Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Cool 850 EVO 1tb Upgrade and OS clone Successful BUT?

    Ok so I managed to install an extra 1tb SSD along side my 2tb HDD it came with and successfully cloned my HDD to my SSD and disabled the HDD and it managed to boot in 3 seconds with the new SSD. BUT now I have the old 2tb HDD basically an old clone doing nothing... Can I wipe it now that I know the SSD will work with the HDD disabled?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array chilinmichael's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    16
    Posts
    372

    Sounds like you are good to go. Just make sure the proper drives are showing up in device manager (Your SSD is showing/HDD is not). Also make sure, like with any clone, any important documents are intact and accessible before wiping the old drive. I always tell people to try out everything you can beforehand.
    Asus G20CB - Core i7 6700, Nvidia GTX980, 16GB Ram, 256GB SK Hynix SSD, 1TB Samsung SSD.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    Quote Originally Posted by chilinmichael View Post
    Sounds like you are good to go. Just make sure the proper drives are showing up in device manager (Your SSD is showing/HDD is not). Also make sure, like with any clone, any important documents are intact and accessible before wiping the old drive. I always tell people to try out everything you can beforehand.
    Yes sir since the SSD booted while the HDD was disabled in BIOS I was able to change boot order properly thru bios, and then boot from SSD, and then re-enable back thru bios. After booting I was able to get the original HDD back to factory settings.. [PROBLEM SOLVED]

  4. #4
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    For future reference once you boot from the cloned drive just check disk manager to make sure it has a boot partition. If so you can simply run a command prompt diskpart session and issue a clean command to the now unused disk which clears the partition table and puts the disk back to unitialized. If you dont have the boot partition there and mess up and delete the old disk you can still recover with a USB UEFI windows install USB by manually making the boot partition with the BCD command.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •