Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    ROG Enthusiast Array Daggi PC Specs
    Daggi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme & Rampage V 10 Edition
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K & Intel Core i7 6900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 F4-2400c15q2-64GRK & F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti Gaming with EK waterblock
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX1080 FTW with EK waterblock
    MonitorASUS PB 278 Q & ASUS PB 278 QR
    Storage #1Intel 750 SSD 400GB PCIe 3.0 HHHL & Intel 530 SSD
    Storage #22 X WD Green 3 TB & WD Red 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO+ mobo Kit & EK RV10 full cover block
    CaseCorsair 900D & Caselabs THW10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200 i & Corsair AX 1500 i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 & Logitech G810 Orion
    Mouse Logitech 502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440 Hard Gaming Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT 68 AC
    Daggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Rampage v 10 ed. Bios flashback and GPU trouble

    Hello
    I'm having trouble with my R5E10 board. USB bios flashback wont work on my board. I have tried many different usb sticks and nothing happens when i press the flashback button. I have to use the EZ flash methode to flash a new bios. I'm also having trouble with my EVGA gtx 1080. I did reboot my computer, and now i dont get a signal on my monitors. Im using DP on both my monitors. added a GTX 980 ti in pcie slot 3 and that works fine with DP Also tried it in slot 2 and it works fine. It seems that my PCIe slot 1 is disconnected if not defect. Tried the GTX 1080 in a another computer and it works fine. So is there any way to fix this or do I have to RMA the board..

    Mobo: R510E
    SSD: 240GB intel
    Gpu: EVGA GTX 1080 FTW watercooled
    Cpu: 6900K
    Power: AXi 1500
    RAM: G.Skill F4-3000C15-8GRK

    Everything runs at stock speed while troubleshooting

    Edit :

    OK so I have done some troubleshooting, and my GTX 980 ti and GTX 1080 works fine in all other PCIe slots except slot 1, have both connected and up and running.

    Edit 2:

    Had a old GTX 730 PCIe 8x card lying around, mounted it in the first slot, gtx 980 ti in slot 2 and gtx 1080 in slot 3. and all cards works just fine. Strange that a x8 card works but not a x16 card. So today I removed all the cards and installed the 1080 in slot 1, and out off all wonders it came to life again. I really don't know why but at least the PCIe slot is working again. But I can't get the bios flashback function to work

    Edit 3: I had to RMA my board.
    Last edited by Daggi; 01-21-2017 at 10:06 AM. Reason: RMA

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Can you explain in detail how you're setting up your USB pendrive for the USB BIOS Flashback procedure?

  3. #3
    ROG Enthusiast Array Daggi PC Specs
    Daggi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme & Rampage V 10 Edition
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K & Intel Core i7 6900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 F4-2400c15q2-64GRK & F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti Gaming with EK waterblock
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX1080 FTW with EK waterblock
    MonitorASUS PB 278 Q & ASUS PB 278 QR
    Storage #1Intel 750 SSD 400GB PCIe 3.0 HHHL & Intel 530 SSD
    Storage #22 X WD Green 3 TB & WD Red 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO+ mobo Kit & EK RV10 full cover block
    CaseCorsair 900D & Caselabs THW10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200 i & Corsair AX 1500 i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 & Logitech G810 Orion
    Mouse Logitech 502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440 Hard Gaming Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT 68 AC
    Daggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    I formatted a usb stick with fat 32 and i followed this Guide
    renamed the the bios file to R5E10.CAP and copied it to the pendrive

    I'm using the same pendrive as I use on my Rampave V board, it works flawlessly on that board, as I tried it to se if the pendrive is OK. connected it in the usb slot for flashback and pressing the flashback button for 3-4 seconds, but nothing happens and no bios led is blinking either.
    Last edited by Daggi; 01-14-2017 at 07:30 PM. Reason: added info

  4. #4
    ROG Enthusiast Array CMDRZOD PC Specs
    CMDRZOD PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V Extreme
    Processori7 6950x 4.3Ghz 1.3V
    Memory (part number)Gskill Trident 32GB 3200Mhz 13-13-13-32 1.35V
    Graphics Card #1Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #2Aorus 1080Ti Extreme Waterblock Edition +50 Core +625 GDDR5
    Graphics Card #3Aorus HB SLI Bridge RGB
    Sound CardOnboard Realtek HD Audio
    MonitorUN65HU9000 4k TV with SEK-3500
    Storage #1RAID 0 4x 4TB Seagate Blue SSHD
    Storage #2Intel 750 PCIE 1.2TB NVME
    CPU CoolerEK Monoblock
    CaseCaseLabs Magnum M10 Doublewide
    Power SupplyCorsair 1500Axi
    Keyboard Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Mouse Wireless Microsoft 3000v2
    Headset Astro Gaming A50 wireless
    Mouse Pad Minecraft pad!
    Headset/Speakers Logitech 5.1 THX 300 watt using optical output
    OS Win 10 64 FCU
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC66U Merlin FW
    Accessory #1 Club3D DP 1.2 to HDMI 2.0 Active converter for TV
    Accessory #2 Phanteks PWM Fan Controller x2
    Accessory #3 Upgraded OC Front panel

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Have you checked the PCIE DIPS?

    I've got the RVE and its got the four DIP switches at the top left to enable/disable PCIE slots. Are you sure theyre in the right positions (If the RVE10 has them?)?

    As for the BIOS flashback, sounds bad to me if you have a RVE and it works fine on that board. Maybe you're in the wrong USB?

  5. #5
    ROG Enthusiast Array Daggi PC Specs
    Daggi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme & Rampage V 10 Edition
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K & Intel Core i7 6900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 F4-2400c15q2-64GRK & F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti Gaming with EK waterblock
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX1080 FTW with EK waterblock
    MonitorASUS PB 278 Q & ASUS PB 278 QR
    Storage #1Intel 750 SSD 400GB PCIe 3.0 HHHL & Intel 530 SSD
    Storage #22 X WD Green 3 TB & WD Red 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO+ mobo Kit & EK RV10 full cover block
    CaseCorsair 900D & Caselabs THW10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200 i & Corsair AX 1500 i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 & Logitech G810 Orion
    Mouse Logitech 502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440 Hard Gaming Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT 68 AC
    Daggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by CMDRZOD View Post
    I've got the RVE and its got the four DIP switches at the top left to enable/disable PCIE slots. Are you sure theyre in the right positions (If the RVE10 has them?)?

    As for the BIOS flashback, sounds bad to me if you have a RVE and it works fine on that board. Maybe you're in the wrong USB?
    Yes the switches are in the right position. And the usb stick is in the usb bios flashback port on the back of the motherboard. Ez flash works fine from within the bios but not the flashback way. It seems that some functions dont work on my board I also cleaned a pendrive with diskpart, created a new partition and formatted, copied the bios file and still a no go
    Last edited by Daggi; 01-14-2017 at 07:51 PM.

  6. #6
    ROG Enthusiast Array Daggi PC Specs
    Daggi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme & Rampage V 10 Edition
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K & Intel Core i7 6900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 F4-2400c15q2-64GRK & F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti Gaming with EK waterblock
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX1080 FTW with EK waterblock
    MonitorASUS PB 278 Q & ASUS PB 278 QR
    Storage #1Intel 750 SSD 400GB PCIe 3.0 HHHL & Intel 530 SSD
    Storage #22 X WD Green 3 TB & WD Red 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO+ mobo Kit & EK RV10 full cover block
    CaseCorsair 900D & Caselabs THW10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200 i & Corsair AX 1500 i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 & Logitech G810 Orion
    Mouse Logitech 502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440 Hard Gaming Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT 68 AC
    Daggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Have been testing different USB flash drives today, all of them between 8 and 16 GB. All cleaned and configured with Diskpart. Can't get the bios flashback to work. Tried to hold the flashback button for a minute, but nothing helps. Now I'm out off ideas....

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Daggi View Post
    I formatted a usb stick with fat 32 and i followed this Guide
    renamed the the bios file to R5E10.CAP and copied it to the pendrive

    I'm using the same pendrive as I use on my Rampave V board, it works flawlessly on that board, as I tried it to se if the pendrive is OK. connected it in the usb slot for flashback and pressing the flashback button for 3-4 seconds, but nothing happens and no bios led is blinking either.
    Make sure you're not renaming it to R5E10.CAP.CAP by mistake. Also can you indicate which USB port you're using?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array Daggi PC Specs
    Daggi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme & Rampage V 10 Edition
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K & Intel Core i7 6900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 F4-2400c15q2-64GRK & F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti Gaming with EK waterblock
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX1080 FTW with EK waterblock
    MonitorASUS PB 278 Q & ASUS PB 278 QR
    Storage #1Intel 750 SSD 400GB PCIe 3.0 HHHL & Intel 530 SSD
    Storage #22 X WD Green 3 TB & WD Red 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO+ mobo Kit & EK RV10 full cover block
    CaseCorsair 900D & Caselabs THW10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200 i & Corsair AX 1500 i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 & Logitech G810 Orion
    Mouse Logitech 502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440 Hard Gaming Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT 68 AC
    Daggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Make sure you're not renaming it to R5E10.CAP.CAP by mistake. Also can you indicate which USB port you're using?
    Yes I'm sure that i have named the file right. Even tried with the renaming utility, Flashed many Bios files on my RVE board but never had any trouble on that mobo. Tried with FAT32 and NTFS formatted pendrive. Maybe it is the flashback button that is broken or defect?? Since EZ flash method within the bios works great.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	R5AyRsU.jpg 
Views:	6 
Size:	130.2 KB 
ID:	61903

    I'm using the usb bios flashback port on the motherboard, the one next to the keybot port.
    Last edited by Daggi; 01-16-2017 at 08:31 PM.

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    2

    post removed due to cousins request
    Last edited by needinghelp; 01-19-2017 at 05:21 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Enthusiast Array Daggi PC Specs
    Daggi PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Rampage V Extreme & Rampage V 10 Edition
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 5930K & Intel Core i7 6900K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Ripjaws 4 F4-2400c15q2-64GRK & F4-3000C15Q-32GRK
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 980 Ti Gaming with EK waterblock
    Graphics Card #2EVGA GTX1080 FTW with EK waterblock
    MonitorASUS PB 278 Q & ASUS PB 278 QR
    Storage #1Intel 750 SSD 400GB PCIe 3.0 HHHL & Intel 530 SSD
    Storage #22 X WD Green 3 TB & WD Red 3 TB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy EVO+ mobo Kit & EK RV10 full cover block
    CaseCorsair 900D & Caselabs THW10
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200 i & Corsair AX 1500 i
    Keyboard Corsair K70 & Logitech G810 Orion
    Mouse Logitech 502 Proteus Core
    Headset Logitech G430
    Mouse Pad Logitech G440 Hard Gaming Mouse Pad
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-906
    OS Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
    Network RouterASUS RT 68 AC
    Daggi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    31

    Quote Originally Posted by needinghelp View Post
    In my case , i had to hold both buttons. After that, it worked.

    edit also wanted to point out that im also suffering a lot of random issues with the displayport monitor i got recently. like no image during the bug, random black screen etc. idk if its a problem with the monitor or a problem with the mother.
    I'll try both buttons when i get home. My problem is that I loose the monitor signal at a reboot, both times it happened I had to remove my GTX1080 and replace it with my old GT730. That card is PCIe x8. Really don't know why it helps to switch those two cards. It's annoying since I have to drain my loop when it happens

Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •