Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array Krizzer85 PC Specs
    Krizzer85 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z270E GAMING
    Processori7 7700K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200mhz CL 16.18.18.38 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX Geforce GTX1060 6GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Question XMP problem on Z270E Gaming with 2x8gb g-skill Trident Z RGB 3200mhz

    I have a 4 months old self build PC with a z270e MB and with 2x8GB g-skill Trident Z RGB 3200mhz CL 16.18.18.38 and i have just updated to 1009

    I'm beginning to have problems with my system is gets BSOD's when i activate XMP
    I ran a memtest86+ because i though there was a bad ram stick and just one of them gets test 7 error in port 1B, test 9 and 10 errors in 2B, nothing i 1A/2A when the XMP are active.
    No errors at all in memtest 86+ when bios is set to default optimized settings and the ram runs at 2133mhz.

    what is wrong and what can i do to get my system stabil again at 3200mhz.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Probably changes in the new revision. Continue to tweak your memory for stability.

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array Krizzer85 PC Specs
    Krizzer85 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z270E GAMING
    Processori7 7700K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200mhz CL 16.18.18.38 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX Geforce GTX1060 6GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I'll be honest to say that i have not so much experience with tweaking manual settings for ram and cpu.
    So need a little help with it

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Tweak your VCCIO and SA voltages. Here are some guidelines:

    DDR4 frequency range Required CPU VCCIO Voltage range Required CPU System Agent Voltage range
    DDR4-2133 ~ DDR4-2800 1.05V ~ 1.15V 1.05V ~ 1.15V
    DDR4-2800 ~ DDR4-3600 1.10V ~ 1.25V 1.10V ~ 1.30V
    DDR4-3600 ~ DDR4-4266 1.15V ~ 1.30V 1.20V ~ 1.35V

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array Krizzer85 PC Specs
    Krizzer85 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z270E GAMING
    Processori7 7700K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200mhz CL 16.18.18.38 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX Geforce GTX1060 6GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Okay i will try that
    How much on DRAM Voltage? it is 1.35V as the label on the ram says?

  6. #6
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,344

    Hi Krizzer85

    Enable XMP then scroll down and set:

    CPU VCCIO Voltage - 1.20v
    CPU System Agent Voltage 1.20v

    F10 and Enter

    How does she go ?

  7. #7
    New ROGer Array Krizzer85 PC Specs
    Krizzer85 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z270E GAMING
    Processori7 7700K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200mhz CL 16.18.18.38 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX Geforce GTX1060 6GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Now i have activated XMP and set:
    CPU VCCIO Voltage to 1.20v
    CPU System Agent Voltage to 1.20v

    Then i run memtest86+ again with the ram stick who shows test 7 errors in b1 before.
    i sat it back in B1 and with these settings it shows test 7 errors again.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos DSC_0615.jpg  


  8. #8
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,344

    Thank you

    The Dram voltage seems to be reading a little low, try setting the Dram voltage to 1.38v

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array Krizzer85 PC Specs
    Krizzer85 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG STRIX Z270E GAMING
    Processori7 7700K Kaby Lake
    Memory (part number)2 x 8GB G-Skill Trident Z RGB 3200mhz CL 16.18.18.38 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1ROG STRIX Geforce GTX1060 6GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i

    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Now I have changed the DRAM Voltage to 1.38v.
    Then ran memtest86+ again on that same ram stick in slot B1 and....
    WUHUU now there are no errors

    So i think it's working

    Thank you very much for your help Nate152
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos DSC_0616.jpg  


  10. #10
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,344

    You're welcome

    The CPU VCCIO and CPU Sytem Agent voltages at 1.20v are estimates, you can leave it as is or you can fine tune them by lowering each one .01v to 1.19v and test for stability. If stable, lower each one again .01v to 1.18v and test again. Keep doing that until you hit instability and raise them back up .01v.

    You can use a program like realbench for stability testing, it doesn't take as long as memtest.

    https://rog.asus.com/rog-pro/realbench-v2-leaderboard/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •