Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    MAXIMUS IX CODE q-code error 0A? Need ideas please

    Ok I built this computer in January and it has been running great. Yesterday I took it apart for regular cleaning and when I turned it back on I get no post and q-code 0A. That code is not in the book so I thought maybe DA Boot option failed? So I removed all ssd and m.2 storage still no post. I have done every trouble shooting step I can think of like removing all components one at a time using only 1 stick of ram, clearing cmos, removing battery, safe boot, memOK, and bios flashback. So far no luck. Did I miss anything? I called support she seemed to think it was a DA code because 0A not in her book. We went through all the same steps over again to no avail. So she wants me to RMA =(. So before I do that I was hoping maybe you could help. If there's any info I left out that you need let me know. And Thanks
    Dak.

    7700k no overclock
    maximus ix code
    16GB Corsair LPX 3200
    2x Asus 1080 Strix gaming
    Evga 850 Gold
    Samsung 950 Pro m.2 Boot drive
    WD Black 4TB Storage

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array Psycrow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    219

    Never take pc apart for cleaning i guess
    Hardware gets more and more sensitive and breaks easy.
    Either due to modern tech chips or stuff gets cheaper produced today.

    I think i also had that code but i tryed to reset bios and flash it again and pressed all the small bottons on the mainboard and eventualy i got rid of it.

  3. #3
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,345

    Hi Dakkor

    Welcome to the ROG forum.

    If you've gone through troubleshooting steps with ASUS support and didn't help, let us know how the replacement is working when you get it installed.

  4. #4
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Psycrow View Post
    Never take pc apart for cleaning i guess
    Hardware gets more and more sensitive and breaks easy.
    Either due to modern tech chips or stuff gets cheaper produced today.

    I think i also had that code but i tried to reset bios and flash it again and pressed all the small bottons on the mainboard and eventualy i got rid of it.
    I would hope taking it apart to dust would not be enough to kill it But I thought using bios flashback might help but I'm just getting a solid light after a few seconds. I have tried all 3 available bios and three different flash drives naming the file M9F.CAP. No luck Am I doing something wrong?

  5. #5
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,345

    It doesn't sound like the bios flash is successful.

    1) Format an empty usb flash to .FAT32
    2) Download the bios file from the ASUS Support Center
    3) Extract it to the USB flashdrive
    4) Rename the bios file to M9F.CAP
    5) Insert the usb flash drive into the ROG Connect port
    6) Press and hold the bios flasback button intil it starts to flash, flashing should slowly get faster then stop. The update should take about 90 seconds.
    7) When flashing stops start your pc

  6. #6
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    4

    Quote Originally Posted by Nate152 View Post
    It doesn't sound like the bios flash is successful.

    1) Format an empty usb flash to .FAT32
    2) Download the bios file from the ASUS Support Center
    3) Extract it to the USB flashdrive
    4) Rename the bios file to M9F.CAP
    5) Insert the usb flash drive into the ROG Connect port
    6) Press and hold the bios flasback button intil it starts to flash, flashing should slowly get faster then stop. The update should take about 90 seconds.
    7) When flashing stops start your pc
    Thanks Nate I did finally get the bios flash to work I think but it still will not post so I will send it in tomorrow for RMA. Thanks everyone for the help.
    Dak

  7. #7
    Moderator Array Nate152 PC Specs
    Nate152 PC Specs
    MotherboardROG Maximus IX Code
    Processori7-7700k 5.2GHz Delidded
    Memory (part number)16GB G.Skill Trident Z 4000MHz 16-16-16-39-2T
    Graphics Card #1Titan Xp - EKFC waterblock
    Graphics Card #2Titan Xp
    Sound CardROG SupremeFX 2015
    MonitorHP ZR30w
    Storage #1Toshiba OCZ VX500 256GB
    CPU CoolerSwiftech Apogee GTZ
    CaseThermaltake Armor+ VH6000
    Power SupplyPC Power & Cooling Turbo Cool 1200w
    Keyboard Razer Anansi
    Mouse Logitech G500
    Headset Sennheiser HD6XX
    OS Windows 10 Home 64 bit
    Accessory #1 Asus optical drive
    Accessory #2 Koolance ERM-2K3U
    Nate152's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Reputation
    308
    Posts
    16,345

    All right, sorry to hear that didn't get you going.

    Give us an update when you get your replacement.

  8. #8
    New ROGer Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    1

    Smile

    Hello. I am new. Soooo did anyone find out what the Q Code 0A was??

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MrAgapiGC PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Code
    Processor9900K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3600C18
    Graphics Card #1STRIX-GTX1080ti-O8G-GAMING
    MonitorAOC AGON AG2701QX (2)
    Storage #1Samsung 960 EVO 256GB
    Storage #2Kingston Savage 500GB
    CPU CoolerNzxt X74 360mm AIO
    CaseNzxt H700
    Power SupplyEVGA 850 G2
    Keyboard Logitech G810
    Mouse Asus Spartha
    Headset Hyper X Cloud Revolver S
    Mouse Pad Hyper X Fury S 900mx420mm
    Headset/Speakers Logitech Z337
    OS Windows 10 64btis
    Network RouterTpLink Archer C9
    Accessory #1 EKWB FANs all of them
    MrAgapiGC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    1,330

    Quote Originally Posted by harmonicaplayer View Post
    Hello. I am new. Soooo did anyone find out what the Q Code 0A was??
    Update BIOS to the last bios available and install last MEI and Chipset. and test again on stock values first.
    Learn, Play Enjoy!

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •