Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Exclamation 6850K not stable on RealBench. Any stability tips?

    Hi,

    I overclocked my 6850K to 4,5 GHz with the following settings:

    Core Ratio = 4,5 GHz
    CPU Strap = 100 MHz
    BLCK Frequency = 100
    AXV offset = 2
    Min. CPU cache ratio = 34
    Max. CPU cache ratio = 34
    CPU Load-line Calibration = Level 7
    Long duration package power limit = Auto
    short duration package power limit = Auto
    CPU core voltage = 1.35
    CPU cache voltage = 1.15
    CPU input voltage = 1.8

    Memory:
    64 GB at 2.800 MHz
    DRAM voltage = 1.35
    14 - 13 - 13 - 35

    Rest is Auto.

    Realbench seem to be the only stresstest that fails. Looks like it is made for gamer due to heavy CPU and GPU tasks test, right? I will never game on that pc, it is made for video editing and VFX (After Effects). The RB benchmark passes though. Also AIDA64, Prime95 etc...

    Still, what parameter can be further tweaked? What helps to improve stability? Will I ever game in such a stress situation like in realbench in video editing?

    Thanks,
    Alex

  2. #2
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,359

    Hi Alexauwa

    Are you running the benchmark or the stress test in Realbench? I too find the benchmark needs a little more voltage for the encoding test.

    Click stress test beside benchmark and select how many GB of ram you have, the 15 minute test is fine.

    When it says Result HashMatch you passed the test.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Another thing you can do is enter an AVX offset of 2 in the bios, RealBench uses AVX instructions in the test Nate is referring to, this will cause the the CPU to down clock 2 multipliers, or raise vcore if you have the cooling to compensate. It is a good idea to enter an offset value in BW-E and KabyLake systems for daily use
    AVX instructions require more voltage, draws more current and produces more heat

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    Hi Alexauwa

    Are you running the benchmark or the stress test in Realbench? I too find the benchmark needs a little more voltage for the encoding test.

    Click stress test beside benchmark and select how many GB of ram you have, the 15 minute test is fine.

    When it says Result HashMatch you passed the test.
    It this way. I might add additional voltage I guess. I might end up with 1.38 or something I guess just got another 100 MHz. I can run 4.4 GHz at 1.33. Is 1.38 worth the 4.5?

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    Another thing you can do is enter an AVX offset of 2 in the bios, RealBench uses AVX instructions in the test Nate is referring to, this will cause the the CPU to down clock 2 multipliers, or raise vcore if you have the cooling to compensate. It is a good idea to enter an offset value in BW-E and KabyLake systems for daily use
    AVX instructions require more voltage, draws more current and produces more heat
    I got AVX offset 2-3. Still Realbench does not consider AXV settings. That's why the test is so extreme. Are there any other bios tweaks to achieve more stability apart from voltage?

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •