Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    gardens nove

    Quote Originally Posted by xherics View Post
    If your RAM has JEDEC 2400MHz, so basic frequency on 2400, probably your system can not POST.

    I tried 2 examples of Maximus IX Code, 2 examples of CPU, with more types of RAMs with basic 2400MHz, neither worked correctly.

    But RAMs with JEDEC 2133MHz worked well immediately.

    Do you have an error on your MB Q-code LED with NR 55 ?

    The RAM QVL list has included so many JEDEC 2400MHz RAMs, but I suppose, that the BIOS with the true support is not yet releaset.

    Formula and Code are the same MBs, just the Formula has water cooling cells...
    It's 2133. But i do have that Q code. And it works at 4000Mhz. Just can't reach 4133
    Last edited by bn880; 01-24-2017 at 10:53 PM.

  2. #12
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    It comes down to the IMC, too. Can be some variance at these speeds. What's code does it display when it fails to POST?

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    It comes down to the IMC, too. Can be some variance at these speeds. What's code does it display when it fails to POST?
    Q 55 Memory not installed

    Ah that's the code the previous user mentioned, but anyway, it's not 2400 default ram.
    SO is that DRAM you think, or CPU?
    Last edited by bn880; 01-24-2017 at 10:54 PM.

  4. #14
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Difficult to say. Maybe opt for a DDR4-3600 kit if that's where things are comfortable.

  5. #15
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,823

    Quote Originally Posted by xherics View Post
    If your RAM has JEDEC 2400MHz, so basic frequency on 2400, probably your system can not POST.

    I tried 2 examples of Maximus IX Code, 2 examples of CPU, with more types of RAMs with basic 2400MHz, neither worked correctly.

    But RAMs with JEDEC 2133MHz worked well immediately.

    Do you have an error on your MB Q-code LED with NR 55 ?

    The RAM QVL list has included so many JEDEC 2400MHz RAMs, but I suppose, that the BIOS with the true support is not yet releaset.

    Formula and Code are the same MBs, just the Formula has water cooling cells...
    What kits were you trying initially?

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    48

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    What kits were you trying initially?
    The first test was with Kingston 32GB KIT DDR4 SDRAM 3200MHz CL16 HyperX Predator Series JEDEC2400 PN: HX432C16PB3K4/32 - tested with 2 packages. I purchased this RAM for my new PC, it did not work so I got exchanged it, piece for piece as DOA. Then I borrowed from a repair center of the shop another piece of 7700k for tests. It was 30€ for a day to borrow it...

    Second test with Kingston 32 GB KIT DDR4 3000 MHz CL16 HyperX Predator Series PN: HX430C15PB3K2/32 JEDEC2400 - tested one package.

    Then I borrowed from the repair center of the shop where I purchased the RAMs before one G-SKILL and one CORSAIR memories with SPD/JEDEC2400, I did not write the exact types, models.

    Then I got from them Kingston 32GB KIT DDR4 SDRAM 2800MHz CL14 HyperX Savage Black JEDEC2133 P/N: HX428C14SB2K4/32 to test, it worked.

    After this I borrowed again 2 Corsair RAMs with 2133MHz, and one Patriot RAM with 2133MHz, they worked without problems and with activated XPM profiles between 2800 and 3200MHz.
    Last edited by xherics; 01-25-2017 at 03:14 PM.

  7. #17
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    30

    Arrow

    FI: I am RMA'ing the 4133 Trident Z sticks, will let you know how it pans out. Also found out while they could do 4000Mhz, any CPU OC became unstable with that. Had to throw them back to 3600Mhz to get the CPU above 4.4GHz on all cores even. So, most likely it's the sticks , and hopefully not the IMC.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hello to all
    I also wanted to buy the maximus ix formula with the memorie of [B]G.Skill f4-4133c19D16GTZR
    but talking with the technicians have advised me to use the GTZR up at the frequency of 4000MHz
    only maximus ix apex supports the memories of the past 4000MHz G.Skill

  9. #19
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    One thing Ive come to realize. Ram is a delicate balance. All the speed in the world isnt going to improve anything when the latency goes up higher in the ratio than the speed. Great marketing ploy that doesnt amount to a hill of beans in actual performance.

    Im running the 3400Mhz Trident 64GB kit set manually to 3400Mhz and 16-16-16-36 at 1.35V which is what its rated for in the IX formula Works great.

    The 4133 has to much latency IMO at 19-25-25-45 and 1.4V Too lasy to do the equation ATM but pretty much guarantee you the 3400 with the setting I listed above will outperform the 4133 with its XMP settings.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    One thing Ive come to realize. Ram is a delicate balance. All the speed in the world isnt going to improve anything when the latency goes up higher in the ratio than the speed. Great marketing ploy that doesnt amount to a hill of beans in actual performance.

    Im running the 3400Mhz Trident 64GB kit set manually to 3400Mhz and 16-16-16-36 at 1.35V which is what its rated for in the IX formula Works great.

    The 4133 has to much latency IMO at 19-25-25-45 and 1.4V Too lasy to do the equation ATM but pretty much guarantee you the 3400 with the setting I listed above will outperform the 4133 with its XMP settings.

    then you say you should not buy ram from 4000 up ???
    pushing 3600mhz always arrive around 4000 you ???

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •