Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Could use some help: Computer wont boot all of a sudden

    My computer was working perfectly for months. Today I turn on my computer and the QLED is stuck at b0 and the 4th LED next to the PCIe switches at the top right is blinking. System will not make it to bios so there is very little feedback.

    My System:
    R5E10
    5930K
    32GB G.Skill DD4 (4x8)
    Strix 1080 GTX OC
    Samsung 950 Pro and a few Samsung 850 EVO SSD

    Ive tried to switch BIOS, reflash Bios, unplug everything (USB internal/external, SDD's, M.2, etc), switched graphic card slots, switched graphic cards, disable all but one PCIe slot through the switches, and right now testing with only 1 DIMM in D1 and cycling through all 4 sticks. I'm about to reseat my CPU but since my system has been fine for over 6 months im doubting its a bent pin.

    Anyone have some thoughts or suggestions im quite frustrated right now.
    Last edited by Spartanjet; 02-06-2017 at 07:23 PM.

  2. #2
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    417

    hi Spartanjet
    it seems like HW problem, advice You contact US service center to help checking the board

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Does ur pc come at splash screen where it says press del or f12 to enter bios. If the windows does not boot up. try plugging only the boot ssd and remove others.

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Try to reapply thermal paste

    Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by Spartanjet View Post
    My computer was working perfectly for months. Today I turn on my computer and the QLED is stuck at b0 and the 4th LED next to the PCIe switches at the top right is blinking. System will not make it to bios so there is very little feedback.

    My System:
    R5E10
    5930K
    32GB G.Skill DD4 (4x8)
    Strix 1080 GTX OC
    Samsung 950 Pro and a few Samsung 850 EVO SSD

    Ive tried to switch BIOS, reflash Bios, unplug everything (USB internal/external, SDD's, M.2, etc), switched graphic card slots, switched graphic cards, disable all but one PCIe slot through the switches, and right now testing with only 1 DIMM in D1 and cycling through all 4 sticks. I'm about to reseat my CPU but since my system has been fine for over 6 months im doubting its a bent pin.

    Anyone have some thoughts or suggestions im quite frustrated right now.
    Look beside the 24 pin power connector. Do any of the QLEDs remain lit when your system halts at the b0 QCODE?

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Look beside the 24 pin power connector. Do any of the QLEDs remain lit when your system halts at the b0 QCODE?
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_0029[1].jpg 
Views:	1 
Size:	410.2 KB 
ID:	62409

    I just got done re-seating my CPU. Ive tested 2 DDR4 kits I have (one Corsair 16GB and G.Skill 32GB) both with the same result. I have also tested each stick as a single DIMM in the D1 slot just to be sure. I am going to try and connect my stuff to my older Rampage V non 10 edition unless you have some further insight. Thanks for the reply!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Testing your CPU and RAM on the other motherboard should indicate which component is the culprit.

    Also which power supply are you using? And how old is it?

  8. #8
    ROG Member Array Omega Centauri PC Specs
    Omega Centauri PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS ROG Strix X99
    Processori7 5820K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill 32GB
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1060
    Storage #1Adata M.2
    CPU CoolerCorsair H100i v2
    CaseCooler Master HAFX
    OS Windows 10 Pro

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    10

    I had trouble with booting after one of my over clock attempts and found the computer was going through a DRAM setup loop (I think the code display kept cycling between b0 and b7). *Powered the computer off by using the power supply switch and then turn the XMP switch on the motherboard back off (not at XMP) and then re-powered up and rebooted ok. *After that was able to reselect XMP later. *Maybe that would help.

    Omega Centauri*

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    23

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Testing your CPU and RAM on the other motherboard should indicate which component is the culprit.

    Also which power supply are you using? And how old is it?
    I'm using a Corsair AX1200i PS and about 1 year old I believe. I guess I have my answer my computer booted up just fine with my older R5E. Thanks for your help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •