Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 41
  1. #31
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Quote Originally Posted by Raja@ASUS View Post
    You can leave it on Auto if you wish. If using a different value, you'll need to match the load voltage.
    Ok thanks, I'll leave it in automatic.

  2. #32
    New ROGer Array Killer344 PC Specs
    Killer344 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus IX APEX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700k @ 5.1ghz Delid
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar DSX
    MonitorDell UltraSharp U2913WM
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Red Pro 2TB + WD Red 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF-X
    Power SupplyXFX 850W Black Edition
    Keyboard SteelSeries 7G
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
    Headset Sony MDR-7506
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries DeX
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S590
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    Hey, quick question, I got DRAM stable at 4133mhz 1.405v with:

    VCCSA: 1.288v |
    ---------------| Both during high load, idle/set voltages are a bit lower.
    VCCIO: 1.264v |


    From the guide I'd assume less than 1.3v for VCCSA/VCCIO should be considered fairly safe for 24/7. The only reference is this sentence: "If possible, do not venture too far from 1.35V as a maximum."

    I also guess 1.4v should be pretty safe for the IMC as well since ram manufacturers are shipping them rated like that, correct?

  3. #33
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,347

    Hi killer344

    Welocme to the ROG forum !

    Dram voltage at 1.405 is fine, SA and IO voltages are fine too, you can run it there 24/7.

    Nice going getting your high speed ram stable.

  4. #34
    New ROGer Array Killer344 PC Specs
    Killer344 PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus ROG Maximus IX APEX
    ProcessorIntel Core i7 7700k @ 5.1ghz Delid
    Memory (part number)F4-4266C19D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 980 Ti Gaming
    Sound CardAsus Xonar DSX
    MonitorDell UltraSharp U2913WM
    Storage #1Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage #2WD Red Pro 2TB + WD Red 4TB
    CPU CoolerNoctua NH-D15
    CaseCoolerMaster HAF-X
    Power SupplyXFX 850W Black Edition
    Keyboard SteelSeries 7G
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
    Headset Sony MDR-7506
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries DeX
    Headset/Speakers Onkyo HT-S590
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    3

    yeah, getting the right VCCSA/VCCIO values was a total *****, any slight increase/decrease from those values leads to instability.

    I got a SL binned 7700k 5.1ghz at 1.37v (1.39v during avx loads) running as well, I can go toe to toe against 6850k/1600x at these speeds lol...

    I can't thank enough the Apex's recovery system from failed settings, I didn't need to clear the CMOS even once.


    The only odd thing worth mentioning is I needed to rise the CPU Core PLL to 1.075v to reach CPU stability, and everyone says everywhere vcore is all that matters.... mine must be the exception

  5. #35
    ROG Member Array dirtyred PC Specs
    dirtyred PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Prime Z270-K
    ProcessorIntel i7 7700K
    Memory (part number)G.SKILL Ripjaws V F4-3200C16D-16GVK
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1060 WINDFORCE OC 6G (regretting not getting ASUS)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256 GB
    CPU CoolerPhanteks PH-TC14PE
    CaseFractal Design Define C
    Power SupplySeasonic M12II-620 EVO
    Mouse Razer Taipan
    Headset Audio-Technica ATH-M20X
    OS Windows 10

    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    18

    I'm having issues with Adaptive voltage mode. I apply 50 multiplier and 1.32 Vcore with LLC 5 the system seems to be stable (didn't stress test it for long time). But if I use an AVX offset then it instantly crashes. It seems that the BIOS is not guessing the correct voltage needed. This problem seems to exist with lower multiplier as well and the only solution I've found is to raise the Vcore but that results in unnecessary high voltage under non-AVX load.

    I've read that VRM switching frequency can help with stability when the voltage requirements suddenly change. My motherboard supports up to 500 Hz but the BIOS is warning me that active cooling is recommended. The default value is 250 Hz and I bumped it up to 400 Hz. That seems to help with less vdroop but I'm afraid to go higher. How safe is to go up to the maximum 500 Hz? I'm using Phanteks PH-TC14PE air cooling with good case airflow, is that enough to cool the VRM's?

    Is there any benefit and risk setting the CPU Power Duty Control from T.Probe to Extreme and the CPU Power Phase Control from Auto to Extreme or Power Phase Response (Fast or Ultra Fast)?

    Also CPU PLL Voltage according to Intel's specs is 1 V but according to BIOS the default is 0.9 V. Why is there such a difference?

    PS.: My CPU is not delidded and it seems that the maximum Vcore is around 1.32 - 1.34 V to keep the CPU from overheating. But even at 1.32 Vcore my CPU reaches 85 °C running RealBench so anything that can help to reduce the Vcore / CPU temps while maintaining stability would be appreciated.

  6. #36
    Tech Marketing Manager HQ Array Raja@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Reputation
    161
    Posts
    7,454

    Quote Originally Posted by dirtyred View Post
    I'm having issues with Adaptive voltage mode. I apply 50 multiplier and 1.32 Vcore with LLC 5 the system seems to be stable (didn't stress test it for long time). But if I use an AVX offset then it instantly crashes. It seems that the BIOS is not guessing the correct voltage needed. This problem seems to exist with lower multiplier as well and the only solution I've found is to raise the Vcore but that results in unnecessary high voltage under non-AVX load.

    I've read that VRM switching frequency can help with stability when the voltage requirements suddenly change. My motherboard supports up to 500 Hz but the BIOS is warning me that active cooling is recommended. The default value is 250 Hz and I bumped it up to 400 Hz. That seems to help with less vdroop but I'm afraid to go higher. How safe is to go up to the maximum 500 Hz? I'm using Phanteks PH-TC14PE air cooling with good case airflow, is that enough to cool the VRM's?

    Is there any benefit and risk setting the CPU Power Duty Control from T.Probe to Extreme and the CPU Power Phase Control from Auto to Extreme or Power Phase Response (Fast or Ultra Fast)?

    Also CPU PLL Voltage according to Intel's specs is 1 V but according to BIOS the default is 0.9 V. Why is there such a difference?

    PS.: My CPU is not delidded and it seems that the maximum Vcore is around 1.32 - 1.34 V to keep the CPU from overheating. But even at 1.32 Vcore my CPU reaches 85 °C running RealBench so anything that can help to reduce the Vcore / CPU temps while maintaining stability would be appreciated.
    AVX stability can require significant Vcore. If the AVX offset feature is resulting in the wrong level of voltage for the target ratio, your other option is to configure the temperature control features and apply separate voltages for the light and heavy-load overclocks. Details on doing this are in the OC guide.

  7. #37
    ROG Member Array ycodryn PC Specs
    ycodryn PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    Processor7700k
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.SKill
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 SC
    Sound CardASUS
    MonitorAcer Predator Z35
    Power SupplyCorsair
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    After staying with 4.8ghz I tried 5.0 just for fun. All freq tested with realbench 2.5.4, 1h. Here is some info:

    3.5ghz > 45,46,45,44c / 0.992v / 34.569w > cache 4.5ghz (this is limited in windows 10 to stay at 3.5ghz for common tasks only, same settings in bios like 4.8)
    4.8ghz > 65,65,63,62c / 1.280v / 82.106w > cache 4.5ghz (1.220v in bios, llc4)
    5.0ghz > 73,71,69,68c / 1.360v / 92.886w > cache 4.0ghz (1.305v in bios, llc5)
    5.0ghz > 74,72,71,69c / 1.360v / 94.410w > cache 4.3ghz (1.305v in bios, llc5)
    5.0ghz > 74,72,72,71c / 1.360v / 94.979w > cache 4.5ghz (1.305v in bios, llc5)

    What do you think? CPU is delided and has H115i h2o cooler, room temp 24-25c.

  8. #38
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    5.0ghz > 74,72,72,71c / 1.360v / 94.979w > cache 4.5ghz (1.305v in bios, llc5)

  9. #39
    ROG Member Array ycodryn PC Specs
    ycodryn PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Formula
    Processor7700k
    Memory (part number)32 GB G.SKill
    Graphics Card #1EVGA GTX 980 SC
    Sound CardASUS
    MonitorAcer Predator Z35
    Power SupplyCorsair
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Feb 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    12

    Are ok those temps for a delided cpu? Or should I try again that operation?

  10. #40

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •