Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36
  1. #11
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Smile

    Quote Originally Posted by FiXXXer1982 View Post
    Attachment 63139

    My SSD is not fast
    not a big different

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	aaa.jpg 
Views:	68 
Size:	82.0 KB 
ID:	63140

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array Thelooozzz PC Specs
    Thelooozzz PC Specs
    MotherboardZ270E
    ProcessorI7 7700
    Graphics Card #1Asus GTX1060
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 EVO
    CaseNZXT 340 Elite
    Power SupplyNZXT 550W

    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    I have a Z270E Asus MB with 960 EVO. The Windows 10 installation was not going any further. Direct after 1st reboot the following message was given (message BOOTDEVICE_NOT_FOUND). After many changes in my Uefi settings I gave up.

    The last solution came from my friend.
    I used a original buyed W10 Education version for the setup. The mediamaker for UEFI usb for this W10 Education version did not have the right drivers inside.
    Solution was to download a retail Windows 10 Home edition from a other Microsoft link then the Edu version.
    This W10 Home Edition Uefi sticks was the solution and the setup finished fine. After this installation I had to put in the activation Key in windows (EDU key), then a upgrade message appears. Now I have a working Windows 10 Educational version running on NVME standard Microsoft drivers.
    After this upgrade I changed the driver for the Samsung NVME driver.

    Very strange that the W10 Educational version is not having the right drivers inside. There was a option in the last used iso for Edu version as well, I tryed it but the same message BOOTDEVICE_NOT_FOUND was the result.

  3. #13
    nb Array NeoBeum PC Specs
    NeoBeum PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY
    MotherboardHM87
    Processori7-4860HQ
    Memory (part number)32Gb Kingston Hyper-X
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX980M
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256 Gb, Samsung 850 Pro 512 Gb
    Storage #22 TB HGST 7KRPM RAID0
    OS Windows Server 2016 Datacenter
    NeoBeum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    Hi, I've been using a 950 since late 2015, and Windows will screw up every update.
    I'm making a more permanent solution for the older ROG models here: https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...P-OEM-Recovery
    There's a really quick semi permanent solution and that is to:

    Load the secnvme.inf in to the boot.wim Windows Preinstallation Environment.
    If you include that to the install media, you'll be able to install to the PCIE NVMe.



    Just for info
    This is how Windows identifies the ports in WinPE,


    \\************************************************ *************************
    Intel(R) 8 Series/C220 Series PCI Express Root Port #5 - 8C18

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_8C18&SUBSYS_171D1043&REV_D5\3&115 83659&0&E4

    \_SB.PCI0.RP05
    PCIROOT(0)#PCI(1C04)
    ACPI(_SB_)#ACPI(PCI0)#ACPI(RP05)

    \\************************************************ *************************

    \\************************************************ *************************
    Samsung NVMe Controller

    PCI\VEN_144D&DEV_A802&SUBSYS_A801144D&REV_01\4&17C 5C7ED&0&00E4

    \_SB.PCI0.RP05.PXSX
    PCIROOT(0)#PCI(1C04)#PCI(0000)
    ACPI(_SB_)#ACPI(PCI0)#ACPI(RP05)#ACPI(PXSX)
    ACPI(_SB_)#ACPI(PCI0)#ACPI(RP05)#ACPI(SSD1)

    \\************************************************ *************************

    \\************************************************ *************************
    Intel(R) 8 Series Chipset Family SATA AHCI Controller

    PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_8C03&SUBSYS_171D1043&REV_05\3&115 83659&0&FA

    \_SB.PCI0.SAT0
    PCIROOT(0)#PCI(1F02)
    ACPI(_SB_)#ACPI(PCI0)#ACPI(SAT0)

    \\************************************************ *************************

    Available ports on G751

    \_SB.PCI0.RP05 - PCIE NVMe
    \_SB.PCI0.SAT0.PRT0 - Primary Bay
    \_SB.PCI0.SAT0.PRT2 - Optical
    \_SB.PCI0.SAT0.PRT3 - Secondary Bay


    Then, in Windows

    NVMe Samsung SSD 950 SCSI Disk Device
    Disk ID: {499AE275-841C-421F-88A9-F1FFA5664C76}
    Type : NVMe
    Status : Online
    Path : 0
    Target : 0
    LUN ID : 0
    Location Path : PCIROOT(0)#PCI(1C04)#PCI(0000)#NVME(P00T00L00)
    Current Read-only State : No
    Read-only : No
    Boot Disk : No
    Pagefile Disk : No
    Hibernation File Disk : No
    Crashdump Disk : No
    Clustered Disk : No

    Volume ### Ltr Label Fs Type Size Status Info
    ---------- --- ----------- ----- ---------- ------- --------- --------
    Volume 0 C NB-OS NTFS Partition 213 GB Healthy
    Volume 1 Recovery NTFS Partition 450 MB Healthy Hidden
    Volume 2 FAT32 Partition 99 MB Healthy Hidden
    Volume 3 F NTFS Partition 503 MB Healthy Hidden
    <img src="eckyeckypoobah.gif" onerror="alert('An error occurred loading the image.')" />

  4. #14
    nb Array NeoBeum PC Specs
    NeoBeum PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY
    MotherboardHM87
    Processori7-4860HQ
    Memory (part number)32Gb Kingston Hyper-X
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX980M
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256 Gb, Samsung 850 Pro 512 Gb
    Storage #22 TB HGST 7KRPM RAID0
    OS Windows Server 2016 Datacenter
    NeoBeum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    This is the sort of thing that can happen if Windows is being stupid
    http://i.imgur.com/APKM9Bk.jpg
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	APKM9Bk.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	262.1 KB 
ID:	66373

    This is the drive after 3TB of usage Click image for larger version. 

Name:	12391064_1719799574920423_5770968488191767046_n.jpg 
Views:	50 
Size:	42.4 KB 
ID:	66374

    If I do a proper bench, the drive can get to 2000MB / 1300MB
    Last edited by NeoBeum; 07-31-2017 at 10:24 AM.
    <img src="eckyeckypoobah.gif" onerror="alert('An error occurred loading the image.')" />

  5. #15
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,182

    Hmm mine runs pretty good on the IRST driver
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-07-24_G752VY.png 
Views:	51 
Size:	38.8 KB 
ID:	66378
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  6. #16
    nb Array NeoBeum PC Specs
    NeoBeum PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY
    MotherboardHM87
    Processori7-4860HQ
    Memory (part number)32Gb Kingston Hyper-X
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX980M
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256 Gb, Samsung 850 Pro 512 Gb
    Storage #22 TB HGST 7KRPM RAID0
    OS Windows Server 2016 Datacenter
    NeoBeum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    Hmm mine runs pretty good on the IRST driver
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	2017-07-24_G752VY.png 
Views:	51 
Size:	38.8 KB 
ID:	66378
    Yeah, those are the numbers I get in a test environment, but I haven't done one in a while. Are they the 14.8 RST drivers? Highest I get is 2200/1400

    Have you put a 850 Pro on rapid mode with Crystal Mark? It's kind of funny
    Last edited by NeoBeum; 08-01-2017 at 06:19 AM.
    <img src="eckyeckypoobah.gif" onerror="alert('An error occurred loading the image.')" />

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Clintlgm PC Specs
    Clintlgm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY DH72
    MotherboardAsus Z97 Pro WiFi and /Z97 Pro A
    ProcessorI7 4790K
    Storage #1512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    Storage #21 TB Samsun 850 Pro
    CaseCool Master Haf
    OS Win 8.1 Pro and Win 10 Pro
    Clintlgm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Reputation
    111
    Posts
    4,182

    I have no Idea, what ever RST Driver Asus had installed windows with. I have not changed my Original OS other than to add PRO.

    I would suggest you use the one in your eSupport folder unless you get better advise from more that one person here in this forum. I haven't looked but if several people are using a newer IRST drive and it works better you could try it.

    My reading were with everything running that I use everyday, MS Office 2013 Pro Plus, 8 Gadget Pack with 4 gadgets running, Malwarebytes Pro, Norton Security Premium, Power PDF and others, I guess If I ran AS in safe mode my scores would be quite a bit faster?

    I did have a SATA 850 pro in my G75 and played around with rapid mode, its really a false flag doesn't really do much except give you great benchmark scores. With the NVMe 960's and RST drivers we can't access Samsung Magician. So far I haven't missed it at all. Windows 10 handles trim, magician is not really needed for anything. I haven't heard of any Firmware updates that make any noticeable difference.
    G752VY-DH72 Win 10 Pro
    512 GB M.2 Samsung 960 Pro
    1 TB Samsung 850 pro 2.5 format
    980m GTX 4 GB
    32GB DDR 4 Standard RAM

    Z97 PRO WiFi I7 4790K
    Windows 10 Pro
    Z97 -A
    Windows 10 Pro

  8. #18
    nb Array NeoBeum PC Specs
    NeoBeum PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY
    MotherboardHM87
    Processori7-4860HQ
    Memory (part number)32Gb Kingston Hyper-X
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX980M
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256 Gb, Samsung 850 Pro 512 Gb
    Storage #22 TB HGST 7KRPM RAID0
    OS Windows Server 2016 Datacenter
    NeoBeum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    I'll grab my main drive and do a screeny for you.. I haven't had a problem with anything, unless I do an update. Windows always manages to change the Intel SATA/AHCI driver for me, even if I say never update hardware. Back in 30mins


    edit: by update I mean, 1506 - 1511 - 1607 - 1703
    <img src="eckyeckypoobah.gif" onerror="alert('An error occurred loading the image.')" />

  9. #19
    nb Array NeoBeum PC Specs
    NeoBeum PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY
    MotherboardHM87
    Processori7-4860HQ
    Memory (part number)32Gb Kingston Hyper-X
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX980M
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256 Gb, Samsung 850 Pro 512 Gb
    Storage #22 TB HGST 7KRPM RAID0
    OS Windows Server 2016 Datacenter
    NeoBeum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    Quote Originally Posted by Clintlgm View Post
    I did have a SATA 850 pro in my G75 and played around with rapid mode.


    Must be the 960s... I can access Samsung Magician with both of my drives, the 850 Pro and 950 Pro

    I have the Hitachi's in RAID 0 too. Those aren't in at the moment, as I'm doing that recovery project, so the optical bay is empty right now

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	SSD.PNG 
Views:	8 
Size:	375.7 KB 
ID:	66403

    It's actually really useful for me, because I do Android projects in VirtualBox, so I am constantly transferring VirtualDrives - I did a cut and paste of a 2GB system image once, going from 850 to RAID and the file disappeared... and I wondered where it went because I didn't see a dialog box... I checked the 850, the file was gone.. and I thought I deleted it. Then I checked my storage... and there it was.

    You need to run Windows in to a almost SafeMode - if it blocks the drivers then something probably isn't happening correctly... I don't trust computers anymore.

    The reason the 14.x driver is on right now is because of what I told you - the 1703 update - which forced my hand, so I put Windows Server 2016 on to the G751 so I can rebuild something and provision a Custom Windows Image that Microsoft is less likely to change.

    Secure Boot is on right now for me - but I turn that off during installation so I can load the secnvme.inf - or in my case it was the 1.0 driver originally - nvme.inf.

    The 2.2 driver won't be able to be preloaded - because it's not properly signed. However - the 1.1 driver is - and this is what I'm going to be using for the Recovery Project. Then I just tell windows to load the 2.2 during the other configuration passes.


    EDIT: I just realised - this could be the reason why it's broken for you - because the 1.1 you can't use(960), and 2 and 2.2 aren't signed properly for boot critical. Maybe we could get ASUS to tell Samsung to release another driver
    Last edited by NeoBeum; 08-01-2017 at 05:37 AM.
    <img src="eckyeckypoobah.gif" onerror="alert('An error occurred loading the image.')" />

  10. #20
    nb Array NeoBeum PC Specs
    NeoBeum PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G751JY
    MotherboardHM87
    Processori7-4860HQ
    Memory (part number)32Gb Kingston Hyper-X
    Graphics Card #1nVidia GTX980M
    Storage #1Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 256 Gb, Samsung 850 Pro 512 Gb
    Storage #22 TB HGST 7KRPM RAID0
    OS Windows Server 2016 Datacenter
    NeoBeum's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    175

    the 850 is in the secondary bay, usually its under my nvme... but I just noticed thisClick image for larger version. 

Name:	DSC_0002.jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	361.4 KB 
ID:	66404

    I'll also mention this for anyone else just incase they didn't know:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	1 
Size:	57.9 KB 
ID:	66405


    When Windows does major updates to your machine - during the process - it converts all the drivers in the driverstore to oem#####.inf

    This is another way to check to see which drivers have been added - but also which ones have rolled back to something they shouldn't have.

    In my case - the 96th driver added was the driver configuration created on the 30/7/2017... which was 2 days ago, when I was swapping drives getting some files off of my old system so I could work on them in the Server 2016 system
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture1.1PNG.PNG 
Views:	42 
Size:	42.3 KB 
ID:	66406

    This is what it's meant to be...
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture3.PNG 
Views:	42 
Size:	19.2 KB 
ID:	66407

    which changes my stuff back to
    ; Copyright (c) 2003-09 Intel Corporation
    ; ************************************************** **************************
    ; ************************************************** **************************
    ; ** Filename: iaStorV.INF
    ; ** Revision: Version 8.6.2.1023
    ; ** Date: 08/08/2010
    ; ** Abstract: Windows* 7* INF File for Intel(R) Matrix Storage Manager Driver
    ; ************************************************** **************************
    ; ************************************************** **************************
    ; Copyright (C), Intel Corporation. All rights reserved.
    ; ************************************************** ********************************************
    ; ** Filename: iaStorAV.inf
    ; ** Revision: 12/17/2014,13.2.0.1018
    ; ** Abstract: Windows* INF File for AHCI Intel(R) Rapid Storage Technology Driver
    ; ** Installs: RST AHCI RAID Controller Miniport + RST Filter Driver
    ; ************************************************** ********************************************
    When it should be
    ; Copyright (C), Intel Corporation. All rights reserved.
    ; ************************************************** ********************************************
    ; ** Filename: iaAHCIC.inf
    ; ** Revision: 07/27/2015,14.6.0.1029
    ; ** Abstract: Windows* INF File for AHCI Intel(R) Rapid Storage Technology Driver
    ; ** Installs: RST AHCI Controller Miniport
    ; ************************************************** ********************************************

    But I loaded the 14.8 ones for the creators update... I don't know... I give up


    (EDIT: I got the numbers wrong - 14.8, not 16... Been loading too many different drivers across multiple platforms... i think the 16's were for Server. 14.8 is the Consumer platform.) probably doesn't help that i dont have my raid drives in right now either
    Last edited by NeoBeum; 08-01-2017 at 06:31 AM.
    <img src="eckyeckypoobah.gif" onerror="alert('An error occurred loading the image.')" />

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •