cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RAM Issue with new Rampage III Formula

Retired
Not applicable
I'm a newbie to PC building...but recently got Rampage III Formula board with an i7980x and 6 sticks of Corsair Dominator GT 2 GB PC3-16000 2000Mhz Triple Channel (CMT6GX3M3A2000C8) all for Win 7 64-bit

However the system only seems to recognize 8GB's. I tried reseating the RAM and the system briefly saw 12GB's, but then on the next boot i was told there was an overclocking problem with the RAM and said i needed to reset the BIOS to default which i did...now back to 8GB's.

I never touched the BIOS so no idea what the message about overclocking was about...but neither the BIOS nor Windows sees anything more t han 8GB's. Although when I run CPU-Z, it reports 12GB's. Also in the BIOS, it reports the RAM at 1333 which i don't think it right....I thought it was 1600 or 2000?

Hope someone can help

thanks
10 REPLIES 10

martin_metal_88
Level 8
try re-seating the CPU. If the problem still occur just bump the ram voltage by a notch and see if that help. Also run memtest ( bootable version ) and try each stick 1 by 1 in every slot.
Keep us up to date!
Martin_metal_88

Colenzo :Coolermaster ATCS 840 | Gigabyte's EP55-UD5 | Intel Core I7 860 @ 3.8Ghz | 4GB G.skill Trident 1600 | MSI GTX460 1GB HAWK Twin frozr | WD 640 black + WD 1TB green + WD 1TB Blue | Pionner DVR-216 | Silverstone Strider Plus 850W | Coolermaster Hyper 212 plus in push pull fan config |

Ask for more!

You might have some defective memory modules, I recommended using a memory diagnostics tool called Memtest

The latest version of Memtest X86 is available here: http://www.memtest.org/

Memtest X86 CD:
Download the newest ISO version (memtest86+-.iso.zip) to your PC.

-Extract the .zip file to a location that you know, like the Desktop or Downloads folder or next to the .zip file. You should end up with the file Memtest86+-1.70.iso