Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Manual voltage, offset or adaptiv mode on X99 board?

    Hi guys,

    I've read lots of different options about the right overclocking mode for core voltage.

    Right now I run my 6850k at 4,4 GHz with 1.34 core voltage at fixed manual. Is this voltage fine to stay fixed on for longtime?

    What voltage mode you guys recommand? What additional settings do I have to adjust? Also in order to save power?

    Thanks,
    ALex
    Last edited by Alexauwa; 01-21-2017 at 12:09 AM.

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,601

    For core voltage adaptive works great on these boards. Allows you to take advantage of Speedstep which is great for reducing voltage when the processor is idle or not working hard...and gives you near-as-dammit instantaneous turbo and all the power you need. Win-win.

    Things have moved on from the day when you needed to disable these options for overclocking.

    For how-to...just in case https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...n-my-Hero-VII-!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Still instand boost?

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    For core voltage adaptive works great on these boards. Allows you to take advantage of Speedstep which is great for reducing voltage when the processor is idle or not working hard...and gives you near-as-dammit instantaneous turbo and all the power you need. Win-win.

    Things have moved on from the day when you needed to disable these options for overclocking.

    For how-to...just in case https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...n-my-Hero-VII-!
    Thank you,*Arne.

    I am just wondering if adaptive mode will give me a delay? I am editing 6k footage that needs all power I got.

    I also set up my cache voltage to 1.15 in manual mode. Shall I leave this fixed or also set to adaptive mode?

    Also set spread spectrum to off?

    *Thanks,
    Alex*

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH II EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 3960X
    Memory (part number)TXBD48G4000HC18FBK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970/960/950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB/Samsung 1TBSSDs
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Dimastech Easy XL...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic 1000 Platinum
    Keyboard Corsair Strafe MK2 ROG Claymore... or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse Corsair M65Pro or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    499
    Posts
    13,601

    I'd set spread spectrum to off, yes.

    The delay...yes there will be one but in the order of micro or mili seconds so I don't think it's going to kill your encoding times

    cache voltage does not work in adaptive mode...some ongoing Intel microcode problem...so leave manual or try offset...

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    I'd set spread spectrum to off, yes.

    The delay...yes there will be one but in the order of micro or mili seconds so I don't think it's going to kill your encoding times

    cache voltage does not work in adaptive mode...some ongoing Intel microcode problem...so leave manual or try offset...
    Thank you*

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •