Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Is 4x GPU with a Samsung m.2 NVMe drive supported?

    Hello,

    I have an Asus Rampage V edition 10 board with an Intel Core i7-6850K (40 pcie lanes), four (4) Nvidia 1080 GTX FE GPUs, and a Samsung 950 pro m.2 NVMe flash drive.

    When I boot the system up on an SSD disk (NOT on m.2), the pcie slots negotiate to 16/8/8/8 and it works fine.

    When I boot the system from the m.2 NVMe drive, the pcie slots negotiate to 8/8/8/8 but the system will not detect the m.2 flash drive.

    The user manual, on page ix it states:

    40-LANE CPU:
    - In 4-Way con guration, if the PCIEX16/X8_1 is used in x16 mode, both U.2 and M.2 ports will be disabled.


    So it seems I've hit a bug, or I need to adjust a setting in the BIOS.

    Does anyone have any suggestions? The Asus tech support person I spoke with said he would open up a ticket (after I asked him to) with their engineering team but I haven't heard back in almost a week. He seemed to think this wasn't supported but I got the feeling he just wanted to get off the call with me.

    Thanks for any help!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    No it's not, when you use 4 GPU's there are no more pcie lanes left for NVME drive

  3. #3
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    The M.2 shares bandwidth also with the fourth PCI-e Slot. So if all four PCI-e slots are occupied you'll get 16,8,8,8 but U.2 and M.2 are disabled.

    Why would you have four 1080s anyway? I hope it isn't for gaming but something useful like autocad or something cause otherwise 4 of them will kill your FPS.
    Last edited by Brighttail; 01-31-2017 at 02:06 AM.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Black Belt Array Korth PC Specs
    Korth PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS X99 R5E (BIOS2101/1902)
    ProcessorHaswell-EP E5-1680-3 SR20H/R2 (4.4GHz)
    Memory (part number)Vengeance LPX 4x8GB SS DDR4-3000 (CMK32GX4M4C3000C15)
    Graphics Card #1NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Graphics Card #2NVIDIA Quadro GP100GL/16GB, 16xPCIe3, NVLink1 (SLI-HB)
    Sound CardJDS Labs O2+ODAC (RevB), USB2 UAC1
    MonitorASUS PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512GB SSDs, 4xSATA3 RAID0
    Storage #2Comay BladeDrive E28 3200GB SSD, 8xPCIe2
    CPU CoolerRaijintek NEMESIS/TISIS, AS5, 2xNH-A14
    CaseObsidian 750D (original), 6xNH-A14
    Power SupplyZalman/FSP ZM1250 Platinum
    Headset Pilot P51 PTT *modded*
    OS Arch, Gentoo, Win7x64, Win10x64
    Network RouterActiontec T3200M VDSL2 Gateway
    Accessory #1 TP-Link AC1900 Archer T9E, 1xPCIe
    Accessory #2 ASUS/Infineon SLB9635 TPM (TT1.2/FW3.19)
    Accessory #3 ASUS OC Panel I (FW0501)
    Korth's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Reputation
    152
    Posts
    2,719

    @Brighttail
    Four 1080s will kill fps? I can understand diminishing returns, most games do not implement SLI particularly well so multi-GPU won't scale very well, but isn't 4-SLI still going to outperform 3-SLI, isn't 3-SLI still going to outperform 2-SLI?

    Agreed, four GTX1080 cards seems quite wasteful, awful bang for the buck. A very expensive way to (possibly) get a tiny fps bump vs two GTX1080 cards. They might be great for multi-display at high resolutions. They might be great for GPGPU work (like CAD stuff) to a point, though workstation (or Titan) cards with proper DPFP capabilities would generally be a better (and possibly cheaper) choice.

    The R5E doesn't allow 4-SLI in x8/x8/x8/x8 configuration? Never tried, lol I just have 2-SLI x16/x16 with x8 PhysX when gaming.

    The X99 chipset can support 5-GPU x8/x8/x8/x8/x8 ... or so the specs say ... few X99 mobos have enough PCIe slots and I've never heard of a 5-SLI or 5-CF setup, NVIDIA and AMD can only count to four. I suppose 5-GPU support is intended for workstation GPU stuff, though I think anyone who needs that much GPGPU density in a single machine would be better off running a mobo with a dedicated server chipset (like the C612).

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Quote Originally Posted by Korth View Post
    @Brighttail
    Four 1080s will kill fps? I can understand diminishing returns, most games do not implement SLI particularly well so multi-GPU won't scale very well, but isn't 4-SLI still going to outperform 3-SLI, isn't 3-SLI still going to outperform 2-SLI?

    Agreed, four GTX1080 cards seems quite wasteful, awful bang for the buck. A very expensive way to (possibly) get a tiny fps bump vs two GTX1080 cards. They might be great for multi-display at high resolutions. They might be great for GPGPU work (like CAD stuff) to a point, though workstation (or Titan) cards with proper DPFP capabilities would generally be a better (and possibly cheaper) choice.

    The R5E doesn't allow 4-SLI in x8/x8/x8/x8 configuration? Never tried, lol I just have 2-SLI x16/x16 with x8 PhysX when gaming.

    The X99 chipset can support 5-GPU x8/x8/x8/x8/x8 ... or so the specs say ... few X99 mobos have enough PCIe slots and I've never heard of a 5-SLI or 5-CF setup, NVIDIA and AMD can only count to four. I suppose 5-GPU support is intended for workstation GPU stuff, though I think anyone who needs that much GPGPU density in a single machine would be better off running a mobo with a dedicated server chipset (like the C612).
    In the case of 1080s, if you just look around the web you will find that for games and such, more than two 1080s actually provides either WORSE performance or the games out here simply ignore anything more than two. There has been multiple testing on this and aside from benchmarking, where the programs can actually use all four, there are literally like no games and very few programs out there that can use more than 2 1080s. In fact there are several programs that won't boot if there are more than 2. This is one of the main reasons that Nvidia doesn't really support anything more than dual SLI.

    The R5E10 doesn't support 4 gpu + an m.2 drive in the m.2 slot. The M.2 shares bandwidth/IRQ with that fourth PCI-e slot, so if it is occupied, the m.2 is disabled. It even says so in the manual. The only Asus mB that can support 5way SLI is the Workstation series of the x99.

    Anyway the question posed here was why wasn't his m.2 working, I answered that. My comment on 4 way SLI with 1080s was an opinion based off on the reviews/videos of the 1080 in SLI available on the internet.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  6. #6
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FireRx PC Specs
    FireRx PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel 7900 X
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD32GX4MA2800c16
    Graphics Card #1EGVA RTX 2080ti
    Sound Cardonboard
    MonitorLG 34" curved
    Storage #1Samsung 960 M2 SSD 1 terabyte
    Storage #2Samsumg 850 PRO SSD 1Tb
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i
    CaseLian Li VS2000
    Power SupplyThermaltake 1200 modular
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Logitech
    Headset Powerbeats Pro
    Mouse Pad Xtrac Ripper XL
    Headset/Speakers logitech
    OS Windows 10 Pro 19037
    Network RouterNetGear
    Accessory #1 Logitech G940 FLight gear
    FireRx's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    710

    totally agree Brightail. It's just not necessary other than e-peening.
    Intel Core i9 7900X @4.7ghz @1.162v
    Asus Rampage VI Extreme [bios 2002]
    LG (34U97-s) Monitor 3440 x1440
    Nvidia RTX 2080ti
    Windows 10 Pro
    32gbz Memory

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    Maybe he has a use other than sli for gaming, but if he is there are a couple posts around the net explaining how to create your own profiles, also there are only a couple 3-4way sli bridges that will work on Pascal cards, the EVGA and MSI LED bridges, currently there are only 2 way HB bridges available, I had to go to ebay to find bridges to use 3 and 4 way with Titan X Pascal cards, a 1500 watt power supply is minimum, dual is better as a lot of current can be used when under load
    There are many concessions and a lot of effort to make 3 and 4 way sli to work these days as Nvidia no longer supports it except in 3DMark benchmark on Windows 10

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    This is a password cracker actually, not for gaming (it gets about 100 billion md5 hashes per second).

    With the m.2 installed the pcie slots set themselves to 8/8/8/8, that would only be 32 lanes, so why shouldn't the m.2 work? Password cracking doesn't need high speed slots anyway, so x8 is fine. I tried to hard set the slot but I don't see any options for that.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,336

    Once again, if you actually read the user manual, it says:

    "The PCIEX8_4 slot shares bandwidth with M.2 and U.2"

    This means that if the fourth PCIE slot is in use, the m.2 slot is turned off. It has NOTHING to do with the number of lanes. It has everything to do with how the motherboard shares the resources available. Just like on the motherboards with Sata-express, if you used one of the PCI-e lanes it would turn off this option and even turn off a couple of SATA ports.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator RGB 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p / Samsung 970 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Chakram
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Brighttail View Post
    Once again, if you actually read the user manual, it says:

    "The PCIEX8_4 slot shares bandwidth with M.2 and U.2"

    This means that if the fourth PCIE slot is in use, the m.2 slot is turned off. It has NOTHING to do with the number of lanes. It has everything to do with how the motherboard shares the resources available. Just like on the motherboards with Sata-express, if you used one of the PCI-e lanes it would turn off this option and even turn off a couple of SATA ports.
    I did read the manual, very closely. You are referring to the asterisk that is pointed out in 28 lane CPUs.

    See the rest of the section:

    4 x PCIe 3.0 x16 slots (supports x16, x16/x16, x16/x8/x8, x16/x8/x8/x8 or x8/x8/x8/x8 mode with 40-LANE CPU; x16, x16/x8 or x8/x8/x8 mode with 28-LANE CPU)* [CPU] <--where they point out the line you were referring to.
    1 x PCIe 2.0 x4 slot** [PCH] 1 x PCIe 2.0 x1 slot [PCH]
    40-LANE CPU:
    - In 4-Way configuration, if the PCIEX16/X8_1 is used in x16 mode, both U.2 and M.2 ports will be disabled.
    28-LANE CPU:
    - In 3-Way confutation, U.2 port will be disabled.
    - By default, U.2 port is disabled for other configurations. To activate it, please go to BIOS > Advanced > Onboard Device Configuration > PCIEX8_2 PCIEX8_4 and U.2 M.2 Configuration.
    * The PCIEX8_4 slot shares bandwidth with M.2 and U.2.
    ** The PCIEX4_1 slot shares bandwidth with front USB3_34 ports and back USB3.1_EC1_EA2 ports.
    If a X2 device is connected to the PCIEx4_1 slot, the front USB3_34 ports will be disabled.
    If a X4 or higher device is connected to the PCIEx4_1 slot, both front USB3_34 and back USB3.1_EC1_EA2 ports will be disabled.
    The line that says "- In 4-Way configuration, if the PCIEX16/X8_1 is used in x16 mode, both U.2 and M.2 ports will be disabled."

    Leads me to believe it should work since that slot is used in x8 mode when the drive is installed.

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •