cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ASUS Crosshair V Formula-Z & 2800Mhz RAM -> Can this motherboard overclock to that?

lightknightrr
Level 8
So, I'm looking around on NewEgg, and I notice this RAM. And I begin to wonder if anyone has used it, or any other RAM of the same or faster speed (on the Crosshair V F-Z), and had it run stable at its highest advertised speed. Looking at the specs for the Crosshair V F-Z, I also wonder if the BIOS would even allow for the memory to be set at such a high clock.

Your thoughts?
6 REPLIES 6

Chino
Level 15
Officially the highest frequency supported on the Crosshair V Formula-Z is 2400MHz. Nevertheless, you can use memory modules with higher frequencies as long as your CPU can handle it.

Johan45
Level 7
I've had extensive experience with the CHVz and yes it will run that speed BUT the FX CPU doesn't respond well to high ram speeds like that. You'll need additional CPU_NB voltage to accommodate the ram speed and the NB speed increase which will also need to be running at 2800 MHz. Typically this just creates more heat and headaches. The benefits you'd see from that speed will be negligible in the real world. You'd be further ahead getting some "good" sticks in the 1800-2000 range and tightening the timings as much as possible.

Johan45 wrote:
I've had extensive experience with the CHVz and yes it will run that speed BUT the FX CPU doesn't respond well to high ram speeds like that. You'll need additional CPU_NB voltage to accommodate the ram speed and the NB speed increase which will also need to be running at 2800 MHz. Typically this just creates more heat and headaches. The benefits you'd see from that speed will be negligible in the real world. You'd be further ahead getting some "good" sticks in the 1800-2000 range and tightening the timings as much as possible.