Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    Exclamation Final choice 6850K 4.4 vs 4.5 GHz OC - What do you think?

    I now made it to the end

    I got two setups stable on RealBench:

    1. 4.4 GHz on 1.34 core voltage
    2. 4.5 GHz on 1.4 core voltage

    My settings are:
    CPU Strap = 100 MHz
    BLCK Frequency = 100
    AXV offset = 0
    Min. CPU cache ratio = 37
    Max. CPU cache ratio = 37
    CPU Load-line Calibration = Level 6
    Long duration package power limit = Auto
    short duration package power limit = Auto
    CPU cache voltage = 1.2
    CPU input voltage = 1.8

    Memory:
    64 GB at 2.800 MHz
    DRAM voltage = 1.38
    14 - 13 - 13 - 35

    Getting to the 4.5 GHz I felt like rasing the core voltage was the only way to stabilize. Am I mistaking here? Are there any other settings to tweak?
    Also, 4.5 GHz seem to work already at lower core voltages like 1.38. I am doing video editing though. Do I really need to be realBench proofed!? Will I ever come into such extreme situation like in RB? Should I be fine passing AIDA64?

    Also 1.4 voltage seem to be pretty high in relation to 1.34? I will leave it fixed on manual. Will 100 Mz be worth that extra voltage?

    Thanks for all of your support. Also, to this stage!

  2. #2
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    RB is a good tool. Its not absurdly overdoing it in the least. You want to really tax it, run prime 95.
    If you cant pass RB you cant call it stable. The harshest part of RB is handbrake encoding.
    Question is do you notice any difference in your day to day use pushing the voltage up and heat to go with it? Its fun to run it up for bench marking just because you can but i save BIOS profiles for what I intend to be doing. If its light work I use stock settings. For most heavy actual uses I find a happy medium that gets the job done but without a constant stress. If Im having OC play time I run it for all its worth but always dial it back down when Im done.

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    OC for video editing.

    Quote Originally Posted by JustinThyme View Post
    RB is a good tool. Its not absurdly overdoing it in the least. You want to really tax it, run prime 95.
    If you cant pass RB you cant call it stable. The harshest part of RB is handbrake encoding.
    Question is do you notice any difference in your day to day use pushing the voltage up and heat to go with it? Its fun to run it up for bench marking just because you can but i save BIOS profiles for what I intend to be doing. If its light work I use stock settings. For most heavy actual uses I find a happy medium that gets the job done but without a constant stress. If Im having OC play time I run it for all its worth but always dial it back down when Im done.
    Thanks, Justin.

    Well, I got the 4.5 stable. Question is: Is it worth the extra voltage compared to the 4.4. sitting there. Or are there other fine BIOS settings to tweak around?

    I will only do heavy tasks on my PC like 4k editing and visual compositing in Adobe After Effects. Thus I do not intend to dial back that extra OC.

  4. #4
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,504

    4.4GHz no question in my mind...especially if you can't get adaptive stable..1.4 volts constant manual voltage is not a 24/7 OC I'd recommend.

    Have a read of this...might be able to drop core volts a bit

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post436491

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    4.4 will be right

    Quote Originally Posted by Arne Saknussemm View Post
    4.4GHz no question in my mind...especially if you can't get adaptive stable..1.4 volts constant manual voltage is not a 24/7 OC I'd recommend.

    Have a read of this...might be able to drop core volts a bit

    https://rog.asus.com/forum/showthrea...l=1#post436491
    Very interesting post you linked at. Will try that later. Thanks.

    I guess 4.4 is the way to go. I have not tried adaptive mode yet. As you know, I have to find my final Vcore first If i can lower my vcore by raising VCCIN, I hope to be able to dail in adaptive mode by knowing my excat vcore voltage.

  6. #6
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,504

    Yep...sounds good to me...slow and steady

    The 4.4 vs 4.5...0.6v is quite a jump for just 100MHz...sounds more like 4.4 is a sweet spot....and from all I have seen has been the sweet spot on a number of generations and type of CPU

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array Michael-i7 PC Specs
    Michael-i7 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus z170 Deluxe
    Processor17-6700k 4.7 Ghz 1.385v De-Lid
    Memory (part number)32gb 3333Mhz Dominator Platinum
    Graphics Card #1Evga 1080 Ftw Hybrid 2139 Mhz
    MonitorAsus mg279q 1440p 144hz
    Storage #1256gb 950 Pro m.2
    Storage #24tb hdd
    CPU Coolerh100i v2
    CaseCarbide 400c
    Power Supplyrm850i
    Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma
    Mouse Razer Naga Chroma
    Headset G430
    OS 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    54

    And if you have trouble with adaptive you can also Load Line Calibration. I have my 6700k at 4.7 Core/Cache at 1.385v in bios. With an LLC of level 7. So I idle at 1.386v and under load I go to 1.412v. At level 8 it'll go to 1.434v. I leave it at 7 but you get what I'm what I'm saying. It idles significantly lower than it does under load.

    But as stated above for life span of the chip it is recommended to stay closer to 1.35v so if you're stable at 4.4 GHz 1.34 I'd call that a day. I have two Overclock settings, one stated above and one at 4.5 GHz Core/Cache 1.295v Llc level 7. Idles 1.297v and under load is 1.328v.

    Performance difference is minute. Cinebench 987 at 4.5. 1015 at 4.7
    Last edited by Michael-i7; 01-26-2017 at 11:56 PM.

  8. #8
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    I'm glad you finally got that stable. 1.34v -> 4.4Ghz is pretty much dead on what I got with the 5930k. Like you I needed 1.38-1.4 to get it up to 4.5Ghz. I could run it in adaptive mode with that voltage as well, but as many has stated a 100Mhz increase at the cost of that much voltage for me just wasn't worth it.

    All that being said, I may play around this weekend with the new BIOS 1502 and try out a 125 block for funsies.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    102

    final settings

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    I'm glad you finally got that stable. 1.34v -> 4.4Ghz is pretty much dead on what I got with the 5930k. Like you I needed 1.38-1.4 to get it up to 4.5Ghz. I could run it in adaptive mode with that voltage as well, but as many has stated a 100Mhz increase at the cost of that much voltage for me just wasn't worth it.

    All that being said, I may play around this weekend with the new BIOS 1502 and try out a 125 block for funsies.
    Thx for reply.

    I followed Arne's link and guide that really made my day. I successfully managed to dial back vcore to 1.31 by increasing the VCCIN to 1.86 (from 1.8) keeping my 4.4 GHz stable. Also nailing down my cache voltage to 3.7 GHz helped performance.

    Good info on the new bios 1502 update. I am a bit afraid to do it as everything works fine now. Will there be any significant improvement? (Also I can't find the update for my x99-A II yet: https://www.asus.com/de/Motherboards...Desk_Download/)

    Thanks for all support.
    Last edited by Alexauwa; 01-27-2017 at 11:25 PM.

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Latest bios probably won't have any real performance gains but maybe other fixes

    LLC on Z-170/Z-270 affects vdroop on Vcore, on X-99 vdroop on VCCIN or input voltage

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •