Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Maximus 9 formula Random reboots/ pain to start Please Help

    Hey guys so i built my pc back in March. Ran fine till about a month and a half ago. I started to have my pc reboot while watching a video on youtube. Called Asus said it was my Motherboard. I went to microCenter and changed my Maximus 9 Code for the Formula and bought a Samsung 500gb 960 evo nvme m.2. And still had the same problem. Went out and bought a new PSU had a Evga supernova 850 gold got a 850 Platinum. Still have the same problem. It comes and goes. Another problem im haveing it booting up my pc i have to hit the restart button up to 10x for it to post.Tried with the pc with a OC and none and xmp on and off. When i get the M.2 did a fresh install. Have the latest bios 1009
    I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT THE PROBLEM IS IM GOING NUTS. If anyone can help me get to the bottom of this i i greatly appreciate your help


    Build is
    Asus maximus 9 Formula
    I7 6700k stock/oc
    Gskill rgb ram 3200 16gb XMP
    Strix 1080
    Samsung 960 evo 500gb m.2 nvme ssd
    Toshiba ocz 480gb ssd
    Crucial mx300 1tb ssd
    Seagate BarraCuda 4tb
    Evga 850w p2
    Thermaletake core p3
    Custom cpu and gpu loop

  2. #2

  3. #3
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Hart turn

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Clear your CMOS and test your system at stock defaults.

    I have i rebiilt the sysytem with a new motherboard boot drive and psu. Did 2 fresh installs and it still happends Just a few mins ago went to boot up my pc had to hit the reset button 3 times for it to post

  4. #4
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Was your system at stock defaults? And were you running the latest BIOS for the motherboard?

  5. #5
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Yes no OC no XMP

  6. #6

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,780

    Disconnect all external attached components, especially USB devices. See how it boots then.

    The common components from what you describe is the memory & GTX 1080. Are you tried troubleshooting these?

    Have you check the CPU socket for bent or broken pins?
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    [QUOTE=Chino;674428]Is your PC connected directly to the wall?[No i have it pluged in to my Cyberpower UPS

  9. #9
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    Pins are fine on both of the board i used. when the problem started my pc was runing fine with a Auto OC and xmp for a few months. I added a Waterblock to my gpu and then about 1 to 2 months after that the problem started. CPU temps to spike at times no more then 50c for a few sec.
    Today i shutdown my pc 3 times and when i came back to boot it it was fine. I did do a ram test and it passed
    I do have my 1080 on a Thermaletake riser cable is there anyway that might be my problem.


    Quote Originally Posted by NemesisChild View Post
    Disconnect all external attached components, especially USB devices. See how it boots then.

    The common components from what you describe is the memory & GTX 1080. Are you tried troubleshooting these?

    Have you check the CPU socket for bent or broken pins?

  10. #10
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    [QUOTE=213inc;674482]
    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Is your PC connected directly to the wall?[No i have it pluged in to my Cyberpower UPS
    Try plugging your system directly into the wall for testing just to discard the UPS as the culprit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •