Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 71
  1. #11
    ROG Enthusiast Array Tygerion PC Specs
    Tygerion PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X
    ProcessorCore i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3733C17
    Graphics Card #1Palit GTX 1080 JetStream
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX 750
    Sound CardnVidia HDAudio
    MonitorSony 65W855
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken X61
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 4HD
    OS Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Network RouterZyxel VMG3925-B10B
    Accessory #1 Logitech G13
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster T1000
    Tygerion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Hero VIII + 6700K

    Preliminary testing results: no problems here, seems to be working ok.

  2. #12
    New ROGer Array PCodrin PC Specs
    PCodrin PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus Hero VIII
    ProcessorIntel® Core™ i7-6700K Processor
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LPX Red 16GB DDR4 3200MHz CL16 Dual Channel (CMK16GX4M2B3200C16R)
    Graphics Card #1ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 STRIX GAMING O8G 8GB DDR5X 256-bit
    MonitorLED ASUS Gaming MG278Q 27 inch 2K 1ms black FreeSync 144Hz
    Storage #1SAMSUNG 950 PRO M.2 256GB
    Storage #2Seagate Desktop HDD 3TB 7200RPM 64MB SATA-III
    CPU CoolerCorsair Hydro Series H115i Extreme Performance
    CasePhanteks P400S Window Black
    Power SupplyAntec EDGE 650W
    Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder x4
    Mouse Razer Deathadder Elite
    Headset HyperX Cloud II Headset
    Mouse Pad MM300 Anti-Fray Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad — Extended
    Headset/Speakers HyperX Cloud II Headset
    OS Windows 10 Pro x64

    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    5

    "Fix enable wake on by PCIE and shutdown into S5, press keyboard any key will be waked up" This is the single fix that comes with this BIOS Rev.?
    Last edited by PCodrin; 02-18-2017 at 07:02 PM.

  3. #13
    ROG Enthusiast Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    40

    Quote Originally Posted by PCodrin View Post
    "Fix enable wake on by PCIE and shutdown into S5, press keyboard any key will be waked up" This is the single fix that comes with this BIOS Rev.?
    hopefully not.
    I was in contact with support weeks ago back and forth about how I cannot disable IGPU in bios and windows was reporting only 30gb usable system ram of 32gb.
    The person ended up escalating all the info I gave them to the engineering dept.
    I got a response a few weeks ago saying they heard back and was told the 3101 was still in beta and that this issue would be reconciled in a future bios update "pending".
    I replied with basically I already gathered this was a bios issue with the missing feature to select PCI-E as primary and missing ability to disable the IGPU which it does automatically however in windows if you run HW-info it shows IGPU at 1.3v while in windows.
    Plus it was reserving 2gb of system ram for hardware.
    At least on Kaby Kaby lake CPUS anyway.
    So I'm hoping this sorted this little annoyance at least.
    Hoping they just didn't acknowledge it in the update notes.
    Would of been nice to see improved system stability in there also.
    I will end up flashing this tonight when I can be bothered.
    See how it goes.*

  4. #14
    ROG Member Array
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    24

    Bios 3201

    I did a BIOS update yesterday. But after the succesful update I could not get into the BIOS. My keyboard (logitech G510) did not respond to del, F2 or F1 commands. The only option I had left was a rollback to bios 2202. I see on this forum that i am not the only one with this problem. I did the BIOS flash via the USB port on the back. This looks like an issue Asus has to solve.

  5. #15
    ROG Enthusiast Array MaXeLL PC Specs
    MaXeLL PC Specs
    Laptop (Model)ASUS VivoBook S512FJ-EJ021T
    MotherboardAsus Maximus XI Hero COD Black Ops 4
    ProcessorIntel Core i9-9900K Coffee Lake+
    Memory (part number)Corsair Vengeance LED DDR4 32GB 3466 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Asus nVidia GeForce RTX2080 Strix O8C
    MonitorAsus Gaming Monitor PG258Q
    Storage #1Samsung SSD 960 PRO 512GB
    CPU CoolerCorsair H80i GT Watercooler
    CaseAntec Eleven Hundred v1
    Power SupplyCorsair V1000 80 Plus Gold
    Keyboard Logitech G910 Orion Spectrum Gaming Keyboard
    Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
    Headset Logitech G635 LIGHTSYNC 7.1
    Mouse Pad SteelSeries QcK Limited
    Headset/Speakers Bose Companion II
    OS Windows 10 1903 Professional 64 bit
    Network RouterAsus RT-AC68U

    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    43

    Quote Originally Posted by davidpiot1974 View Post
    I did a BIOS update yesterday. But after the succesful update I could not get into the BIOS. My keyboard (logitech G510) did not respond to del, F2 or F1 commands. The only option I had left was a rollback to bios 2202. I see on this forum that i am not the only one with this problem. I did the BIOS flash via the USB port on the back. This looks like an issue Asus has to solve.
    Same issue here with the same keyboard, motherboard M8E.

    I found a workaround for entering the BIOS, the first time you flash, computer reboots and will ask to press F1, I shutted down and restarted then it will boot on Windows, on the login screen reboot the system keeping pressed the shift key, this screen will appear:



    Choose Troubleshoot, Advanced Options and then UEFI Firmware Settings:



    The system will start directly on the UEFI bios settings, the keyboard won't still work, but you can use the mouse to choose some options, unfortunately you can't set anything that require a value

  6. #16
    ROG Enthusiast Array Tygerion PC Specs
    Tygerion PC Specs
    MotherboardMaximus Hero X
    ProcessorCore i7 8700K
    Memory (part number)CMK32GX4M4B3733C17
    Graphics Card #1Palit GTX 1080 JetStream
    Graphics Card #2Asus GTX 750
    Sound CardnVidia HDAudio
    MonitorSony 65W855
    Storage #1Samsung 960 Evo
    Storage #2Samsung 840 Pro
    CPU CoolerKraken X61
    CaseCorsair Air 540
    Power SupplyCorsair AX860i
    Keyboard Logitech K800
    Mouse Zowie FK2
    Mouse Pad Steelseries 4HD
    OS Windows 10 Pro (x64)
    Network RouterZyxel VMG3925-B10B
    Accessory #1 Logitech G13
    Accessory #2 Thrustmaster T1000
    Tygerion's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    49

    Thumbs up Hero VIII + 6700K

    Quote Originally Posted by Tygerion View Post
    Preliminary testing results: no problems here, seems to be working ok.
    Well, this bios is not good after all. 3201 memory handling has changed somehow form 3101 causing instability and other problems, so i'm downgrading back to 3101, which works very well for me. Last time I experienced similar problems was with 1701.

  7. #17
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Ambidexter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    Hi,

    It's on the normal place https://www.asus.com/us/Motherboards/MAXIMUS-VIII-HERO/HelpDesk_Download/ but if it only has that fix, I don't need it either. OTOH, if it includes "stability" fixes from 3101 beta, then I may give it a go.

    -Ambi
    MB: Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:Intel i7-6700K OC @ 4.7 GHz
    Mem: 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX @ 3600 MHz
    Vid: EVGA GTX980 Ti SC@ 1530MHz
    SSD:RAID1&0 Samsung 256G 840 Pro

    HDD: RAID1 6TB Ultrastar 7K6000
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i
    Case:Corsair 600T, mod for roof rad

    Custom Loop:
    Block:EK Supremacy Clean CSQ, Copper
    Rads:AlphaCool ST30 360 & 120
    Fans: 4 X Enermax CLUSTER Advance, Bitfenix Spectre Pro 200mm, KingWin DB122
    Pumps:2 X MCP 35x in series
    Tubing:Tygon 2475 1/2" ID X 3/4" OD

  8. #18
    ROG Guru: White Belt Array Ambidexter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    79

    What memory issues are you having? I'm using 2202 BIOS, and I can get 3600 MHz from my 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. That's better than my old 3000 MHz memory that was a bit less stable. When you say you're using 3201, you mean the Beta version? There wasn't a released 3201, right?

    BTW, ASUS, I'd sure like it if you made a few more notes about the contents of a BIOS (or other) releases. I know you don't want to telegraph stuff to your competition, but come on..."stability improvements"? That's it? Other vendors give many paragraphs or pages of details!

    Cheers,

    -Ambi


    Quote Originally Posted by Tygerion View Post
    Well, this bios is not good after all. 3201 memory handling has changed somehow form 3101 causing instability and other problems, so i'm downgrading back to 3101, which works very well for me. Last time I experienced similar problems was with 1701.
    MB: Maximus VIII Hero
    CPU:Intel i7-6700K OC @ 4.7 GHz
    Mem: 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX @ 3600 MHz
    Vid: EVGA GTX980 Ti SC@ 1530MHz
    SSD:RAID1&0 Samsung 256G 840 Pro

    HDD: RAID1 6TB Ultrastar 7K6000
    PSU: Corsair AX1200i
    Case:Corsair 600T, mod for roof rad

    Custom Loop:
    Block:EK Supremacy Clean CSQ, Copper
    Rads:AlphaCool ST30 360 & 120
    Fans: 4 X Enermax CLUSTER Advance, Bitfenix Spectre Pro 200mm, KingWin DB122
    Pumps:2 X MCP 35x in series
    Tubing:Tygon 2475 1/2" ID X 3/4" OD

  9. #19
    ROG Enthusiast Array Shenny PC Specs
    Shenny PC Specs
    MotherboardAsus Maximus VIII Ranger
    Processori5-6600K @ 4.4 GHZ (Skylake)
    Memory (part number)2 x 8 GB Kingston DDR4 2666 MHz
    Graphics Card #1Gigabyte GTX 1080 G1 Gaming
    MonitorAsus ROG Swift PG279Q
    Storage #1Intel SSD 330 240 GB
    Storage #2Seagate External HDD 4 TB
    Power SupplyCorsair RM 850x
    Keyboard Logitech G15
    Mouse Logitech G9
    OS Windows 10 x64

    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Reputation
    10
    Posts
    32

    For those having issues entering BIOS - have you tried the ASUS DirectBIOS application? It is supposed to let you enter BIOS directly after Windows restart.

  10. #20
    ROG Guru: Yellow Belt Array
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Reputation
    8
    Posts
    208

    Quote Originally Posted by Three of Twelve View Post
    If I activate Wake on by PCIE then the Option "enable S5" is automaticly set to deaktivate. And this with the current Version 3201 on a M8E.
    If you enable Wake on by PCIE it will automatically go in to S5. That's why S5 becomes unavailable. If you shut down your computer you will notice that no LED on the motherbard is on. Thats' S5. Now any key on keyboard will turn your computer on. It doesn't work with earlier BIOS buid. You had to use Keybot.

Page 2 of 8 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 ... LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •