Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array smokeintheeye PC Specs
    smokeintheeye PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (X99) Bios 3101
    ProcessorI7 5820K @ 4.6GHz @ 1.285v
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX XMP @ 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI R9-290 Gaming @ 1100/1375
    MonitorPhilips 4K BDM4065UC
    CPU CoolerSupr EVO X99 + 360 Rad + 1000ml Res + Swiftech MCP655
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 AMBI lighting
    smokeintheeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    279

    Rampage v / bios 3501 / samsung 960 evo / overclocking

    Hello all hope someone can help me out. i got a new samsung 960 evo 250gb last night and im getting a bit stuck setting it up right... i think

    1st thing i did before the install of windows was to reset the bios then load the usb with windows on in uefi mode.
    after windows was installed i stuck the samsung drivers on and Samsung Magician. did the test in there and all looked good.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	11 
Size:	54.0 KB 
ID:	61759

    so i let windows update and stuck all my stuff back on. but now i just get about 1400/1500mb in the magician test?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture3.PNG 
Views:	10 
Size:	84.3 KB 
ID:	61761

    plus now in the Bios if i set it to run XMP the 960 evo will no longer show as a boot driver or anything.( like its not plugged in no more )
    But if i set Ai overclock tuner to manual it will show back in the bios but just runs at 2X4 and not 3X4?
    But if i leave Ai cverclock tuner on auto it still shows in bios and will run at 3X4.

    is there a setting im missing or some thing. will Ai coverclock tuner be ok left on auto with the rest of my overclock setting in for 4.6ghz running?

    CrystalDiskMark 5 gives me a score.... see pic
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture2.PNG 
Views:	62 
Size:	70.8 KB 
ID:	61760 dose that look right?


    Any Reputation is welcome. thanks

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Zarathustraa PC Specs
    Zarathustraa PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Dragon 660ti 2GD5
    Monitor3 x VG27AH
    Storage #1850 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2850 Pro 256GB
    CPU CoolerNoctua Nh-D15
    CaseCorsair 780T
    Power SupplyCorsair AX1500i
    Keyboard Kinesis Advantage
    Mouse Logitech G502
    OS Windows 8.1, and Linux Mint
    Accessory #1 Aquaero 6xt

    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    201

    Which slot did you install the drive in?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array kaese PC Specs
    kaese PC Specs
    MotherboardX99 Rampage V Extreme
    Processor5820K

    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    65

    Make sure your BCLK is set to 100 MHz and rerun benchmark.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array smokeintheeye PC Specs
    smokeintheeye PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme (X99) Bios 3101
    ProcessorI7 5820K @ 4.6GHz @ 1.285v
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX XMP @ 2400MHz
    Graphics Card #1MSI R9-290 Gaming @ 1100/1375
    MonitorPhilips 4K BDM4065UC
    CPU CoolerSupr EVO X99 + 360 Rad + 1000ml Res + Swiftech MCP655
    CaseHAF X
    Power SupplyHX1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440
    OS Windows 10 pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 AMBI lighting
    smokeintheeye's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    279

    Quote Originally Posted by Zarathustraa View Post
    Which slot did you install the drive in?
    just in the m.2 slot on the mobo.

    iv redone windows and not stuck all me drivers on yet but think im getting there. still at a lost with the AI overclock tuner tho?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	43 
Size:	55.7 KB 
ID:	61767
    Last edited by smokeintheeye; 01-08-2017 at 12:08 AM.


    Any Reputation is welcome. thanks

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array RxL-Soul PC Specs
    RxL-Soul PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 5930k
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4 3000MHz
    Graphics Card #1GTX 980 Ti Superclocked+ acx 2.0+
    MonitorAsus PG248Q + Benq GL2460HM
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo 250GB 950 Pro 256GB
    Storage #2Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 850 Evo 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H110i GTX
    CaseCorsair 900D
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova G2 750w
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma + Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset Razer Kraken Chroma
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Control Extended
    Headset/Speakers Razer Leviathan
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit

    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Enable CSM i had this problem also kinda also if you are using higher memory the XMP sets the BCLK to 125 which im almost certain causes this problem
    l i7 5930k | Rampage V Extreme | Corsair H110i GTX | G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB DDR4 3000Mhz | EVGA GTX 980 Ti Superclocked+ acx 2.0+ | EVGA SuperNova 750w G2 | Samsung 960 Evo 250GB l Samsung 950 Pro 256GB | Samsung 850 EVO 250GB | Samsung 840 EVO 250GB | 1 TB WD Red | Corsair 900D |


    http://valid.x86.fr/3dxmew

  6. #6
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,855

    Nothing wrong with your speeds, this is an EVO not a Pro.
    The DMI is supposed to be a separated from the Bclk and run at 100Mhz period.
    Did you check your PCH storage configuration after you set XMP?
    Personally I dont use XMP. You can set all your ram timings. voltage and clocks manually and OC just fine without XMP.

    When you say AI overclock Tuner are you talking about AI Suite software? If so I would steer clear using that to make changes. I was running it for awhile and was pleased at just how easy it was not having to reboot into the BIOS every time to make tweaks, right up until it corrupted my BIOS and caused a lot of work to recover from it. Not that I was doing anything out of the ordinary. I had saved profiles and if I wasnt running anything that needed the higher Vcore and multipler/Bclk I had saved the default. So im humming along. just finished a round of 3D marks benches and loaded the default profile. Machine locked slam up and a hard reset resulted in not posting, not being able to get in the BIOS nothing. Lucky for me the M8E has two BIOS roms and I switched to the alternate bios to recover. It botched the OS and all the apps. Had to to a complete reinstall of everything.

    I have CSM disabled and UEFI boot.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •