Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22
  1. #11
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    All of the boards in the guide can achieve 5GHz CPU speeds. No distinct advantage for the Apex in that regard.

  2. #12
    ROG Enthusiast Array lufiron PC Specs
    lufiron PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Apex
    Processordelidded 7700k @ 5ghz 1.35v
    Memory (part number)gskill 2x16 3200 cas 14
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti @ 2 ghz
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279
    Storage #1960 pro
    Storage #2960 pro
    CPU Coolernoctua D15S
    CaseCooler Master 5 freeform
    Power SupplySeasonic 850w prime titanium
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G502

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    28
    Posts
    53

    Apex is up for sale on newegg at the moment

    *https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...-953-_-Product

    EDIT: its back up, showing in stock, order I placed already shipped
    Last edited by lufiron; 02-02-2017 at 01:36 AM.

  3. #13
    ROG Member Array magn2o PC Specs
    magn2o PC Specs
    MotherboardROG MAXIMUS X APEX
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i9-9900K
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14D-32GTZR
    Graphics Card #1ROG-STRIX-RTX2080TI-O11G-GAMING
    MonitorROG SWIFT PG279Q
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 960 EVO M.2 1TB NVMe
    CPU CoolerEKWB EK-MLC Phoenix 360
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 Dynamic
    Power SupplySeasonic Prime Ultra 850W
    Keyboard Asus ROG Claymore Core
    Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
    Headset Philips Fidelio X2/27
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    FYI this chart incorrectly lists the APEX as ATX rather than EATX.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos chart.jpg  

    Last edited by magn2o; 02-09-2017 at 11:57 PM.

  4. #14
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Corrected.

  5. #15
    ROG Member Array nmdelrio PC Specs
    nmdelrio PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus IX Code BIOS 1009
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K 4.2 GHz (4.5 GHz Turbo)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1msi GeForce GTX 1070 Gaming X 8G
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H100i GTX
    CaseCooler Master Cosmos II Ultra Tower Case
    Power SupplyCorsair Professional Series Gold Hi-Perf 1200W
    Keyboard Razer Black Widow
    Mouse Razer Diamondback
    Mouse Pad Razer Goliathus Control
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion 5
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64bit
    Accessory #1 Razer Tartarus Gaming Keypad

    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Maximus IX Code EXT_Sensors

    I am considering upgrading to the Z270 Maximus IX Code. I was looking at the BIOS Manual under 'Monitor' ans can see EXT_Sensor 1 to 3 Temperature. And looking at the motherboard userguide, I see no mention of these sensors.

    Question: Are these sensors available for connecting thermocouples? Or do these sensors have their own thermocouples built in?

    The reason I am asking is to know if I have to include 3x thermocouples in my shopping list.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CODE-ext_sensors.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	88.4 KB 
ID:	63406
    Last edited by nmdelrio; 03-22-2017 at 04:03 AM. Reason: added more information

  6. #16
    Ex-employee Array
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Reputation
    108
    Posts
    2,154

    The Apex is definitely a good option for those who do professional work as the slight extra bit in performance with 2 x M.2 drives and higher performance 2 stick kit goes a long way. I know one person that went with the Apex and he said it's a pretty noticeable upgrade from his previous gen setup.

  7. #17
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by nmdelrio View Post
    I am considering upgrading to the Z270 Maximus IX Code. I was looking at the BIOS Manual under 'Monitor' ans can see EXT_Sensor 1 to 3 Temperature. And looking at the motherboard userguide, I see no mention of these sensors.

    Question: Are these sensors available for connecting thermocouples? Or do these sensors have their own thermocouples built in?

    The reason I am asking is to know if I have to include 3x thermocouples in my shopping list.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CODE-ext_sensors.JPG 
Views:	5 
Size:	88.4 KB 
ID:	63406

    Those inputs are for the Fan Extension card, which is sold separately (in some regions only).

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I was reading HardOCP's review of the Maximus IX Formula, and I found one line that caught my eye:

    In any case, a manual voltage setting still has the same effect in which the actual voltage depends on the CPU workload with the manually set voltage seemingly acting as a voltage cap.
    Is this the correct behavior? I asked further and the editor of the article mentioned that it indeed the manual vcore mode acted like a cap only as if it was Adaptive Voltage.

  9. #19
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by dlerium View Post
    I was reading HardOCP's review of the Maximus IX Formula, and I found one line that caught my eye:



    Is this the correct behavior? I asked further and the editor of the article mentioned that it indeed the manual vcore mode acted like a cap only as if it was Adaptive Voltage.

    Probably someone in the chain of info getting confused...

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Vlada011 PC Specs
    Vlada011 PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V E10 (BIOS 1903)
    ProcessorIntel®i7-5820K (4.5GHz 1.325V)
    Memory (part number)CMD16GX4M4A2666C15
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GTX1080Ti Poseidon
    Sound CardSound Blaster ZxR
    MonitorSamsung P2450H
    Storage #1Samsung 970 EVO PLUS 1TB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB/WD Black 2TB
    CPU CoolerEK RGB Monoblock RVE10
    CaseLian Li PC-O11 WXC
    Power SupplyEVGA 1200 P2
    Keyboard Deck 87 Francium PRO - MX Brown DS PBT
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Mouse Pad Steeseries QCK
    Headset/Speakers CREATIVE T5900 5.1
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64 v1903
    Accessory #1 iPhone SE Space Grey
    Accessory #2 EK XRES D5 Revo 100 Glass PWM + CoolstreamPE 360
    Accessory #3 Noctua NF-A12x25 PWM x3 (radiator)
    Vlada011's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    1,462

    I hope new 8th Gen of Intel processor will be compatible with Z270.
    That will extend life of these nice ROG Z270 motherboards Apex, Code, Extreme and Formula.

    Than Cannon Lake will be compatible as well.
    Upgrade from i7-7700K to 6 core model with 4.2GHz Turbo will be great.
    Rumors say 15% improvements. They probably think on 15% more performance per core,
    because 2 more cores multi threaded performance will be much better of 8th Gen than 7th Gen.
    God know these nice ROG Z270 line deserve extended life time.

    Off course ASUS could revitalize some of them but ROG line is big and bad to serve for only one generation.
    Because ASUS ROG Z270 line is maybe strongest ever with many fantastic models
    Strix 5 models
    Hero
    Apex
    Code
    Formula
    Extreme


Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •