Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Exclamation Rampage V Edition 10 and AE error codes

    Im getting a AE error code whenever i boot my pc with a PlayStation Dual Shock 4 controller, does anyone know why this happens?
    Is there any way to fix this?

    Thanks!

  2. #2
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,334

    What happens if you pull out the USB dongle for it and attempt to boot up? If it boots up fine the computer may be trying to either boot off that dongle or access it without drivers loaded. You may only be able to add it after windows is up.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  3. #3
    ASUS HQ Service Rep Array
    Join Date
    May 2016
    Reputation
    12
    Posts
    417

    Try to remove external devices and clean CMOS , does it same

  4. #4
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,832

    The PS4 controller likely isn't fully xHCI compliant. If it's happening intermittently or all the time, remove the device till the system has booted.

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by ivoencarnacao View Post
    Im getting a AE error code whenever i boot my pc with a PlayStation Dual Shock 4 controller, does anyone know why this happens?
    Is there any way to fix this?

    Thanks!
    Yes, disconnect the PS4 controller.

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    13

    Quote Originally Posted by Chino View Post
    Yes, disconnect the PS4 controller.
    Thanks for your help!

    Isn't there any other way?
    I shouldn't be plugging my controller every time that i want to use it!
    Isn't there a way to use it like any other USB device?

    Is this something specific to the PS4 controller or the board?


    Thanks!

  7. #7
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array Brighttail PC Specs
    Brighttail PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Asus G751JT
    MotherboardAsus x299 Rampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorIntel i9-7900x
    Memory (part number)Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 3200Mhz 4x8
    Graphics Card #1MSI GTX 1080TI
    MonitorAcer XB321HK (4k,IPS,G-sync)
    Storage #1Intel 900p (Boot) 2xSM961 (RAID 0) Games
    Storage #2Samsung 850 Pro 512GB - WD Black 4TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cool
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1200i
    Keyboard Corsair Platinum 95
    Mouse Asus SPATHA
    Mouse Pad Corsair MM800
    Headset/Speakers Kanyo Y5
    OS Windows 10 64 bit
    Accessory #1 2 x Alphacool Full Copper Radiator 420mm/280mm
    Accessory #2 Monsoon MMRS reservoir w/ 2 x D5 Vario Pump
    Accessory #3 Monsoon Free Center Compression Fittings

    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Reputation
    33
    Posts
    1,334

    The problem is when you boot up, it isn't recognizing the controller. Believe it or not there are some External hard drives with similar issues.

    I remember in some of my past computers, my computer would not boot up at all if the USB connector to my WD external Harddrive was connected to the computer.

    Unplug it and boom, instant boot.

    One thing you MAY be able to do, is in the BIOS there is the option under Boot to "initialize all USB devices on boot" and a fast boot option that "Only initialize mouse/keyboard". I don't remember the exact verbage, but in short, one setting will try and install the drivers of ALL the USB drives before booting into Windows and a setting that will only load the drivers for Keyboard/mouse and will initialize all the others once windows starts. You can try both these options with the controller connected and see if either works.
    Panteks Enthoo Elite / Asus x299 Rampage VI Extreme / Intel I9-7900X / Corsair Dominator Platinum SE 4x8 3200MHz
    MSI GTX 1080 TI / 2x Intel 900p in a bootable VROC RAID 0 / Samsung 960 Pro 512GB
    Samsung 850 PRO 512GB / Western Digital Gold 8TB HD
    Corsair AX 1200i / Corsair Platinum K95 / Asus Spatha
    Acer XB321HK 4k, IPS, G-sync Monitor / Water Cooled / Asus G571JT Laptop

  8. #8
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,832

    In this instance it's far easier to either remove the device, or try using one of the boards many USB 2.0 ports.

  9. #9
    ROG Guru: Grand Master Array
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Reputation
    339
    Posts
    15,255

    Quote Originally Posted by ivoencarnacao View Post
    Thanks for your help!

    Isn't there any other way?
    I shouldn't be plugging my controller every time that i want to use it!
    Isn't there a way to use it like any other USB device?

    Is this something specific to the PS4 controller or the board?


    Thanks!
    One of the original workarounds to the AE QCODE was to disable xHCI at the cost of losing USB 3.0 functionality. I also remember a few users connecting their problematic device to a USB hub. But even that wasn't a perfect solution/workaround as the motherboard will sometimes fail to post. At the end of the day, it's just easier to connect the controller whenever you need it.

  10. #10
    ROG 師傅 Array Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Arne Saknussemm PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)Laptop?...No way! (Model?...Jun Amaki...yes way!)
    MotherboardROG ZENITH EXTREME
    ProcessorTHREADRIPPER 1920X
    Memory (part number)F4-3200C14Q-32GVK
    Graphics Card #1GTX Titan X
    Graphics Card #2SLI is dead to me
    Graphics Card #3Tri SLI is even dead to Nvidia
    Graphics Card #4Quad SLI is dead to everybody especially my credit card
    Sound CardXonar Essence STX
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Samsung 950 PRO
    Storage #22x OCZ VERTEX 3/2x WD Caviar Black 500GB / 2x WD RED 2TB
    CPU CoolerCustom Loop: Dual D5s, Dual Alphacool Monsta 480s, XSPC Raystorm Neo TR4, EK TitanX WaterBlock
    CaseNope!...Phobya Bench...let it all hang out man!
    Power SupplySeasonic SS-1200XP3
    Keyboard Logitech G810 or Fender Rhodes Electric Piano (MKI 73)
    Mouse G502 or Speedy Gonzalez...not Mickey...don't do Disney!
    Headset ...firmly on neck
    Mouse Pad Mouse don't got his own pad man...lives with me
    Headset/Speakers Edifier Spinnaker...or you mean the speakers in my head...man too many voices to name them all
    OS Win XP, 7, 8, 8.1 and Windows 10 Spyware Edition
    Network Router56k modem
    Accessory #1 Umm...nice tie?
    Accessory #2 Err...belt?
    Accessory #3 3 accessories?! I'm not a girl!!
    Arne Saknussemm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Reputation
    498
    Posts
    13,501

    The RVE10 is the current pinacle of PC technology...the epitome of PC masterace tech. Hardly surprising it doesn't like some peasanty console controller being plugged in...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •