cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updating my MOBO’s BIOS – Please Check me

SergeTroy
Level 7
I’m looking for Feedback on my currently devised checklist for updating my Asus Maximus V Extreme Motherboard’s BIOS from 1309x64 to version 1903. Please note that I am running into some errors and there has been some troubleshooting done, so I’m not approaching this as a “It’s not broke so let’s fix it!” kind of thing. After I update the BIOS (successfully) I’m going to run a Clean Re-Install of Windows 10, which I screwed up previously by first choosing express settings, and then installing a number of things in the wrong order.

My Steps may be overly detailed or exacting – for which I apologize – but as a novice I *really* don’t want to mess up with too many assumptions. There are plenty of days where even if I was standing at a crosswalk with perfect visibility for miles all around and not a car in sight, I still wouldn’t cross until the light said, “Okay, you can walk now.”

It sounds like one step I’ll need to take is to Clear the CMOS (apparently via the button on the back of the case (on the motherboard))? I am guessing I would only want to do that after a few steps and I will include it’s position where I think it should fall.

Step 1: Format my Corsair Voyager GS 64GB USB Flash Drive (keeping as MBR). Set up a single new volume on the drive of no more than 1GB in size, and formatted as FAT32 (if FAT16 was an option I might choose that, but it seems to be a choice between FAT, FAT32, and at larger volumes NTFS and ExFAT). The name will be “Voyager GS,” and it will be listed as ‘H:’ for drive letter and path, though I don’t think the name or drive letter/path matter for these purposes.