Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array chiilin PC Specs
    chiilin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G75VW
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Code
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake @ 5050MHz (OC 20%)
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-3200 (16GB X 2) (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Monitor2-each Asus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240 CPU Cooler
    CaseCooler Master Mastercase Pro 5
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W G2
    Headset/Speakers Astro A50 Wireless Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterNETGEAR Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (R8000)
    chiilin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    79

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    Your Samsung 960EVO M.2/NVMe SSD is compatible with Samsung's RAPID Magician software. ...<snip>...
    Did you mean to say "Your Samsung 960EVO M.2/NVMe SSD is NOT compatible with Samsung's RAPID Magician software?

    Because it isn't. Neither is the 960 Pro M.2 NVMe. I have both:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	960 EVO Not Compatible with Rapid Mode.PNG 
Views:	10 
Size:	324.4 KB 
ID:	66022

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	960 PRO Not Compatible with Rapid Mode.PNG 
Views:	9 
Size:	325.1 KB 
ID:	66023

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719


  3. #13
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array chiilin PC Specs
    chiilin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G75VW
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Code
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake @ 5050MHz (OC 20%)
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-3200 (16GB X 2) (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Monitor2-each Asus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240 CPU Cooler
    CaseCooler Master Mastercase Pro 5
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W G2
    Headset/Speakers Astro A50 Wireless Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterNETGEAR Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (R8000)
    chiilin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    79

    OK, I think I see where the confusion is. Yes, it is compatible with the "Magician Software," but it's "not supported" with the "Rapid Mode" feature.

    That was what I meant and what I was showing you with my screenshots.

    You can even see in the screenshots on Samsung's page that you linked that it says "not supported" under the "Rapid Mode" field.

    Rapid Mode only works with sata SSDs like the four you mentioned you are using, These NVMe chips are not supported.
    *
    Last edited by chiilin; 07-17-2017 at 10:24 AM.

  4. #14
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,857

    Run crystaldiskmark bench instead.

    While the cache does speed up during small reads and writes up until the ram allocated is saturated there is one huge caveat. If you get a blip of any kind everything that was in cache is GONE! Its volatile memory.

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array chiilin PC Specs
    chiilin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G75VW
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Code
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake @ 5050MHz (OC 20%)
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-3200 (16GB X 2) (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Monitor2-each Asus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240 CPU Cooler
    CaseCooler Master Mastercase Pro 5
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W G2
    Headset/Speakers Astro A50 Wireless Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterNETGEAR Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (R8000)
    chiilin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    79

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    Run crystaldiskmark bench instead.

    While the cache does speed up during small reads and writes up until the ram allocated is saturated there is one huge caveat. If you get a blip of any kind everything that was in cache is GONE! Its volatile memory.
    I do use Crystaldiskmark for benchmarks. I was only displaying what the Magician software shows for how it does not support 960 PRO/EVO M.2 drives in "RAPID Mode."

    Since this is a thread about Ramcache II; here are my crystaldiskmark benchmarks, for both of my drives, both before and after using Ramcache II:

    Samsung 960 Pro 512GB before Ramcache II:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	960 Pro 512GB 07-15-17 (Better with Proper Driver).PNG 
Views:	149 
Size:	40.4 KB 
ID:	66059

    Samsung 960 Pro 512GB after Ramcache II:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Samsung 960 Pro 512GB 07-16-17 with 4GB Ramcache II.PNG 
Views:	149 
Size:	36.8 KB 
ID:	66061

    Samsung 960 EVO 1TB before Ramcache II:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	960 EVO 1TB 07-15-17 (Better with Proper Driver).PNG 
Views:	149 
Size:	39.6 KB 
ID:	66060

    Samsung 960 EVO 1TB after Ramcache II:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Samsung 960 EVO 1TB 07-16-17 with 4GB Ramcache II.PNG 
Views:	150 
Size:	36.8 KB 
ID:	66062
    Last edited by chiilin; 07-18-2017 at 11:24 AM.

  6. #16
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    20

    So tiresome...

    Where is the download link for ROG RAMCache II??

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array chiilin PC Specs
    chiilin PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus ROG G75VW
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Code
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-7700K Kaby Lake @ 5050MHz (OC 20%)
    Memory (part number)32GB G.Skill Ripjaws V DDR4-3200 (16GB X 2) (F4-3200C16D-32GVK)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA Geforce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Monitor2-each Asus VG248QE
    Storage #1Samsung 960 PRO 512GB M.2 NVMe
    Storage #2Samsung 960 EVO 1TB M.2 NVMe
    CPU CoolerArctic Liquid Freezer 240 CPU Cooler
    CaseCooler Master Mastercase Pro 5
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 850W G2
    Headset/Speakers Astro A50 Wireless Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    Network RouterNETGEAR Nighthawk X6 AC3200 Tri-Band Gigabit Wi-Fi Router (R8000)
    chiilin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    20
    Posts
    79

    Quote Originally Posted by Blackkatt View Post
    Where is the download link for ROG RAMCache II??
    IIRC, it's part of "AI Suite" on Asus downloads page. You need to pick the right download for your operating sytem, etc.

    Or maybe it is a seperate download, try this link:

    http://dlcdnet.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mis...639.1500022955

    That's for Windows10 64-bit.
    Last edited by chiilin; 09-09-2017 at 12:51 PM.

  8. #18
    ROG Enthusiast Array Frostie36 PC Specs
    Frostie36 PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair VII Hero X470 WiFi
    ProcessorRyzen 2700x
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080TI FE
    Sound CardCreative X-Fi pcie
    MonitorAsus VG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung 840 Pro 256mb
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 1TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-U12S SE AM4
    CaseHAF 932 Advance
    Power SupplySilverstone Strider 1000w
    Keyboard Logitech g15 v2
    Mouse Logitech G502
    Headset/Speakers Creative Headphones
    OS Windows 10 Pro X64
    Network RouterNetgear WNDR4500

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    41

    I use both Ramcache & ramdisk as I have 32gb of ram so may as well use plenty of it. I use rapid mode with my boot ssd and use ramcache with my 850 evo when gaming as ram is still a hell of a lot faster than ssd's & also use ramcache with my normal hdd when playing games that I've got stored on that.

  9. #19
    ROG Junior Member Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    [QUOTE=FDSage;626313]After quite a bit of Google searching, I can't seem to find a lot of info about this feature. This seems like the right place to ask.
    What exactly does this DO? It caches data, but in what way? Do you choose which data to cache?
    With 32GB of RAM, a lot of that can get wasted sometimes. If I can use more of that to reduce the time spent on loading screens, great.
    Will this slow anything else down? Any other programs? Boot time? Anything at all? What are the advantages and disadvantages of using it?

    I know that's a lot of questions. I just want to decide if using RAMCache II is right for me.
    I would like to minimize load times as much as possible, but not at the cost of performance in any other area of my PC. I do more than game, too. I work with Adobe Premiere Pro and its performance is important to me.
    /QUOTE]

    Wow, I would love to hear from you regarding your experiences! Your questions are almost VERBATIM what are swirling in my mind as I set up my new ROG motherboard.
    I really don't know about this RAMCache thing, it has no settings besides language and no instructions or literature that explains a damn thing! So given that I think we're both approaching this experience with the exact same mind set, I would love to have YOUR input, not just all the advice that follows your post!!
    Please let me know on this forum or in PM

    Regards,
    Ian

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Ramcache inflates Seq Read/write numbers and the numbers you are seeing are not actual speed. While Ram Cache II will help with overall performance by caching common files, it does not/will not be giving the numbers Crystal DiskMark is showing.

    You do not get to choose which files Ram Cache II stores into RAM. Mainly it is windows files, browser files, ect. Of course the more RAM you can use for the Ram Cache, the more files that can be stored there. I use a 2gb RAM Disk for a browser cache, which helps websites load faster. That is where you use junctions. Some people use Ram Disk for Steam games, pretty much loading everything into RAM. The downside of this, is if your game does something like save your game, you have to make sure you manually sync the Disk to it's harddrive file otherwise if there is a loss of power or a crash you can lose that data or corrupt your game.

    Letting the Ram Cache do it on its own it will simply move the files you most use on a daily bases to the RAM cache drive.

    The bottom line is Ram Disk you can choose the files. Ram Cache you can't, but it will do system files.
    Last edited by Brighttail; 04-30-2018 at 12:40 AM.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •