Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array Mazinga PC Specs
    Mazinga PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS STRIX Z270E GAMING
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 6700K 4,0GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2x8GB) / 2666MHz
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1080Ti AMP Extreme
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278QR
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 750 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2Samsung SSD 750 EVO 250GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro H115i
    CaseFractal Design Define R5 Black Pearl
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x
    Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Chroma V2
    Mouse Razer DeathAdder Elite
    Headset Logitech G933 Artemis
    Mouse Pad Roccat Taito King Size 3mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z-5500 THX-Certified 5.1
    OS Win 10 64bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-N66U

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    21

    Question Asus Setup or Setup?

    When I download new updates like "Utilities"
    there are always two allternativ setups.
    1.AsusSetup
    2.Setup

    What should you run
    I'm confused.
    Miniatura de Adjuntos Miniatura de Adjuntos Setup.jpg  


  2. #2

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    11

    I've always wondered this myself. My post people say to use ASUSSetup, although never specify why. Nobody can ever seem to give a real answer.

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    1,330

    I use the Asussetup one. and force run as administrator. Be sure always extract the file, once the download is complete.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array haihane PC Specs
    haihane PC Specs
    MotherboardCrosshair V Formula Z
    ProcessorAMD FX 8350
    Memory (part number)Gskill F3-2400C10-8GTX
    Graphics Card #1ASUS HD 6950
    Storage #1WD Velociraptor 1TB
    Storage #2Corsair Neutron GTX 120GB SSD
    CPU CoolerCooler Master Seidon 120XL
    CaseCooler Master Silencio 650
    Power SupplyCorsair HX850
    Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G500
    OS Windows 7 X64
    Network RouterLinksys E2500
    haihane's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    106
    Posts
    609

    Quote Originally Posted by Mac5555 View Post
    I've always wondered this myself. My post people say to use ASUSSetup, although never specify why. Nobody can ever seem to give a real answer.
    You are right. I don't know myself why I had to click that asussetup.exe

    Probably placebo effect. Asus added stuff to the setup folder, they must have customized it to the unit's use.


    (Posting as bookmarking, in case someone has a clearer explanation than my gut feeling )
    no siggy, saw stuff that made me sad.

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Blue Belt Array davemon50 PC Specs
    davemon50 PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G752VY-DH72 (17") and Asus G752VT-DH74 (17")
    MotherboardAsus ROG LGA2011-v3 Rampage V Edition 10, x99 EATX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7-6950X Extreme 10-core 25MB Cache 3.0 GHz
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red DDR4 DRAM 64GB-4x16 3333 (CMK64GX4M4B3333C16R)
    Graphics Card #1Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Graphics Card #2Sapphire Nitro Radeon R9 Fury 4GB HBM Backplate
    Sound CardAsus SupremeFX Hi-Fi Audio DAC
    Monitor(2) Dell UltraSharp U2515H 25-inch monitors
    Storage #1(3) SSD's - Samsung 960 1TB M.2, Intel 535 480G, Intel 510 250G
    Storage #2(3) HDD's - Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB 3.5-in SATA III 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H80
    CaseCorsair Obsidian Series 650D Black, ATX, Mid Tower
    Power SupplyCorsair Digital AXi-Series AX1200i (1200W) 80+ Platinum Rating
    Keyboard Logitech Wireless K360
    Mouse Logitech Wireless MX Anywhere 2
    Headset HyperX Cloud II
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit
    davemon50's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    45
    Posts
    999

    ASUS:

    Can we please get a Readme.txt file included with all driver update ZIP files that explains the correct installation procedures and which files to run? I cannot understand why such a thing would be omitted.

    Pretty please ?
    Davemon50

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,547

    I always click the program/driver installer exe. file, I have a had a problem a couple times in the past using the ASUS installer.exe and every time I would start my PC it would come up with the ASUS installer trying to install and would have to ctrl alt delet and shut it down, sometimes using the driver disk and reinstalling drivers would eliminate the issue
    I could be insanely wrong but maybe the ASUS installer.exe file is part of the automatic install when you insert your driver disk and it will auto install all your drivers unattended, maybe it is checking your hardware to verify your not installing an incompatible driver , really a shot in the dark as I know less than nothing about drivers, programs, code, etc.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •