Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,806

    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    For voltage (and no skill users) is important only vcore/cache voltage. Ussually you can set 1.3 to 1.35V and it will be enough for 4.8 to 5 GHz (depends on luck). Kaby is hot, more hot than Skylake in temps. But better cooler dont help much. Its issue inside the chip and between die and IHS. So you cna get similar temps with middle AIR cooler as example Silentium Fera and only few C lower temps with Corsair H80i. Up to 85 C in load will be fine. For stress test maybe up to 90 C.
    Not the context I was alluding to. You've posted a screen grab with VDIMM at 1.75v, and put a caption saying "only for high memory speeds".

    You might want to make that a little more transparent, as that statement is incorrect.

  2. #12
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array qwertz PC Specs
    qwertz PC Specs
    MotherboardRampage V
    Processor5930k @ 4.6
    Storage #1500gb evo 850 raid0

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    14
    Posts
    115

    Good review with images of dif aspects.
    Will try new version of win10 and see if asus software is more optimized/stable on newer os.

    I have run one laptop cpu on 90-100c for few years almost daily and it has not failed yet, due to incresed cpu heat all board with rest of the components is heated more.
    Also sometimes runnign nvidia gpu on 92-94c with custom fan graph with lowered fan rpm to overclock but keep it quiet.

    If intel use decent thermal compond and the metal cover conduct heat well it may not even help much if risk and try remove the heat spreader.
    Will the forum bugs get fixed?

  3. #13
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    597



    Second piece of my 7700Ks. A bit better than in review. Cinebench R15 at 5/4.5 GHz with lowest possible voltage 1.24V
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  4. #14
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    597

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    Not the context I was alluding to. You've posted a screen grab with VDIMM at 1.75v, and put a caption saying "only for high memory speeds".

    You might want to make that a little more transparent, as that statement is incorrect.
    Of course. If I talking about high memory clocks and 1.75V, thats mean you must to have memory with Samusng chips. These chips likes high voltage. In daily mode working OK at 1.35V and eg 3600 MHz cl 17. But if you are overlocker, you want tighter timings. And for much tighter timings you need more juice to the DRAM (Samsungs can work up to 1.95V at aircooling!), more to the SA and IO part. Example 1.2 to 1.3V for both parts.
    Ussualy automatic mode working good (gave me at auto 1.3V for SA).

    For normal people will be most easiest way load XMP profile of DRAM and save it
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  5. #15
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,806

    Quote Originally Posted by FlanK3r View Post
    Of course. If I talking about high memory clocks and 1.75V, thats mean you must to have memory with Samusng chips. These chips likes high voltage. In daily mode working OK at 1.35V and eg 3600 MHz cl 17. But if you are overlocker, you want tighter timings. And for much tighter timings you need more juice to the DRAM (Samsungs can work up to 1.95V at aircooling!), more to the SA and IO part. Example 1.2 to 1.3V for both parts.
    Ussualy automatic mode working good (gave me at auto 1.3V for SA).

    For normal people will be most easiest way load XMP profile of DRAM and save it
    That logic implies that speeds and reasonable timings above 3600Mhz are not possible without excessive voltages. It is possible to run reasonable timings at 4000 to 4133 with the right modules on the Apex <without excessive voltage>, is it not? Which makes this flimsy advice.

    "Normal people" as you so delicately put it, can also tune in these speeds without applying high amounts of VDIMM. There are even profiles made readily available from ROG contributors that testify the fact. This is why context on different sorts of application is always welcome.

  6. #16
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    597

    yes, thats correct.
    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: Green Belt Array FlanK3r PC Specs
    FlanK3r PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Hero+Asus 970 Pro Gaming/AURA (and many others)
    ProcessorCore i7-6700K + FX-8370 (and many others)
    Graphics Card #1Strix R9 390X DCIII OC
    Graphics Card #2AMD RX 480
    Graphics Card #3Saphire R9 270X Toxic
    Graphics Card #4ROG GTX980TI Poseidon
    Storage #1Samsung 850 PRO 512 GB
    Storage #2HyperX 3K 240GB
    CPU CoolerRaijintek Triton + Silentium Fera
    CaseNZXT Noctis and Bitfenix Pandora LED
    Power SupplyCM V850 + Corsair TX750
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder
    Mouse Razer Deathadder + A4tech 750BK
    Headset HyperX Cloud
    Mouse Pad Roccat Tatto
    OS Windows 10 + Windows 7
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC55U
    FlanK3r's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Reputation
    110
    Posts
    597

    Still some mistakes in third timing,but some imporvements at non optimized operating system (full of scrap)

    Who knows me, knows me ....AMD 3000+, AMD x2 4600+ EE, AMD X4 955 BE C2,2x AMD X4 965 BE C3, AMD X4 970 BE C3, AMD x4 975 BE, AMD x4 980 BE, AMD X6 1090T BE, AMD x6 1100T BE, 2x AMD FX-8120, 2x AMD FX-8150, FX-6300, FX-8300, FX-8320E, FX-8320, FX-8350, FX-8370, FX-8370E, FX-9370, FX-9590, AMD A8-3850, AMD A8-3870K, A8-5600K, A10-5800K, A10-6800K, A10-7850K, A10-7870K, A 5150, Athlon x4 860K, Intel i7-5960X, i7-6700K, Intel i7-4770K, Intel i7-980x, Intel i7 2600k, Intel i7-3770K, i7-3930K.

  8. #18
    ROG Member Array madmeatballs PC Specs
    madmeatballs PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7 7700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
    Sound CardFiio E10k
    MonitorAsus PB278Q
    Storage #1Intel 600p
    Storage #2Crucial BX200
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooling Loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro M
    Power SupplySeasonic X-850
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro Plus
    Mouse Pad Tecware Haste
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
    Network RouterTP-Link Archer D7

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Where did you get the safe voltages table? I'm curious, I have my VCCIO voltage at 1.392v to make it work with my 3866 kit and 5ghz oc.

  9. #19
    Administrator Array Silent Scone@ASUS's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    124
    Posts
    1,806

    Quote Originally Posted by madmeatballs View Post
    Where did you get the safe voltages table? I'm curious, I have my VCCIO voltage at 1.392v to make it work with my 3866 kit and 5ghz oc.
    The voltages listed in the table are aimed at benchmarking only.

  10. #20
    ROG Member Array madmeatballs PC Specs
    madmeatballs PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus IX Hero
    Processori7 7700k
    Memory (part number)F4-3866C18D-16GTZR
    Graphics Card #1Zotac GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
    Sound CardFiio E10k
    MonitorAsus PB278Q
    Storage #1Intel 600p
    Storage #2Crucial BX200
    CPU CoolerCustom Water Cooling Loop
    CasePhanteks Enthoo Pro M
    Power SupplySeasonic X-850
    Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB
    Mouse Logitech G900
    Headset Beyerdynamic Custom One Pro Plus
    Mouse Pad Tecware Haste
    OS Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit
    Network RouterTP-Link Archer D7

    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    17

    Quote Originally Posted by Silent Scone View Post
    The voltages listed in the table are aimed at benchmarking only.
    What could go wrong if I run VCCIO at 1.392v long term?

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •