Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 64
  1. #21
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    (Sorry to interrupt, lol)

    It seems like your i7-6800K has weak iMCs. Your 4x8GB DDR4-3200 kit has four double-sided sticks (electrically equivalent to populating your mobo with 8 single-sided sticks with 4GB densities) which might just be too much for borderline iMCs to handle, even when running at iMC-rated DDR4-2400 speeds. If so, then no settings will ever get your system "stable" without excessive voltages (and even those may not be sufficient). Only way to be sure is to test with a different i7-6800K or to test your DDR4 kit in another machine.

    Or it seems like your DDR4 kit has a bad stick. (Or worse, that your Strix mobo has a bad DIMM slot.) Run full burn-in tests on the memory, one stick at a time, at stock and at desired overclock settings - if there's a bad one, you'll easily be able to identify it. Sometimes there's no bad sticks but there's "slightly weak" ones which will (inexplicably) run stable when reseated or when swapped around different DIMM slots. You should also try cleaning the electrical contacts on your DIMMs, it can help.

  2. #22
    ROG Enthusiast Array Exerqtor PC Specs
    Exerqtor PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 Strix
    ProcessorIntel i7-6800K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (8GBx4) 3200MHz 14-14-14-34
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Maxwell)
    MonitorMicroboard M340CLZ
    Storage #1500Gb Samsung 960 EVO M.2
    Storage #2500Gb Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCustom loop watercooling
    CaseThermaltake Core-P5 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB
    Headset Razer BlackShark
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    That was a lot to take in lol. Uhm, but if a DIMM slot is bad shouldn't the problem be present all the time?

  3. #23
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Buellersdayoff PC Specs
    Buellersdayoff PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus viii Hero
    ProcessorI7 7700k delidded 4.9ghz @ 1.4v
    Memory (part number)Corsair led 4x8gb 3200
    Graphics Card #1GTX 1080ti MSI Gaming X
    Sound CardOnboard + Hyperx usb
    MonitorAcer X34 Predator
    Storage #1Samsung 950pro nvme
    Storage #2Samsung 840 ssd + 2tb hdd
    CPU CoolerCryorig R1 Universal
    CaseThermaltake View 31 TG mesh front panel mod
    Power SupplyCorsair rm850x
    Keyboard G910
    Mouse G502
    Headset Hyper x cloud II
    Mouse Pad H440
    Headset/Speakers Edifier R1280t
    OS Win 10
    Network RouterNetgear x8 R8500

    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    117

    Any Q codes when it does not boot? Possible to try flash back to previous bios version? Try run the ram @ 3000 mhz

  4. #24
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    Quote Originally Posted by Exerqtor View Post
    That was a lot to take in lol. Uhm, but if a DIMM slot is bad shouldn't the problem be present all the time?
    Yes, a bad DIMM slot on the mobo would generate faults on any DIMM stick plugged into it. The odds of a mobo passing QA and reaching the end-user with a defective DIMM slot are astronomically small, a very rare problem in any case, most likely somehow caused by user damage if present at all.
    It's not impossible but it's pretty safe to rule it out. Still, repeated memory tests will show you if any faults which occur always occur in a particular DIMM slot (assuming these faults only occur during specific conditions not present during mobo post/Q-Code checks).

    Bad DDR4 sticks or kits are pretty rare, too, especially at the highest bins. But it seems like defective pieces do happen to someone almost every day.

    Dirty electrical contacts are fairly common. Mostly "invisible" fingerprint oils and debris which collect on the sticks when they're (mis)handled a lot. DeoxIT or electrical-grade isopropyl are best, I prefer Stabilant-22 because it actually "enhances" signal connections by depositing a thin coating of conductive polymer, it sort of fills voids/gaps to increase bulk electrical conductivity in a way analogous to how TIMs fill voids/gaps to increase bulk thermal conductivity. It may seem trivial but every microvolt and every nanosecond (and every centimeter of circuit traces) affects DDR4 latencies/timings, lol.

  5. #25
    ROG Enthusiast Array Exerqtor PC Specs
    Exerqtor PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 Strix
    ProcessorIntel i7-6800K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (8GBx4) 3200MHz 14-14-14-34
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Maxwell)
    MonitorMicroboard M340CLZ
    Storage #1500Gb Samsung 960 EVO M.2
    Storage #2500Gb Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCustom loop watercooling
    CaseThermaltake Core-P5 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB
    Headset Razer BlackShark
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Buellersdayoff View Post
    Any Q codes when it does not boot? Possible to try flash back to previous bios version? Try run the ram @ 3000 mhz
    It powers down to fast to generate any Q codes, so no :/ But i have hoped that it might come another BIOS update soon that i could try.

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    Yes, a bad DIMM slot on the mobo would generate faults on any DIMM stick plugged into it. The odds of a mobo passing QA and reaching the end-user with a defective DIMM slot are astronomically small, a very rare problem in any case, most likely somehow caused by user damage if present at all.
    It's not impossible but it's pretty safe to rule it out. Still, repeated memory tests will show you if any faults which occur always occur in a particular DIMM slot (assuming these faults only occur during specific conditions not present during mobo post/Q-Code checks).

    Bad DDR4 sticks or kits are pretty rare, too, especially at the highest bins. But it seems like defective pieces do happen to someone almost every day.

    Dirty electrical contacts are fairly common. Mostly "invisible" fingerprint oils and debris which collect on the sticks when they're (mis)handled a lot. DeoxIT or electrical-grade isopropyl are best, I prefer Stabilant-22 because it actually "enhances" signal connections by depositing a thin coating of conductive polymer, it sort of fills voids/gaps to increase bulk electrical conductivity in a way analogous to how TIMs fill voids/gaps to increase bulk thermal conductivity. It may seem trivial but every microvolt and every nanosecond (and every centimeter of circuit traces) affects DDR4 latencies/timings, lol.
    Uhm ok, i have allready gotten one bad RAM kit for this build ( running two 2x8gb kits). So apparently it does happen :P haha

    But i'll bump up system agent and vccio to 1,2 and the ram to 1.4V. If it still goes s**t i'll atleast take out and swap arround the ram and clean them off with some kind of alcohol. And maaaybe remove, clean and reseat the cpu.

    If that don't help i just have to start RMA components i think. Feel i have done everything i can at that point and it's the next step.
    Last edited by Exerqtor; 01-29-2017 at 01:04 PM.

  6. #26
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    If that doesn't help I might try a different ram kit all together, corsair vengeance seems to be the most problematic with the ROG boards.

    If it's available in your country ask the store if you can swap the ram for G.Skill Trident-Z.

    It looks like G.Skill released their RGB ram here is a 32GB 3600MHz kit.

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232484

    non RGB 32GB 3200MHz cl14

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232207

    Let us know if raising the Dram voltage to 1.40v helps.

  7. #27
    ROG Enthusiast Array Exerqtor PC Specs
    Exerqtor PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 Strix
    ProcessorIntel i7-6800K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (8GBx4) 3200MHz 14-14-14-34
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Maxwell)
    MonitorMicroboard M340CLZ
    Storage #1500Gb Samsung 960 EVO M.2
    Storage #2500Gb Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCustom loop watercooling
    CaseThermaltake Core-P5 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB
    Headset Razer BlackShark
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    If that doesn't help I might try a different ram kit all together, corsair vengeance seems to be the most problematic with the ROG boards.

    If it's available in your country ask the store if you can swap the ram for G.Skill Trident-Z.

    It looks like G.Skill released their RGB ram here is a 32GB 3600MHz kit.

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232484

    non RGB 32GB 3200MHz cl14

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232207

    Let us know if raising the Dram voltage to 1.40v helps.
    It might be a problem getting those in Norway if this don't work, i don't think it's any vendor for G.Skill here. That been said i have no problem buying it from the US ether. But does the X99 Strix support 3600Mhz? In that case i'm almost tempted to swap for those anyway's if there said to work better with ROG boards.

  8. #28
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    That's a good point you brought up, the Strix x99 gaming supports up to 3333MHz ram. I thought it would have supported higher than that.

    Here is the RGB Trident Z 32GB 3200MHz cl14 kit.

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820232488

    it's either the board having trouble with the ram or your cpu has a very weak Integrated Memory Controller which I will lean towards the first.

    What happens if you loosen the timings by one number ?

  9. #29
    ROG Enthusiast Array Exerqtor PC Specs
    Exerqtor PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 Strix
    ProcessorIntel i7-6800K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill Trident Z RGB 32GB (8GBx4) 3200MHz 14-14-14-34
    Graphics Card #1Titan X (Maxwell)
    MonitorMicroboard M340CLZ
    Storage #1500Gb Samsung 960 EVO M.2
    Storage #2500Gb Samsung 850 EVO
    CPU CoolerCustom loop watercooling
    CaseThermaltake Core-P5 Tempered Glass
    Power SupplyCorsair RM1000i
    Keyboard Logitech G105
    Mouse Corsair M65 PRO RGB
    Headset Razer BlackShark
    Mouse Pad Steelseries
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    34

    Yeah i suspected that might opt to being a problem x)

    I will try bumping system agent and vccio to 1,2v and the ram to 1.4 with cleaning the contact surfaces first.

    If that don't work i'll try doing a RMA on the MOBO and getting some G.Skill RGB's.

    Uhm, how do i loosen the timings? Been ages since i derped around with this stuff x)
    Last edited by Exerqtor; 01-29-2017 at 07:30 PM.

  10. #30
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4025MHz 17-17-17-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyEVGA Supernova 1600w Titanium
    Keyboard Cyberpower Skorpion K2
    Mouse Razer Basilisk
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX / Modmic 5
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,357

    On the Extreme Tweaker tab go to Dram Timing Control and at the very top are the first 4 primary timings.

    Try

    17
    19
    19
    39
    Command Rate 2

    F10 and Enter

    You shouldn't really have to do this as your timings are fairly loose but see if this gets it to go after testing with the SA - IO voltages at 1.20v and Dram voltage to 1.40v of course.

Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •