PC Specs
    malone209 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage V Extreme X99
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Ripjaws 16GB Extreme DDR4 3300
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB FTW+ w/ACX 2.0+ and BackPlate
    Sound CardCreative SoundBlaster ZxR
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T 24" @ 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Western Digital 4TB SSHD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i 1000watt 80 PLUS Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 with red switches
    Mouse Zowie EC1-A
    Headset Sennheiser PC350-se
    Mouse Pad fUnc 1030 XL
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    weird bios loop issue (have to force boot to windows)

    any idea why my computer wont load my operating system? just happened outta no where. I turned on my pc this morning and it like did a black screen with a loading bar on the top left, then the loading bar briefly flashes in the middle then it loads my bios

    Only way to boot my operating system is to do force boot in my bios and select my SSD.
    Not sure what's going on..

  2. #2
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    481
    Posts
    13,452

    Have you checked boot order in BIOS?...if UEFI install make sure Windows boot manager is first up. You install Windows with only target drive connected...if not windows can put stuff on other drives and if you disconnect a drive your boot goes to pot..

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array malone209 PC Specs
    malone209 PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Rampage V Extreme X99
    ProcessorIntel i7 5930k
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Ripjaws 16GB Extreme DDR4 3300
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GeForce GTX 970 4GB FTW+ w/ACX 2.0+ and BackPlate
    Sound CardCreative SoundBlaster ZxR
    MonitorBenQ XL2430T 24" @ 144hz
    Storage #1Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
    Storage #2Western Digital 4TB SSHD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair Graphite Series 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair HX1000i 1000watt 80 PLUS Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair K70 with red switches
    Mouse Zowie EC1-A
    Headset Sennheiser PC350-se
    Mouse Pad fUnc 1030 XL
    OS Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterNETGEAR Nighthawk AC1900

    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    Have you checked boot order in BIOS?...if UEFI install make sure Windows boot manager is first up. You install Windows with only target drive connected...if not windows can put stuff on other drives and if you disconnect a drive your boot goes to pot..
    Yeah boot order is fine. I've been on BIOS defaults for awhile now but I reloaded them again (I just flashed to the newest BIOS yesterday also). This issue happened a few times in the past but went away until now.

    I've been running Windows 10 with no issues since launch, as in I haven't formatted or had to reinstall since then so I know it has nothing to do with my storage drives.. or does it?

    Would a format be a possible solution? There was someone else in these forums who had the same issue as me, sadly I don't think he solved it either.

  4. #4

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •