Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array JohnnyEz PC Specs
    JohnnyEz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenbook Prime UX31A-DB51
    MotherboardMaxumus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung U28E590D (3840*2160) / Samsung (1680*1050)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy MX
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x
    OS Ubuntu 16.04 / Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    GTX 1080 Strix O8G fails to POST

    Hi all,

    I'd like to ask your advice on a hardware issue I'm having. Let me start by saying, I realize the issue *might* be defective hardware; if so, then unfortunately I'm in a bad way, because I removed the graphics card's factory fan to include it in my watercooling loop. So, I just hope you might be able to think of something I haven't.

    ---

    Okay, the issue: on a new build (Maximus IX Hero with i7-7700K), my graphics card (GTX 1080 Strix O8G) fails the POST when I start the computer after it's been turned off. Instead, the computer turns on using the CPU's integrated graphics. Heuristically, I find that if I let it run for about 10 minutes, then turn the computer off, disconnect the power, wait until the MB lights go off, then turn the power back on and start the computer, that the card then manages to POST and everything goes on fine. From that moment onward, restarting the computer doesn't pose an issue -- the card always POSTs fine. The only issue is when doing a cold start.

    Just to cross off a couple of factors: this seems to be unrelated to whether I set the BIOS to utilize integrated graphics in the presence of a discrete card (because, if the MB doesn't find a discrete card, it defaults back to using integrated graphics).

    I've seen online that quite a few people had similar issues with older models, but I didn't find a solution or a diagnostic of what's actually the cause for this issue (if it isn't just faulty hardware; but one person said that after sending it back on an RMA, they received word that the card was actually just fine).


    Can anyone think of what might be causing this?

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Gold Belt Array Menthol PC Specs
    Menthol PC Specs
    MotherboardM 10 Apex / XI gene
    Processor8700K / 9900K
    Memory (part number)2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4266/2x2x8 Gskill Trident Z 4500
    Graphics Card #1RTX 2080ti / GTX 1060
    Sound CardSoundBlaster Ae5 / Onboard
    MonitorBENQ 32" 4K
    Storage #1Intel 900p 480GB/Samsung 960 Pro 1TB
    Storage #2Intel 750 1.2TB/Plextor 1 TB 2X 950 Pro
    CPU CoolerCorsair H150i AIO / H1110i
    CaseCorsair 740 ? Lian Li Air
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i / AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair
    Mouse ASUS Strix
    Headset HyperX Cloud Alpha
    Mouse Pad ASUS
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z906
    OS 10 X64 Pro
    Network RouterVerizon Fios
    Accessory #1 Intel Wifi BT pcie card
    Accessory #2 Red Bull
    Accessory #3 English Breakfast Tea
    Menthol's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Reputation
    241
    Posts
    4,548

    JohnnyEz,
    Sorry to here your having this issue
    I see your running a monitor with a low resolution, not that should cause the issue but what type of video cable are you using and what ports are available on your monitor?
    When you don't get display on your monitor are you moving the cable from the video card to the motherboard or do you always have a cable plugged into the motherboard?
    Have you tried different cable and or different cable port on the monitor if it has more than one?
    Are you using any type of adapter on the cable, DVI to HDMI or Displayport? these can cause issues you described
    Do you have another monitor to try?
    Last edited by Menthol; 02-01-2017 at 12:31 AM.

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array JohnnyEz PC Specs
    JohnnyEz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenbook Prime UX31A-DB51
    MotherboardMaxumus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung U28E590D (3840*2160) / Samsung (1680*1050)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy MX
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x
    OS Ubuntu 16.04 / Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Menthol View Post
    JohnnyEz,
    Sorry to here your having this issue
    Hey, thanks for your reply. To be clear, those times that the graphics card fails the POST:
    • If I go into the BIOS, it says no graphics card was identified.
    • When I get into my OS (usually Ubuntu, but I've got Windows set up too), "system information" only shows KabyLake graphics.


    For these reasons, and because I thought POST comes before the cables are even used, I didn't think it was a cable issue. Anyway, to answer your questions:
    • My monitor only has a single DVI and a single VGA inputs (I will replace it in a short while).
    • I'm using a DVI-DVI cable from the graphics card to the monitor; I'm using an HDMI-DVI cable from the MB to the monitor. No adapters on either.
    • Indeed, I switch cables at the monitor to find which component passed the POST each time. Both cables are always connected to the GC/MB.
    • No, I didn't try different cables; I don't have another port to try on, unless you count the VGA port. But just to reiterate -- the monitor's DVI port and my DVI-DVI cable do work, with this PC as well as another that I have here.


    Thanks again

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    Did you test the GPU with the stock cooler before adding it to your watercooling loop?

  5. #5
    ROG Member Array JohnnyEz PC Specs
    JohnnyEz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenbook Prime UX31A-DB51
    MotherboardMaxumus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung U28E590D (3840*2160) / Samsung (1680*1050)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy MX
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x
    OS Ubuntu 16.04 / Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Did you test the GPU with the stock cooler before adding it to your watercooling loop?
    Yes, I did put into another PC. Unfortunately, I didn't use it over a period of time, but rather simply checked that I can get into my OS and mess around. With the nature of this issue, I can't tell if the issue is specific to the new MB, or to the modified cooler, or any other part of that.
    (I did wonder if the card perhaps tests whether it has connected fans during POST, but if so, I'm not sure how to fool it to think it does.)

  6. #6

  7. #7
    ROG Member Array JohnnyEz PC Specs
    JohnnyEz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenbook Prime UX31A-DB51
    MotherboardMaxumus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung U28E590D (3840*2160) / Samsung (1680*1050)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy MX
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x
    OS Ubuntu 16.04 / Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Have you tried reseating the GPU?
    Removing and reinserting it into the PCIe slot? Yes, I did. No difference.

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array JohnnyEz PC Specs
    JohnnyEz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenbook Prime UX31A-DB51
    MotherboardMaxumus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung U28E590D (3840*2160) / Samsung (1680*1050)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy MX
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x
    OS Ubuntu 16.04 / Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyEz View Post
    • My monitor only has a single DVI and a single VGA inputs (I will replace it in a short while).
    I moved up my timetable and got another monitor, so now I have the GTX1080 Stirx connected via DP to one monitor (Samsung U28E590D, 3840*2160) and the MB connected to another (old Samsung 1680*1050) via a DP-to-DVI adapter and a DVI-DVI cable.

    Needless to say, this hasn't made any difference. When the graphics card passes POST, I can use both monitors; When it doesn't, the newer monitor naturally remains blank. Although I find it peculiar that the boot-up process appears on the monitor connected to the MB, even when I tell the BIOS to use PEG as the primary display.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,254

    What if you disconnect the monitor from the motherboard and only leave the monitor connected to the GPU? Does your system post?

  10. #10
    ROG Member Array JohnnyEz PC Specs
    JohnnyEz PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Zenbook Prime UX31A-DB51
    MotherboardMaxumus IX Hero
    Processori7-7700K
    Memory (part number)Corsair CMD16GX4M2B3200C16
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorSamsung U28E590D (3840*2160) / Samsung (1680*1050)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    CPU CoolerEK Supremacy MX
    Power SupplyCorsair RM750x
    OS Ubuntu 16.04 / Windows 10

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    7

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    What if you disconnect the monitor from the motherboard and only leave the monitor connected to the GPU? Does your system post?
    It depends:
    • On a cold start, it will give the beep combination indicating "No VGA" and display Q-Code D6, which stands for "No Console Output Devices are found". The white led stays on, but I can tell my system actually moved on with the boot process and had gotten into GRUB (it has to do with the way the NumLock behaves if I do/don't press any keys within 10 secodns).
    • Once it initially passed the POST, everything works as it should when only the graphics card is connected to a display.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •