Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Random Freezes

  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy Random Freezes

    Hi,

    first of all sorry for my english I am not a native speaker.
    I changed my MB about three weeks ago and since a few days my PC freezes randomly and I have been looking for a solution, but I can't get rid of these freezes. The first freeze happened while downloading a new Windows Update (11.01.17). I didn't had much time during the first weeks so maybe the problem exists since I changed the MB.

    My System:
    OS: Windows 10 Pro
    MB: Asus Maximus VIII Hero BIOS 3101
    CPU: i7 6700K non OC
    GPU r9 390 nitro
    RAM: 16 GB Balistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
    SSD: 120 & 250GB Samsung 850 Evo M.2 SSD SM951-NVMe
    HDD: WD Green 3 TB
    PSU: 500 Watt be quiet! Straight Power 10-CM
    Sound: Xonar U7
    Keyboard: Roccat MK Glow
    Mouse: Roccat Nyth


    The freezes happen in Idle and under Load. The screen freezes and I have to use the reset button twice to restart my system. The fist push only turns off the lights of my mouse, keyboard and soundcard and the second push leads to a restart of my system.

    The first freezes didn't allow me to push the reset button (nothing happened) I had to push the power button for about 4 secs. the lights of my peripherals went out instant with these freezes.

    What I did so far:
    -CrystalDisk - 100% good
    -Ram tested with MemTest and the Windows test - no errors
    -BIOS Update (3101)
    -Driver updated
    -High Performance in the energy settings
    -turned off USB selective suspend setting
    -Unchecked all in the network adapter energy options
    -activate/deactivate XMP
    - Intel Diagnostic tool - no failure
    -deactivated Supremefx beacause i have the Xonar U7
    -stressed all non Windows drivers - nothing happened
    -Prime95 Blend Test - one time I got an error with instant freeze and one time only an error without a freeze. The Last run was for about 9hrs without error/freeze
    -and today I reinstalled Win10 but the freezes still happen

    The Eventlog shows nothing but I noticed that it shows wrong shut downs. For example freeze at 5:58AM, restart at 6:34AM and the eventlog says sth. about an unexpected shutdown at 5:44AM but also show a driver update at 5:45.

    Another thing I noticed: My mouse sometimes starts wihtout any lights on, I then have to replug it. One time with wrong colors.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated to find a solution for this problem


    Thank you!
    Kamir

  2. #2
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Lightbulb

    For the record: I recently bought new ram from G.Skill according to some Users here and in other forums the Crucial Ram is the problem. They never had a freeze with new G.Skill sticks.

    I'll test them during the next days and hope the problem is gone!

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Orange Belt Array G75rog PC Specs
    G75rog PC Specs
    MotherboardR VI Apex
    ProcessorI9-7900X
    Memory (part number)64GB Gskill Trident Z
    Graphics Card #1AMD Radeon VII EKWB water block
    Graphics Card #2Waste of PCI lanes in NVME environment
    Sound CardStock
    MonitorLG 34" Ultra Wide3440x1440
    Storage #14ea 960 Pro 2TB, 2ea 970 Evo 2TB
    Storage #21ea 960 Pro 1 TB, 1ea 970 Pro 1TB
    CPU CoolerEKWB CPU, Swiftech Res/pump, 400mm Rad
    CaseThermaltake View 91
    Power SupplyNZXT Hale 90 1200W
    Keyboard Logitech G910
    Mouse Razer Ouroboros
    OS W10 64 1809, 1903, Ubuntu Linux
    Network RouterNetgear R9000 + 4ea R9000 AP's, 10 Gb Switch
    Accessory #1 Hyper M.2 X16 V2
    Accessory #2 10GB network via Intel 550 Nic
    Accessory #3 2 10GB Asustor NAS 7000 series

    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Reputation
    13
    Posts
    292

    The power requirements for your cpu and gpu exceed 400 watts and your 500w supply is too small. A marginal supply will cause erratic operation such as what you have. An 850w supply should be safe for your system.

    Personally I use a 1200w supply on a Max VIII Extreme, I7 6700K, R9 FuryX, 32gb RAM, 6 ssd's, AIO cpu water cooler. The supply runs cool, QUIET, and the system is stable.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    I don't think the PSU is the problem because before changing the mobo I didn't had this problem.

    It seems like the freezes are gone now. Over 15hrs prime and 6hrs of gaming and no freezes so far

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array GotKevlar PC Specs
    GotKevlar PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC)
    Processori7-8700K @ 4.4 Ghz
    Memory (part number)F4-3466C16D-32GTZ (2x16) (XMP On)
    Graphics Card #1ZT-P10800H-10P
    Sound CardSupremeFX 8-Channel HDA CODEC S1220A
    MonitorSamsung 55" Curved
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 970 EVO 250G NVMe M.2
    Storage #2Intel 660p Series M.2 SSDPEKNW020T8X1
    CPU CoolerNZXT RL-KRX42-02
    CaseTT Level 20 VT
    Power SupplyPS-TPG-0850FPCPUS-P
    Keyboard SteelSeries MERC Stealth
    Mouse R2 Omnimouse
    Headset SteelSeries H Wireless
    Mouse Pad KILLENFLOR DECK
    Headset/Speakers Yamaha SR-300
    OS Win 10 Pro X64 1803 (os build 17134.345)
    Network RouterUbiquiti USGv3
    Accessory #1 (1) ThermalTake 200 mm Fan
    GotKevlar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    75

    Quote Originally Posted by Kamir View Post
    For the record: I recently bought new ram from G.Skill according to some Users here and in other forums the Crucial Ram is the problem. They never had a freeze with new G.Skill sticks.

    I'll test them during the next days and hope the problem is gone!
    I run an 850 watt PSU and its more than adequate. Id start leaning toward lack of power. A good power supply is key to system stability. Period.

  6. #6
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    417

    Random-Freezes may has various causes
    Keep updating latest version and the simple troubleshooting
    can try only Mobo+Cpu single Ram and one storage device for stress testing

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •