Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array jimmy714 PC Specs
    jimmy714 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)16GB F4-2400C 15D-16GVS (G.SKill Ripjaws V 8x2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    MonitorLG 29" 1080p
    Storage #1MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Toshiba P300 1TB HD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 600 BQ
    Keyboard WASD mechanical keyboard
    Mouse Logitech MX518
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    New build, BSODs, bad mobo?

    Hi everyone, I'm having trouble with my first build ever and think I may need to replace my motherboard.

    Specs:
    Maximus VIII Hero mobo
    i7-6700k
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    16GB G.SKILL Ripjaws V 2400Mhz (2x8GB F4-2400C15D-16GVS)
    MyDigitalSSD BPX 480 GB NVMe SSD
    Toshiba P300 1TB HDD
    EVGA FTW GTX 1070
    EVGA 600W BQ PSU
    NZXT S340 case

    History:
    I used the BIOS flashback button to install the newest version 3101. I was able to initially install Windows 10 successfully, and then installed chipset, LAN, SATA drivers from ASUS, and a graphic cards driver from NVIDIA. During my Ninite installation, I got my first BSOD. After rebooting and getting into windows, more BSODs started occurring with increasing frequency. Eventually, Windows Recovery kicked in and I chose the "Reset" option to re-install the OS. The computer BSOD'd during the reinstall.

    Since then, I have only been able to successfully boot into the BIOS/UEFI. Booting into a bootable Windows 10 USB or a Windows 8.1 DVD produces BSODs and restarts. The BSOD error codes vary each time and there's no apparent "common" error.

    What I've Tried:
    -Flashback to BIOS 2022
    -Booting with CPU and RAM only
    -Booting with different combinations of my storage devices connected
    -Booting with one stick of RAM at a time
    -Memtest86: Memtest found errors on the order of hundreds of thousands to millions on each of my RAM sticks. I bought a new set of Patriot DDR4 16GB and tried them with no success. Memtest also found hundreds of thousands of errors on the new RAM.
    -Clearing CMOS
    -Loosening CPU cooler mounting bracket
    -Inspecting CPU socket for bent pins (none)
    -Inspecting CPU/mobo for excess thermal paste (none)

    Everything still results in BSODs whenever I try to boot into any kind of installation media. Is there anything else I've missed before I start the RMA? Could it be the CPU?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GotKevlar PC Specs
    GotKevlar PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC)
    Processori7-8700K @ 4.4 Ghz
    Memory (part number)F4-3466C16D-32GTZ (2x16) (XMP On)
    Graphics Card #1ZT-P10800H-10P
    Sound CardSupremeFX 8-Channel HDA CODEC S1220A
    MonitorSamsung 55" Curved
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO 250G NVMe M.2
    Storage #2Intel 660p Series M.2 SSDPEKNW020T8X1
    CPU CoolerNZXT RL-KRX42-02
    CaseTT Level 20 VT
    Power SupplyPS-TPG-0850FPCPUS-P
    Keyboard SteelSeries MERC Stealth
    Mouse R2 Omnimouse
    Headset SteelSeries H Wireless
    Mouse Pad KILLENFLOR DECK
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha SR-300
    OS Win 10 Pro X64 1803 (os build 17134.345)
    Network RouterUbiquiti USGv3
    Accessory #1 (1) ThermalTake 200 mm Fan
    GotKevlar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    any heat issues with the cpu while powered on? what are the mobo temps and cpu temps while in bios? Are fans spinning?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array jimmy714 PC Specs
    jimmy714 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)16GB F4-2400C 15D-16GVS (G.SKill Ripjaws V 8x2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    MonitorLG 29" 1080p
    Storage #1MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Toshiba P300 1TB HD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 600 BQ
    Keyboard WASD mechanical keyboard
    Mouse Logitech MX518
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Ward sayer

    My CPU stays at 27C and mobo at 28C, and yes my 4 chassis and CPU fan are spinning.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    Try using legacy mode boot in bios, not uefi.

    Enviado desde mi F8331 mediante Tapatalk

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array jimmy714 PC Specs
    jimmy714 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)16GB F4-2400C 15D-16GVS (G.SKill Ripjaws V 8x2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    MonitorLG 29" 1080p
    Storage #1MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Toshiba P300 1TB HD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 600 BQ
    Keyboard WASD mechanical keyboard
    Mouse Logitech MX518
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    No luck unfortunately. I even tried removing the NVME drive and plugging in my HDD, and attempting to install windows 10 on that. I still get BSODs when booting into the installation USB.

    The memtest errors on two different sets of RAM is suspicious for a bad motherboard though, correct?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array jimmy714 PC Specs
    jimmy714 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)16GB F4-2400C 15D-16GVS (G.SKill Ripjaws V 8x2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    MonitorLG 29" 1080p
    Storage #1MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Toshiba P300 1TB HD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 600 BQ
    Keyboard WASD mechanical keyboard
    Mouse Logitech MX518
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    I just tried a different 8 GB stick of RAM on the QVL (Crucial BLS8G4D240FSA), with no luck and errors on Memtest.

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array hiong PC Specs
    hiong PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i7-6700K
    Memory (part number)F4-3600C16D-16GTZ
    Graphics Card #1Asus Strix 1080
    Graphics Card #2Asus Strix 1080
    Sound CardAsus Strix Raid DLX
    MonitorAsus PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro M.2 512GB
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Evo 2TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15S
    CaseLian Li PC-V2120X
    Power SupplySuper Flower Leadex Titanium 1600W
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic T1
    Headset/Speakers Klipsch Quintet
    OS Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC88U

    Join Date
    May 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    143

    try increasing DRAM voltage?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array jimmy714 PC Specs
    jimmy714 PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus VIII Hero
    Processori7-6700k
    Memory (part number)16GB F4-2400C 15D-16GVS (G.SKill Ripjaws V 8x2)
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    MonitorLG 29" 1080p
    Storage #1MyDigitalSSD BPX 480GB NVMe SSD
    Storage #2Toshiba P300 1TB HD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
    CaseNZXT S340
    Power SupplyEVGA 600 BQ
    Keyboard WASD mechanical keyboard
    Mouse Logitech MX518
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    6

    How do I increase the DRAM voltage, and by how much?

    So I RMA'd my motherboard and got it back repaired. No changes. I'm extremely frustrated right now. Should I try to replace the CPU next?

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array KotTHECat's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2015
    Reputation
    25
    Posts
    96

    Quote Originally Posted by jimmy714 View Post
    How do I increase the DRAM voltage, and by how much?

    So I RMA'd my motherboard and got it back repaired. No changes. I'm extremely frustrated right now. Should I try to replace the CPU next?
    Installed ASMedia Sata driver? If so, uninstall
    Intel Core i7 6700K, ASUS Maximus VIII Hero, ASUS GTX 980 Strix, Kingston 2x8GB HX426C15FBK2/16, SanDisk Extreme Pro 240GB, Seagate 750GB, XFX Pro 750W, Windows 7 Ultimate

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    221

    Quote Originally Posted by KotTHECat View Post
    Installed ASMedia Sata driver? If so, uninstall
    What? He can't even get in to Windows?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •