Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    computer won't turn on, motherboard doesn't respond to 'start' button being pressed

    I came home Friday night to my computer off. I normally leave it on and let it hibernate or whatever. When I tried to turn it on the power button did nothing. Opened the case and my Maximus Hero VIII's LEDs are all on but the 'START' button (which is illuminated) does nothing. Other components in my system which have LEDs are lit (my Kraken X61 and my Grid+ V2) but the case fans don't work (and no case LEDs light up) and my GTX 980 lights don't illuminate (though I am not 100% sure if they would light up without the system being on anyhow)

    My PSU (Seasonic X750) fans don't spin up at all but this PSU has like a hybrid mode where supposedly the fan only spins up when it needs it. But I would assume it would spin somewhat at start up?

    So how do I troubleshoot this? Is this possibly a motherboard issue? I'd assume PSU but I'm confused because obviously some power is happening since the LEDs on stuff all light up.

    This build is just over a year old with all new components except the 980 which was a few years older (and I've since removed it anyhow while testing) and had been running trouble free since I built it (nov 2015) I hadn't made any changes to anything lately. I've never had a build fail randomly like this so I'm not sure what to do or which components to suspect. I have an old alienware system that has a PSU in it but it's not modular and is connected to so many random things in that case that it would be quite a pain to get it out to check.

  2. #2
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I just did the paper clip test and the PSU fan comes on. Now what?

  3. #3
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Used a multimeter on all the motherboard pins and the values came out fine.

    1. 3.35
    2. 3.35
    3. 0
    4. 5.04
    5. 0
    6. 5.04
    7. 0
    8. 5.04 (PWROK)
    9. 5.11
    10. 12.17
    11. 12.17
    12. 3.35

    13. 3.35
    14. -11.96
    15. 0
    16. -
    17. -
    18. -
    19. -
    20. -
    21. 5.04
    22. 5.04
    23. 5.04
    24. 0

  4. #4
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Anybody? I guess my next step is I need to get a speaker to hook up to the motherboard?

    Here are the specs to my system:

    i7-6700k
    Asus Maximus VIII Hero
    NZXT Kraken x61
    Kingston Savage DDR-2400 2x8GB (in the proper slots)
    EVGA GTX 980 Superclocked ACX 2.0
    Seasonic 750W 80+ PSU
    Samsung 950 Pro 512GB m.2 SSD (os)
    Samsung 840 Pro 256GB 2.5" SSD
    Western Digital 4TB HDD
    NZXT H440 case
    NZXT Grid+ V2 fan controller
    NZXT IU01 internal usb hub

  5. #5
    ROG Guru: Brown Belt Array NemesisChild PC Specs
    NemesisChild PC Specs
    MotherboardASUS Maximus X Hero (WI-FI AC)
    ProcessorIntel i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)G.Skill F4-3600C16D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    Graphics Card #2Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE
    MonitorASUS ROG Swift PG278Q
    Storage #1Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage #2WD Black 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache
    CPU CoolerNZXT Kraken X42
    CaseCooler Master HAF 932 Advanced
    Power SupplyEVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spark
    Mouse Logitech G703 Wireless
    Headset Logitech G Pro
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries
    OS Windows 10 Home x64 (UEFI)
    Network RouterLinksys WRT1900AC
    NemesisChild's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Reputation
    89
    Posts
    1,788

    Have you cleared the CMOS and tried with one stick of memory and in different slots?

    Disconnect everything except one stick of memory, PSU, CPU, and hook up the monitor to the onboard GPU.
    Intel i7 8700K@ 5.2GHz (Delidded)
    ASUS Maximus X Hero (Bios 1801)
    NZXT Kraken X42
    G.Skill TridentZ@ 4000MHz CL16 2x8GB
    SLI: 2x Nvidia GTX 1070 Ti FE@ 2025/2025MHz
    OS: Samsung 970 PRO 512GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: Samsung 960 EVO 500GB NVMe M.2
    Storage: 2x Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
    Storage: WD Black 7200 RPM 64MB Cache 2TB
    EVGA SuperNova 1200 P2
    Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced

  6. #6
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    I have tried that but I'm not sure I pressed the clear CMOS button long enough so I'll try it again tonight. I read you have to hold it 3 seconds? I'm also going to double check the 8 pin CPU PSU cable is good too since due to the positioning of my cooler (in the top) it was a little jammed in there. But like I said I haven't moved the computer or done anything with it lately, it just randomly stopped working.

    I also realized I checked the PSU values without any load. What is the best way to test it with a load? Just attach a single fan or something to it?

    Also does the 'START' button do the exact same thing as shorting the front end case power jumpers?
    Last edited by sbeacher; 02-14-2017 at 02:17 AM.

  7. #7
    ROG Enthusiast Array XZEMi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    68

    I would say use a power supply you know works first perhaps borrow one? Remove the cmos battery for an hour with everything disconnected. Remove any and all usb or pcie devices. Use the A2 dimm slot as indicated in the manual. See if it gets you anywhere. It sounds like the power supply has failed (hard to believe considering its a seasonic x750) but it could have been a power or heat related failure due to power surge or lightning rendering the board and power supply a total loss. Is the system on a UPS or connected strait to the wall?

  8. #8
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    29

    I believed the issue here is with the seasonic X750. ( I used to have this issue with my seasonic X1250 previously and had mine rma 3 x ). Symptom : the motherboard standby lighting remain on but when you press the power button on the casing or the motherboard will not kick start the CPU.
    Workaround: (use either methods )
    1. U can try pressing the ON button either from the casing or motherboard simultaneously "together" with the PSU ON/OFF button (at the back of the PSU) and somehow it will kick start the motherboard/CPU after a while (like pressing ON/OFF ON/OFF ON/OFF at the PSU together with the on button at the casing)

    or

    2. You power down the PSU or remove the power cord to your supply and try to plug it after 5min or so for the capacitor to drain off. Usually it will kick start the motherboard but the same problem will comes back the 2nd time you off your CPU and leave it on standby mode.

    Let me know if the above works for you. if it does, then time to RMA your PSU. or change to another model or brand altogether.

  9. #9
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    19

    Alright, I have definitely cleared the CMOS and taken the memory out and tried one stick in each DIMM and nothing. Took the CMOS battery out for a while. When I hold the CMOS button down the LEDs turn off until I release it and then they light up again. I unplugged everything from the motherboard, all pcie and all usb2 and usb3 headers (my kraken no longer lights up as a result) The only thing I left plugged in was the CPU power and the 24 pin power and the fan header for the kraken on W_PUMP. And I did leave the m.2 SSD in the slot on the motherboard. My PSU fan does not spin when just plugged in to the motherboard. However, as I mentioned before if I short it with a paper clip it works and all the voltages are correct on my multimeter.


    I live in Los Angeles. Lightning doesn't exist here. The computer is plugged into a Belkin surge protector (one of the more expensive ones)

    Why do you guys think it's the PSU if the PSU passes all the other tests? I'm starting to suspect it's the motherboard.

    I have a speaker on the way from amazon to plug into the motherboard to see if it beeps at all.
    Last edited by sbeacher; 02-14-2017 at 11:22 AM.

  10. #10
    Banned Array JustinThyme PC Specs
    JustinThyme PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)G752VY-DH72
    MotherboardRampage VI Extreme
    ProcessorI9 9940X
    Memory (part number)64GB DDR4 8x8 Corsair Dominator Platinum 3800 MHz @ C17
    Graphics Card #1ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1GHz
    Graphics Card #2ASUS Strix 2080Ti O11G @ 2.1Ghz
    Graphics Card #3ROG Nvlink
    Graphics Card #4Have to feed animals
    Sound CardExternal Audioengine D1 24 bit 192kbps DAC
    MonitorASUS PG348Q @ 100Hz
    Storage #1Intel 905P 480GB U2 flavor
    Storage #2Samsung 850 EVO 1TB X2 in RAID 0, 960 PRO 1TB DIMM.2_1
    CPU CoolerHeatKiller IV PRO and VRM blocks ,Dual D5 PWM serial, 2X 480, 1X 360 RADS
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Elite 8X LL120 PWM, 3X LL140 PWM, 12 SP120 PWM 1x AF140 PWM
    Power SupplyCorsair AX 1500i
    Keyboard ASUS Claymore
    Mouse ASUS Spatha, Logitech MX Master
    Headset Sennheiser HD 700
    Mouse Pad ASUS ROG Sheath
    Headset/Speakers Audioengine A5+ with SVS SB-1000 Sub
    OS Win10 Pro 1809
    Network RouterNetGear NightHawk X10
    Accessory #1 NetGear Prosafe 10GBe Switch
    Accessory #2 Qnap TVS-682 NAS modded with I7 CPU

    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Reputation
    144
    Posts
    3,858

    Your best bet is to wait for the speaker to get the beep codes. Most of the time if you succeed with installing a jumper across the PSU power up pins and get volts out it's NOT the PSU. Nothing gets "Kick Started".*

    There are actually a lot of causes that could stop your machine from posting, just have to narrow it down and sounds like you have a good start. *Could be ram, CPU or MOBO at this point. The beep codes are an invaluable tool. The newer boards with Qcodes are even better. You may not have lightning much in SoCal but having worked there in the Critical power industry there are plenty of grid issues! The grid wasn't planned out very well in its infancy and now there are just too many darn people there. I learned my lesson to stay off the freeway after getting stuck on the 405 and 5 more than once for hours on end and this was just congestion, no accidents. Only place I've been pulled over for going 75 in a 55 because I was going too slow and ticketed for "impeding the flow of traffic". Where I come from you go 20 over you are going to jail for wreck less driving. Not there! I was in the far right lane going 75 with cars blowing my doors off! Far left lane was approaching 100 mph. After all that I just stayed on local roads. No trouble and you actually get from A to B faster during peak traffic!

    Good luck �� *

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •